Bloomin Tuesday

Bluestar Amsonia

Todays blooms have a common theme, their star shaped.  Bluestar Amsonia was added last year and this is the first time it has produced these pale blue flowers.  

Allium cristophii

How about these amethyst alliums?  Sometimes known as Star of Persia.  Each flower head can hold up to 80 purple star shaped flowers.  Another new addition in the fall of 2009. 

Sedum 'Lemon Coral'

These chartreuse yellow sedums glow without blooms, but when they flower their almost blinding.  It even looked great all winter even though the weather dulled a bit.  They look good in containers as a spiller plant too. 

mystery bulb

Okay and for my last new bloom this week I have a mystery bloom.  I know I should remember the name, but it has slipped my mind.  Any ideas?  That way I can write it down this time.  🙂  To see more blooms or to join in this week please visit our gracious host Jean @ Ms Greenthumb.   

23 responses to this post.

  1. My “star” bloomer for this Tuesday is Star Jasmine. It has just started. I love those fragrant blooms. Almost looks like your mystery plant.

    Ooh love Star Jasmine. I have an unknown one that I got seed for planted along my new trellis bench. It just sprouted! 🙂 Actually these come up from tiny bulbs.

    Reply

  2. I was commenting on your previous post when this one popped up. Your mystery plant looks like something I had at the last house that carpeted the whole back yard in May, then disappeared. I think the common name is Star of Bethlehem.

    HaHa got you! 😉 Thanks for the id Les, I’ll jot that down.

    Reply

  3. I like all the stars twinkling in your garden, Racquel:) Your mystery plant looks so familiar, but I’m not sure…your previous commenter may be right. I’m excited to see your Amsonia in bloom; I just planted a start I got from the Idea Garden. I didn’t expect to see it bloom this year, but knowing now it will be in bloom for sure next year makes me happpy.

    Great way to put it Rose! 🙂 I was pleased that I got some blooms this season from the Amsonia, plus it doubled in size as well. Good luck with yours!

    Reply

  4. Looking good…how ’bout I send you another Walking Iris?

    Thanks Darla, you don’t have to do that. But I would greatly appreciate it! 🙂

    Reply

  5. I really like that Star of Persia. I like how different it looks. Sorry I don’t know the i.d. of your mystery plant. Looks nice tho.

    Thanks Susie, me too. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Good morning Racquel. Love the Sedum ‘Lemon Coral’. I will certainly watch for that in my local garden centers.

    The Allium cristophii almost doesn’t look real. What amazing tiny flowers.
    Marnie

    I found that last fall at Lowes. It looks great in the ground or a container. Thanks Marnie. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Oh, that Lemon Coral Sedum is gorgeous! All your stars are first rate. 🙂

    Thanks Nancy, I think the LCS is getting alot of feedback today. 🙂

    Reply

  8. I love the bluestar. Your gardens are coming along nicely.

    Thanks Becca. It’s a pretty plant. 🙂

    Reply

  9. What beautiful star shaped blooms! I’ve never seen amsonia.

    This was something for me too Randy. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Loved all these star shapes. Such a fun post!

    Thanks Suzanne, it was fun having a theme this week! 🙂

    Reply

  11. Looks lovely, love the star power! Your allium is very striking.

    Think it is time to run down to the rose garden near the bridge?

    Thanks Janet, isn’t that a striking allium? I’m loving it! 🙂 Yep that sounds like a fun road trip, you’re speaking of the Huntington Park Rose Garden right?

    Reply

  12. What unique flowers you have blooming this week! I love them! Thanks for sharing, Paula from Idaho

    Thanks Paula, you are quite welcome. Glad you enjoyed my blooms today. 🙂

    Reply

  13. I love your star themed flowers! I think the Lemon Coral is my favorite, but they are all so pretty!

    Thanks Alea, the Lemon Coral seems to be popular today. 🙂

    Reply

  14. I just love those amsonias! Stars in any garden. Speaking of which, I think Les is right, Star of Bethlehem is right. I have tons here. It spreads very easily but is ok, or at least I’m trying to figure out if it is. It will go dormant soon after bloom and disappear.

    Thanks Tina, me too! 🙂 Thanks for seconding Les, I knew the name last year and forgot. Yep they do spread but not too aggressively. Their so sweet I think.

    Reply

  15. You have a lot of stars in your gardens!

    I photographed my allium christophii too soon! They are now much, much larger than softballs (more like cantaloupe size) and even more stunning! They really take awhile to reach full bloom.

    Thanks Cameron. Same here, mine just keep getting bigger & better with each day. I love them! 🙂

    Reply

  16. I almost had a theme, too, all azaleas – except I added in the blueberry bush. I like your theme of star-shaped flowers. Good idea. The flowers are pretty too!

    I saw that Linda, well you had a shrub theme at least right? 🙂 Thanks, I’m glad you enjoyed my stars in the garden today.

    Reply

  17. Lovin’ all your stars! Just beautiful. My favorite is the allium. Love it! Happy Bloomin’ Tuesday! Jean

    Thanks Jean, I’m partial to that Allium too. It’s my new favorite of my small collection. 🙂

    Reply

  18. Racquel, such beautiful stars. I may have to see if Rose will give me a start of the Bluestar. I really like the pale color. I also love the sedum Lemon Coral! I can see it in a container with purple flowers.

    Thanks Beckie. I’m loving that Bluestar, it needs a bit of afternoon shade FYI. Actually I had the sedum as a spiller plant with purple Asters & yellow Solidago last fall. 🙂

    Reply

  19. The Star of Bethlehem is really pretty…. as long as it doesn’t take over the lawn! I spent many hours trying to dig the bulblets out of the grass so that the lawn wouldn’t be wrecked. Now that the lawn is no more, however, I look forward to seeing the white stars.
    /krys

    Thanks for that bit of info Krys. I don’t have mine in the lawn, and so far it hasn’t been a nuisance in the garden. 🙂

    Reply

  20. I enjoyed your star shaped blooms. Amosonias are some of my favorites. Mine are going to be blooming in the next few days. I didn’t read your other comments. I hope you found out what your mystery flower is. It is a sweetie!

    Thanks Sue. Can’t wait to see your Amsonia blooms soon. 🙂

    Reply

  21. Love the star theme of this post Racquel! Great idea and beautiful blooms. I am hoping my Allium cristophii rebloom ~ I left the seedheads on all my alliums last year tho (hoping they’d spread around the garden) and this spring I don’t see many. I’m thinking the bulbs sent all their energy to the seedheads and didn’t get fed?? I’m going to be so bummed if none bloom.
    ps Glad you got your mystery bloom identified.

    Thanks Kathleen. I’m glad you like my Star blooms for Bloomin Tuesday. 🙂 I did the same thing with my Allium multibulbosum and they still bloomed this year but no babies. 😦

    Reply

  22. Posted by Bonnie on May 5, 2010 at 12:22 pm

    What a wonderful post!

    Thanks Bonnie. 🙂

    Reply

  23. Posted by greenwalks on May 5, 2010 at 1:58 pm

    They are all stars for sure! I had the same little white bulb pop up in my garden last year, I posted a question about it and was told Star of Bethlehem. As other commenters say, it does spread a bit but doesn’t seem to be a problem. It’s so small, and does fade away quickly after it blooms. I love it!

    Thanks Karen! I’ve had this for the past couple of years and for some reason completely forgot the name. lol So far it hasn’t become a problem for me either. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

