Peonies and Lace

Peony 'Karl Rosenfeld'

Peony 'Karl Rosenfeld'

 Ooh it’s almost time for Peony season.  Hope these beauties get a chance to shine before the spring rains demolish their bountiful blooms.  This particular variety is not fragrant but I have a couple of ‘Sandra Bernhardts’ that have a very pleasant scent.  Their in full bud as well.  It shouldn’t be too much longer now.  🙂

Queen Anne's Lace

Hey remember those seeds that Les @ A Tidewater Gardener shared with me and Janet (The Queen of Seaford) when we went to visit him last summer at  Smithfield Gardens?  Well I guess my last minute scattering this past fall was successful.  In fact maybe a bit too successful, I have them popping up everywhere, lol.  That’s okay, I’m removing the ones I don’t want and keeping a few of the larger specimens. For example this one is about 3-3 1/2 foot tall.  🙂

P.S.   I stopped by the Learning Garden plant sale this morning and chatted with Janet for a few minutes. I picked up a few goodies while I was there and thankfully my youngest son was along to help carry them.  🙂  I’ll post a picture of my new stuff soon.

10 responses to this post.

  1. Lovely … am just about to start growing them in my garden.

    The Peonies or the Queen Anne’s Lace? Thanks for stopping by today Charlotte. 🙂

    Reply

  2. “Sarah Bernhardt” is one of my favorite peonies. It looks like you are just a couple of weeks away from a beautiful show. Can’t wait to see the pictures.

    Mine too Heather, she has a lovely scent that just lingers in the garden. I promise to share pics when they start opening. 🙂

    Reply

  3. You’re going to have a stellar peony season! Isn’t seed scattering fun (and surprising)? I tried the green ammi majus last year with minimal success. I should have tried the white!

    Yep I’m thrilled with how many buds I have on 3 of my four plants. The fourth one was just planted last fall and is too young to probably bloom this year. Oh that is the False Queen Anne’s Lace or Bishop’s Weed you’re speaking of. Hmm..sounds interesting. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Great seeing you today. So —-have all your stuff planted? I have been a slug the rest of the day. Lots of fun seeing so many folks at the plant sale but tiring.

    It was good seeing you too. I would of chatted longer but you were busy. Yep got most of it planted. I’m still trying to finish up mulching. 😉 I bet you were worn out, it was a hot day.

    Reply

  5. I was never wild about peonies until a few years ago. A local garden has a ton of peonies in bloom (normally in early June, it will be earlier this year!).

    Really, this Peony shown was one of the first things I planted when I started my garden 12 or so years ago. 🙂

    Reply

  6. My Mother’s peonies have been beautiful.. I have a bouquet she gave me last weekend, and they are still pretty!

    Wow that is a long time for them to last! Do you do something special to the stems when you cut them? 🙂

    Reply

  7. Racquel girl !
    You have reminded me I should get one of those circular supports for my peony .. it is a single red flowered one with a few heads this year .. and if the rain comes (we don’t have any fore casted for a while) well , you know what it is like .. they need some support .. like us ? LOL
    I can’t wait to see what other plants you bought girl .. it is like unwrapping a Christmas present .. seeing what other gardeners get for their gardens ! LOL
    Joy

    Glad I reminded you to put a support on your Peony. I don’t know about the single flowered type but the doubles get quite heavy when they open. Yep we all need alittle support, lol. Promise to post a pic soon of my new additions. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Do you think I could grow peonies here?

    Maybe, their hardy in zones 2-8 so I would give them a try. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Peonies and lace sounds like the title of a romantic novel:)

    Our peonies are way ahead of schedule this year. I’ve never seen them budding so early. I just got Sarah Bernhardt last year and this will be the first season it blooms in my garden. Looking forward to those full, pink blooms.
    Marnie

    LOL it does seem alittle like a romance novel title. 🙂 Mine are starting to open as we speak now. Yep you will love her fragrant & pretty pink blooms.

    Reply

  10. Thank you for the linkage! Don’t say I didn’t warn you, but at least they pull up easily enough.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

