Bloomin Tuesday

Well it’s been a long time since I joined in on Bloomin’  Tuesday.  This will be the first one for 2010.  It’s spring in my garden but the temps have felt like summer in the past week. 

Bleeding Heart and Solomon's Seal

An accidental and lovely combination is the blooms of Dicentra (Bleeding Heart) and variegated Solomon’s Seal.  These spring beauties are planted under the canopy of my Hydrangea ‘Limelight’. 

Bearded and Dutch Irises

The front border bed is popping with color from Irises at the moment.  These white Dutch Irises are the first to bloom followed by some yellow and purplish blue ones in a couple of weeks. 

Dwarf Bearded Iris, Candytuft and Spanish Bluebells

Another happy combination is this group of pale yellow Irises, white Candytuff and purplish blue Spanish Bluebells. 

Clematis Nelly Moser & Niobe

And finally are the first blooms of the Clematis ‘Nelly Moser’ and ‘Niobe’ brightening up the trellises in the garden.  To see more Bloomin’ Tuesday posts or to join in the week please visit  our lovely host Jean @ Ms Greenthumb.

21 responses to this post.

  1. Oh, so beautiful. I have missed seeing your gardens!!

    Thanks Darla! I missed being able to share them with you. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by Elena on April 13, 2010 at 12:18 pm

    Oh wow, such lovely blooms. My favorite is the maroon clemetis. Just beautiful!

    Thanks Elena, that would be Niobe, she’s my favorite of the four I have in the garden. 🙂

    Reply

  3. I found a Clematis named Rebecca– I am going to get it (daughter number 2 is Rebecca). It reminds me of Niobe in that it blooms for a long period of time.

    I’ll have to google that name so I can see what it looks like. What a fitting tribute to your youngest. 🙂

    Reply

  4. WOW ! I cant’ believe all the flowers blooming in your garden – thaks for sharing and letting me see them. They are wonderful, Paula from Idaho

    That’s what makes BT so fun, seeing what is going on in different areas of the country throughout the seasons. You are quite welcome. 🙂

    Reply

  5. So glad to see your garden.

    Happy to share it with you! 🙂

    Reply

  6. Hi Racquel,
    I’ve missed your posts so much. Glad to have you back. Your flowers are beautiful. I have a pink bleeding heart, but want to get a white one. Mine isn’t blooming yet. So glad you’re back.
    Balisha

    Hi Balisha, I’ve been meaning to stop by to say hello. 🙂 Thanks I missed all of you while I was MIA. I have a white Bleeding heart that I planted last season but it hasn’t bloomed yet.

    Reply

  7. I’m jealous that it feels like summer already Racquel. It’s been so blustery here that I haven’t even been out in the garden much. (that’s my excuse for no new posts lately anyway!!) Your blooms are awesome!

    Don’t be I’m glad the temps have cooled back down to typical April like weather. I’m not ready for summer quite yet. 😉 Tonight it looks like we are going to have bad storm, the wind is really winding up. Good excuse, you can’t post if you can’t photograph right? 😉 Thanks Kathleen!

    Reply

  8. All your blooms are wonderful. Love the combination. The color of the Niobe clematis is amazing. I thought I bought a simular color last year but it was purple. Thanks for joining the tour. I love stopping by! Jean

    Thanks Jean. I’m very pleased with the way my combinations turned out this spring. It’s always a guessing game when you plant all those bulbs, lol. The nice thing about Niobe is it blooms for a long time and the flowers gradually fade to a royal purple as they age. It was fun joining in this week. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Posted by greenwalks on April 13, 2010 at 4:04 pm

    Hey Racquel, wonderful to see you back here. We missed you! And your beautiful clematis flowers. Welcome back!

    Hi Karen, it’s great to be back! I’m glad I could join in this week for BT and show off some blooms. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Racquel, your combinations of blooms are beautiful. I love those Dutch iris and of course the clematis.

    Also, I love your new look. Very fresh and springy. I have been wanting to do something with mine, but can’t decide. 🙂

    Thank you Beckie. I adore the Dutch Iris, more so than the Bearded ones. They hold their blooms for alot longer and don’t droop. It was time for a change, the old palette was very fallish. 🙂

    Reply

  11. How do you do that? I thought I’m in a warmer zone, but your Dutch irises and clematis are blooming sooner than mine (I do have buds). You’ve got a magical touch!

    Lovely blooms and that solomon’s seal combo is perfect with the dicentra.

    It’s magic Cameron, lol. Actually I think with the freak warm spell we had in the past couple of weeks and all the little micro zones going on in my garden…that’s the secret. 🙂

    Reply

  12. All of your blooms are so beautiful, and you have done a lovely job of photographing them!

    Thanks Linda, I’m using a new camera too. So I appreciate the compliment about the photography. 😉

    Reply

  13. Such beautiful combinations!

    Why thank you Tina, I’m very pleased with them myself. 🙂

    Reply

  14. Love your blossoms! My bleeding heart is close to blooming too. Can’t wait!

    Thanks Suzanne. Those are my favorite little blooms every spring. Their so unique and interesting. 🙂

    Reply

  15. I just love all your pretty blooms! Especially that bleeding heart!!!
    Happy Blooming Tuesday, its good to see you back!

    Ann

    Thanks Ann for the welcome back. Glad I could share my blooms this week. 🙂

    Reply

  16. The Iris are starting to bloom here too. I only have a few, but they are late bloomers every year. I love the show spring puts on..it is always worth the wait through winter! 🙂
    All your blooms are beautiful!

    Thanks Linda. They really do add alot of color to the garden this time of the year. I’m very pleased with all the bulbs that are bursting forth, it was worth all that planting last fall. 🙂

    Reply

  17. Wow, I can’t believe you have clematis blooming already, Racquel! It’s been so warm here, too, that new blooms are popping up so quickly it’s hard to keep up.

    I enjoyed your slide show on your last post. I remember when you first started blogging and were just starting some of these beds. They look wonderful now, so full and lush. Beautiful!

    I was a bit surprised too Rose, it seemed early to me as well. Today the temps have dipped back down to cooler levels again. Thanks it’s been fun watching the changes for the past 2 years and the blog has helped me keep track of it. 🙂

    Reply

  18. I’m so glad to see you online again. Looks like spring is popping out at your home.

    I’ve been offline for a few weeks and without a computer. Now I have a new laptop which is taking some getting use to. Hope all is well with your family.

    Hello my friend, I’ve been meaning to stop by your blog & say hi! Thanks for the welcome back, hope you get use to the new laptop. I’ve been using hubby’s and it is an adjustment for sure. 🙂

    Reply

  19. Is your clematis really already in bloom?! Cool. I love candytuft and mine is looking really good for blossoms soon!

    Yep and today another one started blooming. It seems like winter just ended the other day… I love Candytuft too, it is such a long bloomer. 🙂

    Reply

  20. Beautiful blooms, especially the clematis’.

    Thanks Tammy, their some of my favorite blooms. 🙂

    Reply

  21. Hi Racquel – good to see so many flowers blooming in your garden. As you do, I really like the combination of the bleeding heart and solomon’s seal – both arching flower stems. Lovely

    Reply

Leave a Reply

