Looks like they survived…

Allium ampeloprasum (Yorktown Onion) and Eremurus 'Spring Valley Hybrid' (Foxtail Lilly)

I wasn’t sure whether either one of these summer blooming bulbs were going to be successful this year or not.  The Yorktown Alliums were purchased at the The Learning Garden Plant Sale last May and the foliage died back shortly after with no blooms that summer.  Then this past fall new green foliage started emerging to my surprise.  Now I found some buds forming this past week so it looks like I’ll be getting blooms soon.  I’ve also planted Foxtail Lillies in the past with no success.  However,  after seeing all the gorgeous blooms during a roadtrip me and Janet took to Brent & Becky’s Bulbs last summer I had to try again.  Look I have foliage, all five of the bareroot plants have successfully emerged.  Hooray!

13 responses to this post.

  1. I planted foxtail lilys as well, their roots are so strange. MIne are just starting to come up, I just love them.

    They have roots similar to dahlias, you have to create a small mound under them. I can’t wait for blooms for both of us Deborah. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Racquel girl they look strong and healthy and wonderful !
    I have allium of small , medium and GIANT size to come yet .. and boy am I excited ? YES !!!!
    Good luck with these I am sure they will look wonderful girl : )

    Thanks Joy, I love Alliums their one of my favorite bulbs of the season. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Hi Racquel – looks like you made it. Well your plants did. My alliums seem to be growing right before my eyes right now – love them. I think it will be another week or so before they actually bloom. Can’t wait.

    Thanks Heather, it’s always exciting when things we plant are successful. 🙂 Can’t wait to see your blooms soon.

    Reply

  4. Racquel, every year I say I am going to plant alliums, but so far haven’t. Yours look like they are going to be gorgeous and have once again made me wish I had some. Can’t wait to see them in full bloom.

    They are such an easy late spring – summer blooming bulb. I hope this fall you plant some. Their worth the effort of digging. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Isn’t it great when plants we’re not sure about make it and grow? I’m still waiting for my different milkweeds to come up, but just in case they don’t, I planted more. Oh, and I am tickled that the wild milkweed that must have been planted by birds last year, has one stalk just emerging.

    Yep especially since I had a couple of losses this year as well. My one Milkweed is looking a bit thin this season. Fortunately it makes lots of seedlings so I’ll have some survivors. Congrats on your wild Milkweed. 🙂

    Reply

  6. I’ll be curious to watch the progress on your foxtail lilies. I’ve considered them several times, but wasn’t sure if they’d flourish in my zone.

    I’ll keep you updated on their progress than Cameron. I’ve never grown them before but have wanted them in my garden for sometime. They did really well at Brent & Becky’s which is just a few miles from here (so same zone).

    Reply

  7. Glad that it came up for you. I look forward to seeing the bloom.

    Thanks Susie, I’ll be sure to post a pic when they bloom. 🙂

    Reply

  8. I sure would like to try alliums–what advice can you give me?

    They are a easy bulb to grow for spring-summer color. You plant them in the fall and they do well in full-part sun. I don’t give them any supplemental watering or food and you can divide them every few years when the clumps get big. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Awesome!

    It is indeed Tina. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Yay! I hope the foxtail lilies bloom for you! They are so spectacular to see. They do well here and I’m several zones colder than you (I think ~ zone 5).

    Me too Kathleen, they did really well over at Brent & Becky’s which is not too far from here. I’ll keep you updated. 🙂

    Reply

  11. Great news, Racquel. Isn’t it wonderful to see something coming up so well in the spring that you didn’t expect to thrive? I planted some alliums last fall, too, but right now they’re looking more like spindly little onions:)

    I was happily surprised and thrilled to see these two plants survived. 🙂 Don’t worry Rose, the alliums will perk up before you know it.

    Reply

  12. Alliums tend to be pretty hardy. I’m growing foxtail lily the first time this year as well–I thought I planted three individually, but so far only one clump has come up–looking the same size as yours. I loved them in Denver and hope they do well for me here (and for you, there!). 🙂

    I’ve never grown this particular variety, it’s a cultivar that is only native to the Yorktown area & Battlefield. It was brought over here back during the 16th century from Russia. Good luck with your Foxtail Lillies Monica. 🙂

    Reply

  13. Racquel, HA! I just walked by what I thought was the foxtail lily and noticed it had purple buds–so it’s in fact allium! That does explain the one clump versus three I planted… but it also means my foxtails aren’t up at all yet. Drat!

    Well at least the Alliums made it through, maybe the Foxtail Lillies will be next. Crossing my fingers for you. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

