Bloomin Tuesday

Well it’s another Bloomin’ Tuesday and I got this one together a bit early.  This week I’m doing the finishing touches on the garden by putting down a nice thick layer of mulch.  It’s time consuming but well worth it in the end.  Mulch is like icing on the cake, it makes everything look better. 🙂 

I told you last week it wouldn’t be long before some of the other colors of my favorite Dutch Irises would start blooming.  The white ones are gone but now look at their replacements!  Just love the yellow tear drops on these deep purple beauties.  A new bulb to my garden this season is the Mediterranean Bells or Allium Nectaroscordum.  Of course you have to either lay upside down or lift the blooms up to view their pretty little faces.  But well worth the effort in my opinion.  🙂

And now all four of the large flowering Clematis I grow in my garden are in bloom!  So from upper left across and down:  ‘Snow Queen’, ‘Dr. Ruppel’, ‘Niobe’ and ‘Nelly Moser’.  They are all doing so well this year, must of been all that extra precipitation we had this winter (snow & rain).  To see other Bloomin’ Tuesday posts or to join in this week please visit our lovely host Jean @ Ms Greenthumb.

19 responses to this post.

  1. What a lot of beauties you have! That bell one reminds me of hellebores. I love it! I’m thinking some of my clematis may be blooming in a couple weeks.

    Thanks Sue, they remind me a bit of Hellebores too. Can’t wait to see your Clematis blooms, hope you take lots of pics. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Everything looks so pretty. I like your new Allium bloom. I think it would definitely be an asset in a garden. Very pretty!

    Thanks Susie, I’m very pleased with the garden this year. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Icing on the cake indeed. Can you come do mine too?:) Your garden is looking great. The clematis are beautiful.

    LOL, I would love to give you hand, but I’m plum wore out now. 😉 Thanks Tina!

    Reply

  4. I can’t believe your clematis are in bloom already. Amazing. Mine are just beginning to leaf out!

    That’s what makes blogging so fun, seeing all the different things going on in different areas of the country. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Your clematis are lovely. Mine look like they will bloom any minute.

    Thanks Donna, can’t wait to see your blooms soon. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Racquel, I love those dutch iris. And your clematis are gorgeous. My unknown one has tiny buds so will be a couple of weeks yet. A good mulching always makes the gardens look so neat and helps with pesky weeds. Just don’t work too hard!

    Thanks Beckie, their my favorites. Of course when the Siberian Irises start blooming in the next week or so I’ll probably say the same about them. 😉 Can’t wait to see the bloom on your unknown Clemmie. Still have lots more to do, the two large corner beds. Oh well it’s worth all the soreness. lol

    Reply

  7. Very, very pretty. I love clematis! We have two that I am having to dig up and move this week. I’m hoping it doesn’t harm them. I’m mulching, too! Yes, it certainly makes a difference.

    Thanks Deb, me too they are in my top 5 favorite blooms. 🙂 They should do fine, I’ve move all of mine at some point. Just make sure they get plenty of extra moisture until they get established. Have fun mulching!

    Reply

  8. I like that iris! Everything looks great. I definitely agree with your thoughts on mulch!

    Thanks Dave, I’m happy that I can catch the true color with my new camera this year. Yep mulch is my favorite garden accessory. 🙂

    Reply

  9. I did some pine straw mulch in the backyard —not as hard to put down, but really pricey. I need to do some more mulch in the front….really helps with those weeds.
    Your Clematis are super!!!

    I need some of that to put around my Azaleas, Camelia & Rhodie. My neighbor has large pines, maybe he’ll let me confiscate some of his extra pine straw. 🙂 Thanks Janet, I’m pleased with their progress this spring.

    Reply

  10. Such beauties! I love Clematis but haven’t found a spot yet where they like to grow in my yard.

    Manuela

    Thank you Manuela, they like their faces in the sun with their roots in the shade. Mulch works well for the last part. Mine all get part-sun conditions. 🙂

    Reply

  11. Oh Raquel just beautiful….kudos on laying the mulch!

    Thank you Darla! I’ll be glad when I’m done mulching, but it was worth all the sore muscles this week. 🙂

    Reply

  12. Nice Post, i like the article in your blog…
    i will visit this blog more often…
    Nice info in there… specialy about
    Bloomin Tuesday
    Keep Up the Good Work!

    cheers

    Thanks I’m glad you enjoyed it and thanks for stopping by. 🙂

    Reply

  13. Pretty pretty pretty! The M. Bells is new to me, how neat. Thanks for sharing:).

    Thanks Carla, their new to me too. YW! 🙂

    Reply

  14. I’ll have to keep my eyes open for the Mediterranian Belles. They are so tiny and such lovely colors. I do have buds on some clematis. I love the burgundy color. Happy Bloomin’ Tuesday! Jean

    I love Alliums so it was nice to add this one to my small collection. Thanks Jean and Happy Bloomin’ Tuesday to you. Can’t wait to see your Clemmie Blooms soon. 🙂

    Reply

  15. Posted by skeeter on April 20, 2010 at 6:12 pm

    So so pretty and makes me want to add a clematis to my garden. I had one last year but she died on me. So sad as I was happy she bloomed once for me, sigh…

    So sorry to hear that, losing a prized plant happens to all of us. You should get another one and find another location. Sometimes it all comes down to location. 🙂

    Reply

  16. Oh your irises and clemantis are so beautiful! We have several weeks before we will see our irises. So far, I have not seen any signs of life in my clemantis; I hope it survived the winter!

    Thank you Alea. I’ll cross my fingers for you on the Clematis surviving the winter. Sounds like you are in a much cooler zone than mine. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

    Reply

  17. Wow you sure have lots of blooms! They are all just beautiful. Has the weather been good there? Your plants all look so happy! 🙂

    Spring has really sprung here. Thanks Linda, the weather has been quite nice. It was too warm for a spell but now the temps are back down in the 70s again. It makes happier plants especially with the lack of rain. 🙂

    Reply

  18. Love those dainty little allium blooms! And your clematis–wow! My lonely little clematis is just starting to set buds.

    Me too Rose. 🙂 Well I hope you share your Clematis blooms with us when they open.

    Reply

  19. That has to be my favorite Allium Racquel. I sure hope mine return. I let the seed heads stay last year, hoping they would spread around but I wasn’t sure what that would do to the bulb?
    Unbelievable that your clematis look like summer already!! They are gorgeous.

    It’s in my top 3 at least. I really can’t wait for the rest to start shining in the garden soon. Let me know how yours worked out by letting them go to seed. It seems a bit early to me too the Clemmies already blooming, but they were doing this last year too. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

