Random Shots of the Garden

I was sitting on the patio yesterday taking a break from mulching when I realized how pretty the garden looked right now.  (I’m almost done, need another load to finish up the two largest beds) So I ran inside to get my camera to capture some the great views.  I’m loving how the two Clematis (Snow Queen & Dr Ruppel) are filling in this trellis on the shed.  Last year they looked a bit puny after being transplanted from other areas of the garden.  But they are making up for it this spring with lots of promising buds and a  few blooms.  Two of these other shots include the front and the center circle of my beloved Arbor Garden, my oldest and dearest flower bed.  It has some of my favorite plants and garden accessories.  This bed was reworked a couple of falls ago and it has turned out almost exactly as I imagined it should look.  Ooh look at all those bare spots between the purple Dutch Irises. The Irises are the encore performance to the Daffodils (foliage only remaining) that are long since spent.  I’ll have to find some white & purple Angelonias to help fill this in for summer.  Gotta  keep that color going all season long.  Well I’ve slacked off long enough, now I better get back to mulching…   Happy Gardening!   🙂

15 responses to this post.

  1. The photo with the birdbath is gorgeous – nice colour contrast between the silver/grey of the birdbath and the green of the bush in the background.

    Thanks Heather, I’m quite happy without how this area turned out. 🙂

    Reply

  2. It is looking pretty! I like the bird bath too. I just moved mine this morning to another location, now I need to plant some things around it to pretty up the new spot.

    Thanks Robin. They always blend in better with some plants semi-disguising the base. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Nice shots from your garden. I realy love the clematis you have.

    Thanks Signe, the Clematis is one of my top 5 favorite plants in the garden. 🙂

    Reply

  4. The clematis combo is really stunning! Not blooming here yet, but they are growing several feet a day it seems! 🙂

    Thanks Cameron, I’m happy with this combo. Dr Ruppel doesn’t get quite as tall so it works out well. 🙂

    Reply

  5. I love all your flowers. I had an Angelonia last year since you had recommended them, and they turned out to be one of my favorites. I am also on the lookout for them. I think I got mine at Lowe’s last year, but flowers are slowly coming in this year due to the cold winter.

    Thanks Linda, I picked up 3 purple ones (the last 3 they had in stock) a week or so ago. Now I’ll have to head back up there & see if I can snatch some more, want some white ones too. They are wonderful annuals, no maintenance. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Yes, your gardens are looking pretty. Isn’t it fun when our beds look good to us after all our tweaking and adding fun decor?

    Thanks Sue, yep sometimes we just got to step back and enjoy all the hard work we’ve done. 🙂

    Reply

  7. You go girl! I hope you got all the mulching done. Your garden looks very pretty to me. I don’t see any bare spots and lots of color for sure.

    Me too, just waiting on hubby to get that second load for me now. Aww thanks for that, but I see some bare spots. Just gives me that excuse to get some plants, lol. 🙂

    Reply

  8. I know how you feel~some times i see the garden and think “WOW! Look what nature and I put together!” You and nature have done a great job, too! gail

    It’s good to take a step back sometimes and appreciate all the hard work we put into our passion huh? Thanks Gail. 🙂

    Reply

  9. It’s looking gorgeous!

    Thanks DGG and thanks for stopping by. 🙂

    Reply

  10. it looks great: good job! mine is over run with blooming broadleaf: at least it attracted bees! i had better get back to work: thanks for the inspiration! lynda

    Well thank you Lynda. Glad I could inspire you. 🙂

    Reply

  11. I had to come back and comment on Gail’s comment. I love it!

    I don’t blame you, she has the best comments. 🙂

    Reply

  12. Your garden is looking so full and lush, Racquel–beautiful! Angelonia would be a great addition for summer color, but you have such nice contrasting foliage here that your garden looks complete as is. You’ve reminded me how important it is to be patient while all the plants settle in their first year.

    Thanks Rose, I’m loving the way it looks this spring. Hopefully it still looks great come summer. 🙂 Yep gardening has taught me lots of patience… lol

    Reply

  13. I’m glad you took a break to take these pictures Racquel. It’s looking wonderful in your garden. That has to make you happy every day!

    Me too Kathleen and I’m still not done with the mulching cause I’m waiting on hubby to pickup another trailer full from the city. It makes me happy & serene everyday just sitting back and enjoying the fruits of my labor. 🙂

    Reply

  14. It’s look really pretty! Love the plantings around the birdbath. My daffodils are done too.

    Manuela

    Thanks Manuela, that is my favorite bed right now. 🙂

    Reply

  15. Your clematis are beautiful, makes me wish I was more successful with them. They only one that works for me is one the previous owners planted.

    Thanks Les, I’ve been quite happy with the selections I’ve made in Clematis. Niobe is an easy one to grow, you should try it. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

