Ode to Autumn

Ode to Autumn 001The green leaves of summer have changed into their autumn finery with hues of gold, bronze and red.  Before long they will blanket every surface of the garden.  Ode to Autumn 002

Hydrangea blossoms fade to paler versions of their former selves or take on new identities altogether…soon they’ll turn brown and blow away. 

Ode to Autumn 004

Just like the leaves of the trees swirl and dance in the air with the slightest breeze through their branches.  They look like falling stars against the blue, blue skies.

Ode to Autumn 003

It wouldn’t be Autumn without the blooms of Chrysantheums.  Their colorful faces are cheery on gloomy days.  Another glorious season to enjoy before Jack Frost puts the garden to bed for a long winter’s nap.

22 responses to this post.

  1. Nice Fall photos Racquel. I’d like to cut some of those dried hydrangea blooms to bring indoors for a nice arrangement ~ do you ever do that? That last pic of the mums is a beauty.

    Thanks Kathleen. If you lived closer I’d let you cut some of those blooms for arrangements. 😉 Nope I’ve never brought any inside, I love the effect they have in the garden. Aren’t those sweetest little Mums, their spooned shaped blossoms are lovely.

    Reply

    • Your Hydrangreas are so beautiful, never seen one so big and tall. Truly amazing.

      Thanks James, this is my favorite of the small collection I have in my garden. It’s Hydrangea paniculata ‘Limelight’. A real easy cultivar to grow, will take sun or shade. It gets to be about 6-8′. 🙂

      Reply

  2. What a beautiful post! Autumn finery…I love that! I’m so tempted to quote…Season of mists and mellow fruitfulness… The falling leaves against the blue sky is so well-captured. And thank you for posting your GORGEOUS hydrangea…beautiful at every stage!

    I’m glad you enjoyed this post Kanak. It was fun capturing these photos (especially the falling leaves). 🙂 The Hydrangea just keeps getting lovier with the change of seasons.

    Reply

  3. What an absolutely delightful post, Racquel! I love that photo of the leaves dancing in the sky. Beautiful!

    I’m happy you enjoyed my ‘Ode to Autumn’ post today. That’s my favorite shot too. Thanks Sunita! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Yes this is a very nice fall post! You captured the ‘fall’ing leaves very good. I haven’t been as successful capturing them. I see compost when I see all of those leaves on the ground!!!

    Why thank you Darla. I’m so glad everyone has enjoyed it. 🙂 It took me a few shots and some careful zooming to capture those leaves. Not an easy task to say the least, but worth it in the end. Yep some of those leaves will make for some nice compost and some will make a nice winter mulch.

    Reply

  5. What a clever idea to take a picture of the leaves dancing in the air! They look so graceful.

    I’m glad you enjoyed that photo Deborah! This shot took me a few tries to get, it was so worth it. 🙂

    Reply

  6. You captured fall perfectly! Especially those dancing leaves in the air.

    Thank you Tina, it was a fun post to put together. I was feeling a bit creative. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Lovely autumn scenes.

    Why thank you Cameron. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Racquel girl ! Your yard looks so tidy and beautiful ! I love the falling leaves picture .. I wanted to get that sort of picture too but as usual I’m too late .. I love those mums with the rolled petals .. VERY pretty !
    Joy : )

    Thanks Joy, that was a lovely compliment. It doesn’t look tidy to me at the moment, but I appreciate that. 😉 It took me quite awhile to capture those dancing leaves on camera. Playing around with my new camera and the zoom feature was fun though. lol

    Reply

  9. I like that falling leaf shot! I’ve tried to capture a similar image but haven’t gotten one that nice yet!

    Why thank you Dave, I’m glad you enjoyed that shot. It was my favorite too. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Very nice autumn photos Racquel. Would you believe my hydrangea paniculata is blooming again?

    Thanks Janet. Really? I can’t believe that it’s blooming again. It’s been an odd season. 🙂

    Reply

  11. I really like all these pics Racquel. But my fav is the swirling leaves against the blue sky. How pretty! That really does show fall. Hope you have a wonderful weekend!

    Thanks Susie, that was my fave too. 😉 I’m glad you enjoyed my ‘Ode to Autumn’. Have a lovely weekend yourself.

    Reply

  12. A beautiful ode to autumn, Racquel! I have really been enjoying my hydrangea blooms, too; they are certainly one plant that ages well.

    Thanks Rose, I’m glad you enjoyed it. 🙂 That’s what makes them such a favorite plant of mine, their ability to look great no matter the season. Aging gracefully is their best attribute of all.

    Reply

  13. Your photos are just beautiful! Love the hydrangea and those mums are perfect. Your camera really caught those falling leaves;)
    Marnie

    Thanks Marnie for the nice comments! I’m glad you enjoyed all the photos. 🙂

    Reply

  14. I love reliving the seasons in others’ blogs (or, in spring, seeing stuff before it blooms here). All the leaves are pretty much down here… a few mums are still blooming, but it’s definitely headin’ on into winter. I love seeing your colorful foliage still on the trees!

    Me too Monica, that’s one of the fun things about blogging. Watching how different the seasons progress throughout various parts of the country & world. 🙂

    Reply

  15. Those falling leaves – what a moment you managed to catch!

    Thanks Tatyana, it seems everyone really enjoyed that photo the most. 🙂

    Reply

  16. Love the picture of the leaves against the sky.

    Thanks Deb! 🙂

    Reply

  17. According to the local weather guys, it looks like Jack Frost will visit you tonight. I may be spared, but spent the day dragging in all of my houseplants – just in case. It had to be done anyway.

    I did the same thing Les, but it seems to have spared me for now. 🙂

    Reply

  18. Hi Racquel…what a pretty mum. Have a nice weekend..
    Balisha

    Thanks Balisha, I love the spoon shaped petals on this one. 🙂 Hope your weekend is going good!

    Reply

  19. Posted by gailae on November 7, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    Happiest of Autumn Days to you Racquel~~I love the leaf shot…What fun to walk when they are falling all around! gail

    To you too Gail. I’m glad you enjoyed that shot, it was interesting trying to capture them dancing in the air. 🙂

    Reply

  20. What a lovely post about a lovely subject! I am still trying to believe autumn is here already.

    What a nice compliment Barbee, thanks! 🙂 Summer sure flew by quickly didn’t it.

    Reply

  21. Very nice photos and a great tribute to the fall season.

    I’m so enjoying all the autumn depictions on blogs this year. Especially since I never managed to get away to see any of the changes in leaves for myself. You have my favorite hydrangeas… do you ever cut them and let them dry out? I have some from NC that were given to me over a year ago and they still look good.

    Meems @ Hoe and Shovel

    Reply

Leave a Reply

