Plants with Promise

Last year I planted quite a few new things in the garden.  Here are a few that I’m quite pleased with the progress so far this season:

Pineapple Sage (Salvia elegans)

I planted three of these aromatic plants last spring and all of them survived.  And we had quite a bit a lot of snow for our area this winter.   According to all the data I’ve found online they are hardy in zones 8-11.  I’m zone 7b so it was iffy at best. 

Baptisia 'Purple Smoke'

I planted two varieties of Baptisia last year, this one and the a white variety.  The white one has emerged but no foliage or blooms yet.  This purple one is budding up nicely.  Yay!  Sorry the pic is so blurry, I’m still trying to get use to the new camera I bought last summer.  Plus Spaz kept getting in every shot, lol. 

Oakleaf Hydrangea 'Little Honey'

‘Little Honey’ hasn’t grown dramatically over the past 9 months but is looking quite healthy.  And considering the first plant I purchased died and this was a free replacement by the nursery I’m thrilled.   It really brightens up the shady Hydrangea border bed.  There have been some failures in the garden as well, but that’s another post.  🙂

16 responses to this post.

  1. It’s great that some of your new plants have come through the winter … we all have our failures, but we rejoice when we see the survivors!

    So true, so true. Thanks for stopping by Bernie. 🙂

    Reply

  2. I have been surprised by the things that survived our unusually cold winter…looking good around your place. Pineapple Sage is a winner for sure.

    Me too Darla, must be some micro climates in your garden too. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Racquel girl !
    You have just reminded me to make sure I have pineapple sage on my annual herb list .. it never ceases to amaze me how much it truly smells like pineapple !
    I planted some newbies last Fall too .. but I have to look in my tag box to remember what they were ? LOL
    You have so much to look forward to girl and Little Honey was one I almost got too .. but it is right on our zone and a little iffy, so I will enjoy watching yours ! : )

    Glad I reminded you to add this fragrant bloomer to your list. 🙂 I’m amazed at how many of my new additions survived. It’s been a good year so far. Thanks Joy, I’ll be happy to share my LIttle Honey’s progress with you.

    Reply

  4. I remember you planting the pineapple sage–and I have tried to find one here. I can’t believe it survived the winter–it (and the others) look great. Maybe I can find one for myself this year.

    Goodluck on your search for this pretty herb Linda. I’m thrilled it overwintered, it was a 50-50 shot here. 🙂

    Reply

  5. I really like the Hydrangea ‘Little Honey’ it seems to glow. If I remember correctly from my reading it has a great fall color as well.

    It really does brighten up this shady border of the garden Janet. Ooh yeah the fall color is really nice too. Forgot to show that off last year. 🙂

    Reply

  6. The hydrangea is gorgeous – love the lime green leaf colour. Can’t wait to see the blooms.

    Thanks Heather, I’m looking forward to seeing some blooms too. This will be it’s first full season in the garden. 🙂

    Reply

  7. You are so lucky that pineapple sage survived. I winter mine over and just planted them out yesterday. My ‘Little Honey’ did not survive. Glad to see yours doing well.

    I do feel quite blessed that all three came through the winter unscathed. Sorry to hear about your Little Honey. After the fiasco with the first plant I purchased not making it and this being it’s replacement (free of charge by Bluestone) I’m thrilled.

    Reply

  8. My baptisia is up and looking good but no blooms yet. And my pineapple sage isn’t even making an appearance. Glad to see yours doing good.

    I think one or two buds opened this morning on mine! So exciting! Thanks Susie, hope your Pineapple Sage shows up soon… 🙂

    Reply

  9. Amazing that your Pineapple Sage survived the winter. It must have had excellent drainage which seems to be the trick. It is a sometimes thing with me. I got down to one teeny piece and brought it back to a bed full because it roots so easily.

    I have only the white Baptisia and I love it.

    I was surprised it overwintered too Nell. Wasn’t quite sure if it would or not. It’s borderline hardy here… I wish my White Baptisia would hurry up and push out foliage & blooms soon. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Great plants you’ve got there!

    I have a pineapple sage that is now in its third season. It was huge last year, and from the look of the size this year, it will be another big year. I added another one a few weeks ago. Mine are planted up next to clumping bamboo which serves are cover from snow and ice. I leave the stems through the winter…ugly, but it helps the survival of the sage.

    Well that gives me hope for future seasons of this aromatic beauty. Mine did very well last year, crossing my fingers for even bigger & better things. I did the same thing, but accidentally (leaving the stems). Forgot to do any fall cleanup last year and it paid off! lol 🙂

    Reply

  11. I planted Little Honey last fall in a neo-natal state it was so small. I was glad to see it came out a little bigger, a little healthier this spring. Have a great weekend!

    Glad to hear yours overwintered and came back bigger & better. I’m pleased with mine so far too. 🙂

    Reply

  12. I looked all over for a ‘little honey’ hydrangea last year. None available except online. Love the color. Jean

    It wasn’t something you could find in local nurseries being so new and all. I got mine online from Bluestone Perennials. They are really great, when the first plant they sent didn’t make it, they replaced it free of charge and apologized for the inconvenience. 🙂

    Reply

  13. Oooh, Teza will be jealous, he really wants his Little Honey to live!

    My first one croaked within a month of purchase but the company I ordered it from (Bluestone Perennials) replaced it free of charge.

    Reply

  14. Hi Racquel,
    I never knew the oakleaf hydrangea had a little honey cultivar. I’ve got the native and they have buds on them for the first time. Very exciting. But I’m loving the foliage color of your little honey… it’s probably not one we can grow but I’ll be checking it out.

    Isn’t it nice when plants cooperate with where we put them. I’m glad yours are working out well for you.
    Meems

    It’s a nice little dwarf variety that fits into a smaller space easier. Most of the Native and cultivar varieties get really large and I didn’t have the room for them. I’m very pleased with this little ball of sunshine at the moment Meems. I’ll keep you updated on its’ progress over the season. 🙂

    Reply

  15. Isn’t is great to see something come back the next spring? I planted a pineapple sage last year, too, for the first time and just loved it. But my zone 5 garden is too cold for it, so I’ll have to find another one again this year. I also planted a baptisia–we have good taste, because it’s the Perennial Plant of 2010:) It should do much better for me because it’s a native here. But I don’t have an oakleaf hydrangea–you’re going to love that one, too!

    Yeah it sure is Rose, makes up for all the losses…. but I’m lucky there wasn’t too many of those this year. 😉 We do have good taste, after seeing some at Brent & Becky’s I had to have at least one or two, maybe three. lol I’ll wait and see how well this one does first though. You can’t go wrong with the Natives, however my native Baptisia is taking it’s time coming up. Hmm… I’m in love with Little Honey so far and it’s the perfect size for my garden.

    Reply

  16. They’re all looking good Racquel. I’m excited to see the bloom on your Baptisia ~ I planted one last year too so I’m hoping maybe mine will bloom as well after seeing yours. Pineapple sage is an annual here ~ lucky you to have it winter over.

    Thanks Kathleen. It’s starting to open up fully now so I’ll try to remember to post a pic this week. I was under the impression it was going to be an annual here too, so I’m thrilled. Meant to bring a piece in this winter and forgot. Got lucky, huh? 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

