Monarchs in November?

Monarch on Salvia 'Mystic Spires'

Yesterday morning  in the garden I spotted this Monarch butterfly happily skipping along the bright purple blooms of Salvia ‘Mystic Spires’.   Considering the day started off with temps in the upper 40’s I was a bit surprised to see this visitor so late in the season.  Of course I didn’t have my camera with me so I had to capture this winged beauty with my cell phone.  It took me several shots before I was able to get a decent one of his gorgeous wings.  Unfortunately he wouldn’t spread them open to give me a better angle.  Considering I didn’t see too many of these this past summer it was a nice way to start the day!  🙂

14 responses to this post.

  1. How lovely to start a day like that! Your Salvia is gorgeous too!

    Thanks Kanak, it was a lovely start to a pretty day that’s for sure. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Nothing surprises me this year in the garden…So glad you got to see the Monarch and even capture a photo of him, they are such a delight to see!

    It has been a strange season that’s for sure Darla. I’m glad I finally captured one okay shot of these elusive visitors. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Yes – there was one in my garden yesterday, too.

    Cameron

    They must be migrating huh? 🙂

    Reply

  4. Oh what a delight, Racquel. Your Mystic Spires is lovely too. We have seen some late stragglers even here. The nights are so cold it is a wonder they survive.
    Frances

    Thanks Frances, I was wondering about the night time temps myself. They much find some place to keep warm until the sun comes up. 🙂

    Reply

  5. They are hanging around late this year but better get a move on it. I’ve noticed the lady beetles coming in so that tells me a really bad cold snap is coming. So glad you captured the shot.

    Hopefully he moved on down to warmer climates once he stopped by for a sip. 😉 That doesn’t sound like a good thing…’a bad cold snap’. Thanks Tina. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Pretty amazing!!

    That’s the word for it alright! 🙂

    Reply

  7. What a late fall treat Racquel! A gift for you! I only have a Clouded Sulphur and a few diurnal moths visiting the garden. It was frosty last night, so my guess is that they are all gone. gail

    It was an unexpected treat indeed Gail. This morning wasn’t quite as cool as yesterday but I’m sure they are happily on their way to warmer temps. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Another great reason to always have your phone with you!

    So true Deborah, so true. And my new phone takes better pics than my old one did. 😉

    Reply

  9. We have seen some flitting around at work too! I thought it was a bit late for them as well.

    They must be getting a late start on their migration this year huh? 🙂

    Reply

  10. Congratulations on getting this photo, Racquel! I think I managed one half-way decent one all summer. I noticed a Monarch flying about last week as well, which really surprised me.

    Thanks Rose, I almost gave up after about 20 shots. 😉

    Reply

  11. I’ll bet he was happy to find some flowers this late in the season.
    Marnie

    I think you’re right Marnie, he was happily flitting from bloom to bloom. 🙂

    Reply

  12. You may be interested in a post by a fellow Michigan blogger on the same topic: http://www.blogsmonroe.com/nature/2009/11/whats-wrong-with-this-picture/ .

    Thanks for the link Monica, I’m going to go check it out now. 🙂

    Reply

  13. What a treat but I agree, they better hurry along now. I’m afraid they won’t make it if they don’t. It’s good your garden hasn’t frosted so there is nectar for them.

    Yep this one hopefully was just stopping by on his migration to warmer digs. 🙂

    Reply

  14. We still have a lot of butterflies, here. Does this mean we are going to have a mild winter?
    I don’t think so, those horses are looking pretty shaggy. It is a pleasure to see them anyway.

    Good job, getting this picture with your cell phone!

    Thanks Janie, I’m so glad I finally got one shot that wasn’t too blurry. I took at least 20. 😉 Wouldn’t that be something if we had a mild winter? I don’t think so since fall came in a hurry this year… Oh well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

