Coleus ‘Henna’

Coleus Henna

According to  www.Southern Living.com this is  of the Eight Best Plants to Grow this year.  I planted two of these sun-loving annuals this past May and they are still thriving in the garden.  Mine are planted where they get morning sunlight with full afternoon shade and yet they look great.  In fact they haven’t gotten leggy or produced any blooms.  The break from the heat of the sun this past summer has kept their foliage healthy and vibrant all season in my opinion.  This was one of 3 Coleus that I planted this year, the other two were ‘Watermelon’ and ‘Defiance’.  Both of these were given more exposure to sun and one was planted in a container.   ‘Watermelon’ got a bit washed out looking from the afternoon sunlight and I had to constantly pinch off the flower buds.  ‘Defiance’ was in a container and needed to be pinched back twice to keep it bushy.  Overall ‘Henna’ kept a bushier appearance, didn’t produce flower stems and kept it’s vibrant coloring.  I will be taking cuttings from it this weekend and this will definitely be an addition to my garden next season.  Who needs blooms with this much texture, pattern and color?

Here’s some additional info:

  • Part Sun (4-8 hours daily)
  • Vigorous & upright
  • Lasting color & texture
  • fertilize regularly
  • normal to moist soil
  • grows 18-24″ tall
  • protect from frost
  • propogate through cuttings
17 responses to this post.

  1. Thanks for the info Racquel. I do love coleus, but really hate their habit of getting leggy. I will try this one next year.
    Deborah

    I stopped growing them for a few years for the same reason Deborah. This one was a real trouper, hope you enjoy it next year. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Coleus are on my must have annual list every year. You can’t beat them for consistent color. This year all of mine were kept in pots and will stay there until the frost gets them. I will not try to take cuttings or overwinter any, besides, I like to pick new ones next year.

    I agree Les, somehow I lost interest in these for a few years but their definitely at the top of my list again. Picking new ones every year is a good way to change things up a bit too. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Racquel girl .. I had Henna too along with two other coleus (I have to drag the plant tag box out) and they were wonderful all season .. I took some cuttings but Henna didn’t work .. the darker one which I will find the name to .. seems to have sprouted some roots so I better find a pot QUICK !
    This is the first time I have tried doing this .. hope I can get it right : )

    It was a popular cultivar this season. Too bad about the cuttings not taking. Here’s crossing my fingers that the ones I cut work out. Cool about the other one making roots, have fun potting it up. 🙂 Good luck!

    Reply

  4. I have become a big fan of coleus, Racquel. I didn’t have “Henna,” but I had a similar variety with more “speckling” of the leaves (can’t remember the name of course). I still plant most of mine in semi-shade, but I know that many of the varieties nowadays are suitable for sun as well. The only trouble I ever have with them is limiting how many of them I buy!

    This year was the first in sometime since I planted these fabulous foliage plants. They really brighten up the shady areas of the garden. I think they do better with a bit of shade in the afternoon. Keeps their colors stronger. lol, I restrained myself from buying more than 3 varieties this year, but it was hard for sure. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Henna is very neat. I have one that we moved to the bathroom to overwinter but my mom has several. The one’s in nearly full sun turn a nice reddish tint while the shadier ones were more green. I’ll have to try them in the sun next year here.

    This was my favorite variety to date. Hope yours overwinters well for you. These get enough sun to get that nice reddish tint on them. 🙂

    Reply

  6. I too am a huge fan of coleus, especially in pots, and mass plantings in our public gardens here in the village … so many beautiful and complimentary choices. Happy Halloween, Racquel!

    They really are so versatile in the public or personal settings. Happy Halloween Joey! 🙂

    Reply

  7. Wow, a coleus that likes sun–and what great foliage. Upon very first and passing glance, I thought it was coral bells. (Which I love. As I also love coleus!) Happy Halloween!

    Yep these sun loving varieties are fairly new. Ooh, I also love Coral Bells. Foliage plants always catch my eye in the nursery. 😉 Happy Halloween Monica!

    Reply

  8. That is a good looking coleus! I am trying to root my schizophrenia and another kind that I grew this summer. I hope they root and live over the winter. I’ve never done that before.

    I googled yours so I could see what it looked like. It’s a pretty one too. Good luck on your rootings! 🙂

    Reply

  9. I love coleus too. And your post reminds me that I need to pinch the blooms now. Coleus “Henna” does make a statement with all that wonderful colour! Great!

    Glad I could act as a reminder for you to Kanak. 😉 She is definitely my favorite of the new cultivars.

    Reply

  10. No blooms needed with these wonderful plants. I do like the red of them. It used to at one time a very long time ago-be the color of my hair, but no more. Have a safe and Happy Halloween.

    That is so true Tina. I tend to gravitate towards the red & burgundy toned ones. Wow you were a true redhead at one time. Happy Halloween! 🙂

    Reply

  11. Hi Racquel, between you and Les there were some really nice coleus in our area this year. I really like the sunloving ones. Did you do them by seed or buy them? Think for continuous color next year I am planting lots of coleus.

    Thanks Janet, I’m glad I decided to give these wonderful annuals another shot in the garden. I bought 4″ pots of them at Lowe’s. I’ve never tried growing them from seed or cuttings, so this will be a new experience if I’m successful. Definitely a great burst of color for a long time that’s for sure. 🙂

    Reply

  12. Posted by greenwalks on November 1, 2009 at 2:26 am

    That’s a lovely one. I went through a coleus-obsessed period in my previous garden, when I had too much shade, and they were unhappy – maybe I should try them again, now that I have a sunnier plot. I do have some morning sun + afternoon shade spots, and those colors are pretty spiffy. Sorry I haven’t been around much lately, hope you are doing well!

    Thanks Karen. I think you will love the sun-loving ones, they are so unique & colorful. 🙂 Hope you are doing well, glad to see you back.

    Reply

  13. I like the serrated edges – gives an extra frothy effect to its appearance. The colour is very attractive.

    Me too EG, it really adds another layer of interest to an already cool plant. Thanks! 😉

    Reply

  14. This must be the one coleus I don’t have…which means I will put it on the “to buy” list for next year! Coleus are my passion..I can’t pass them up! Thanks for the post with this information Racquel!

    Glad I could add to the wishlist for next season Linda! 😉 I am just starting to remember why I use to plant them again. YW!

    Reply

  15. Coleus is just a wonderful and beautiful plant. And with all the colors now a days you can have a beautiful garden without blooms. I don’t remember seeing Henna before but it too is a beauty.

    I can’t believe I had forgotten about this wonderful foliage plant for so long. Thanks Susie! 😉

    Reply

  16. That’s a great coleus Racquel. I didn’t see it at our nursery this spring but I hope I can find it next year. The colors are marvelous and I love to mix coleus in my containers.

    Thanks Kathleen, I hope you find it at your local garden centers this coming spring. This one was found at Wally World of all places. They do look great in containers or the ground. 🙂

    Reply

  17. I live in a zone that coleus is an annual but I do like the attributes you wrote on the ‘Henna” coleus. I would probably need to find it online. Any ideas of any online nurseries that carry it? Thank you.

    It’s an annual here too Jeff. I found mine at Walmart (of all places) this summer. But you could try Gehart Greenhouse (online). They have zillions of varieties of Coleus for sale. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

