October Happenings

October Happenings pageI know I’ve been out of the blogasphere for about 3 weeks now.  Didn’t mean to be so absent for so long, things happen.  In that timespan my family has been taking turns getting the flu and I got hit the hardest.  Just now feeling a bit more like myself again.  Between taking care of the minimum household tasks with a 50% loss of energy it’s been hard.  The garden is trying to recover from a week’s worth of rainfall and cooler temps.  The strange bit is I’m harvesting the remainder of the Roma Tomatoes and Bell Peppers (upper right photo)  this week.  Yes their green but they’ll ripen up quickly on the counter.  In addition the Pineapple Sage (lower left photo) started blooming recently after a summer of no blooms and little growth it has taken off big time in the past few weeks.  My hubby helped me mount my new arbor bench (upper left photo) in the garden by digging out a strip of about 2′ worth of lawn and attaching the permanent stakes that came with it for stability.  Ant now I’m excited to report the fall bulb orders are arriving in the mail (lower right photo) and will be planted as soon as it dries up a bit outside. This is the first of 3 shipments I’m expecting to receive this month.  The other two shipments are perennials.  Included in this package were the following bulbs, corms & tubers:

  • Species Tulip ‘Golden Charm’
  • Dwarf Purple Fritillaria
  • Tall Purple Dutch Iris
  • Allium unifolium
  • Alpine Rosy Bells
  • Early Stardrift
  • Allium ‘Amethyst’
  • Mediterranean Bells
  • Scillia hispanica (white)
  • Buttercup Iris
  • Checkered Lily
20 responses to this post.

  1. Sorry to hear that you’ve been under the weather. Glad you are feeling well enough to be up and about. Your harvest looks good… and, that’s a lot of bulbs! Can’t wait to see your results next spring.

    Cameron

    Thanks Cameron for your concern. It really sucks to be ill when I want to be in the garden. I can’t wait to see how all these new additions look next spring too! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Sorry you had the flu. Yuk! That’s no fun! I’m glad to see you back online. It’s funny, when fellow bloggers are mia you wonder what has happened to them.

    My pineapple sage is blooming too. I’m very glad to see that even if it is real small. The arbor looks wonderful. I’ll be looking forward to seeing it in the spring.

    Thanks Susie, I saw you comment on my last post. Sorry that I worried you with my disappearing act. Mine tripled in size this fall, over the summer it was puny & struggling with the heat. It must love these cooler days huh? 🙂

    Reply

  3. Racquel girl .. it takes a while before we feel like ourselves again after a bout of flu, colds all of that crappy stuff that happens this time of year. Make sure you are taking your vitamins ! : )
    My Pineapple sage was huge in the two spots I planted it … but no blooms before I cleaned it out a few weeks ago .. but I love the scent ! Isn’t it amazing how much it does smell like pineapple ?
    Wow !! You have loads of bulbs to plant and they will look gorgeous I bet ! .. I am trying to keep a mental picture of what mine will look like next Spring too … and planting them in the back just beyond the deck was something I wanted so we could all see them easily .. I can’t wait ! haha
    Take care and still drink plenty of fluids girl .. flushes away more nonsense from our bodies ! LOL
    Joy : )

    It’s been a few years since I got hit this hard with it Joy. Thanks for all the good advice, us moms forget to take care of ourselves sometimes. 😉 That Pineapple Sage is wonderful, my favorite thing to do is rub my hands along the stems to get that great scent! Hubby was amazed by it too, lol. The blooms were just an added bonus in my opinion.

    Reply

  4. Hi Racquel,
    So good to know you are okay now… sorry to hear you had the flu (along with the rest of your family). It looks like those peppers and tomatoes just kept growing while you rested and your pineapple sage decided to give you a pick-me-up since you were feeling well.
    Glad you’re back… take good care of yourself… lots of bulbs to plant!
    Meems

    Thanks Meems, I’m glad to be feeling a bit better finally. Yep I was quite surprised to see some lingering maters & peppers in the garden. This might be the last harvest even though there were a few teeny tiny ones left. It’s getting quite cool here during the day as well as nights now. I’ve never grown Pineapple Sage so I was pleased to see its’ blooms this late in the year. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Hey Racquel, glad to know that you are feeling better, I have been worried about you. The harvest looks great, we have had a killer frost here and the tomatoes are black and now finished.
    It won’t be long before the snow flies, so I am trying to get my bulbs planted as well, and everything tidied up.
    Deborah

    Thanks Deborah, sorry I worried you. No frosts here yet, but they’ll be coming soon (November is usually the first of the hard ones for us). Snow is a rarity for us as well. Last year we got one and it was a freak one in early March. 😉 Have fun tidying up the garden & planting.

    Reply

  6. Welcome back, you were missed. Lots of bulbs to plant should perk you up greatly. Bulbs hold such promise, so there’s the thrill of planting and another joy when they bloom. Take care.

    Thanks Nell, it feels like I’ve been gone forever. 🙂 I love planting bulbs every fall, it’s such a great joy when they start emerging the following spring.

    Reply

  7. How good it is to hear from you! I am so sorry you all have been sick. The flu has been bad here in Texas too.
    Love, love the arbor! And how wonderful to be harvesting!
    I ordered bulbs this year–first time for me. I am somewhat nervous about them–they haven’t arrived yet, but I normally chill my bulbs and I am told not to do that with these.
    Take care!

    Thank you Linda, I’m sorry I worried all so much with my absence. This was my birthday present (the arbor) and I love it! I was quite pleased to be still harvesting summer veggies this late in the season. 🙂 The only bulbs I know you have to chill are Tulips & Hyacinths for sure. Have fun with your fall bulb planting.

    Reply

  8. Welcome back so Racquel. I for one missed you! Sorry you were ill. So far here I’ve been lucky but Jimmy got the flu and it came on so suddenly it was not funny. We had a special trick for him to get over it in about 5 days. I can’t put it on here though. I have been waiting every day for some bulbs and no luck yet. I want to get it all done. Calling for frost tonight and I am so not ready. I even still have houseplants outside:( The arbor looks wonderful as do all those tomatoes.

    Thanks Tina, I knew you and a few others were probably wondering where I had gone. Sorry for that. You have been quite fortunate to miss out on it so far. I hate being ill, it’s been about 3 years since I got hit this hard with it. You’ll have to email me your tricks for cutting the recovery down. Hope you get your bulbs soon. I know October – December is the ideal planting time for my area. No signs of frost here yet, but it won’t be much longer I expect.

    Reply

  9. Wow, you have your work cut out for you with some great bulbs!!!! I love that arbor & bench. You had such a great garden harvest this year. I know you will continue with veggies over the next few years. Maybe before I move I can find my Bread and Butter recipe!
    Glad to have you back online! Next time call me!

    Yep now the weather just needs to clear up a bit so I can get busy. 😉 Thanks Janet, I’m pleased with my veggie harvest this season. Next year will be even better I hope. Hope you find your recipe soon. I promise to call next time ok? 🙂

    Reply

  10. Flu ? Poor thing. Can’t imagine what the family has been going through.
    Nice to hear you’re feeling better and got some nice surprises in the mail.
    Hope you’re up to planting the bulbs, corms & tubers.

    Thanks Patsi. Yep tis the season… It’s been a nightmare with us all passing it around. 😦 By the time the weather clears up in a couple of days I should be able to get these newest additions planted.

    Reply

  11. I am glad that you are feeling better and back among the blogging. With all the bulbs you have coming, I can’t wait to see what you will be showing in the spring.

    Thanks Les, I am glad to be back too. Promise to show you the results of all this planting come next spring. I still have a few more on the way too. 🙂

    Reply

  12. Racquel…it’s good to see you in blogosphere again. I did wonder why…. But glad to know things are back to normal now.

    Your harvest looks great, love the shape of the tomatoes. And the bulbs…I can imagine how pretty they’ll all be when its bloom-time. Take care.

    Thanks Kanak, it’s good to be back. Isn’t the shape of the Romas cute? I love these, they’ve been my most productive crop this year. Their good for sauces. Look forward to sharing all the new blooms next spring with everyone. 🙂

    Reply

  13. I’m sorry to hear you and your family have been sick. We have some co-workers and/or their family members who’ve had H1N1 flu the past couple weeks. I had a flu in February of 2008, and ended up with pneumonia. It’s no fun, I know. I hope you are feeling 100% better soon.

    Your bench/trellis looks great there. We had to pick our green tomatoes, too. Have fun getting all those bulbs and plants put in!

    Thanks Sue. Sorry to hear about family members & co-workers. I need to get our immunizations for H1N1 this week. It’s been about 3 years since I got this ill. I’m just waiting for the garden to dry up a bit before I plant these bulbs. We’ve had massives amount of rainfall this week. It’s a muddy mess out there. I figured I better pick them green before our cooler temps this weekend turned them to mush. 😉

    Reply

  14. Wow, it sounds like you all have had a tough time lately. I’m so glad you are better. We all got flu shots in Sept. and my son and I just got our H1N1 shots this week. I know we can still get the flu, but it should be much milder if we do get it. So sorry you went through that. You’ve had a great harvest of veggies–congratulations on that! The arbor looks perfect and those bulbs will be amazing next spring! I need to get some but I’m not sure if I’m going to take the time to do it. Take care!

    Yep and just to get the bad germs out of the house I did a complete field day with Lysol and bleach today. It’s been about 3 years since I’ve gotten this ill (maybe 4). Thanks Jan I missed you all while I was down for the count. I was very pleased with my veggie harvest this year. I’m hoping for big things next year already! 🙂 Hope you find some time to pick up some bulbs and plant them. You’ll be glad you did next spring.

    Reply

  15. I have been so worried about you! Glad everything is looking up around your house….pineapple sage doesn’t bloom here until the fall……veggies look great and it looks like you got some holes to dig!

    You are too sweet Darla, sorry that I worried you. I’m feeling even better today, getting stronger day by day. I didn’t realize that Pineapple Sage bloomed in the fall, this is my first year growing it. But I was pleased, more fall blooming plants are always welcome in the garden. Yep I got lots of hole digging to do once the muddy muck dries up a bit more. 😉

    Reply

  16. Welcome back Racquel, I am so sorry your families been hit with the flu…but so very glad you’re recovering. The arbor looks wonderful; that really was a thoughtful gift. We are hoping it dries out here so we can get all the bulbs in the ground, too. gail

    Thanks Gail, it’s good to be back in the blogging world. I’m feeling better day by day. Well I kind of gave my family a big hint and that’s why I always get just what I want for my b-day. lol 😉 It seems everyone is having a rather wet fall so far. Here’s hoping we all get some sunshine for bulb planting soon.

    Reply

  17. Racquel, so glad to hear from you again–I have been worried about you, with good reason apparently. The flu is no fun; I do hope you’re on the way to a full recovery by now. I was going to get my flu shot this week, but now there is a shortage of vaccine here. This is my first year for pineapple sage, too, and I was wondering if it was ever going to bloom. Apparently, we just had to had a little more patience. It is certainly worth the wait, don’t you agree? Hope all those germs have left your house and you can enjoy the rest of autumn in your garden.

    Thanks Rose, I’m so sorry I worried you & everyone else with my prolonged absence. I’m feeling a bit more like myself everyday. I’m thrilled to have another fall bloomer in the garden. It’s not hardy here either but I’m hoping I can trick it a bit since I’m only off a by 1/2 a zone at best. 😉

    Reply

  18. Sorry to hear you weren’t well Racquel. So glad your are better now and that your got your arbor bench up. Hehe, no matter how sick we are, we still have our priorities! H.

    Thanks Helen. I’m glad to be on the road to recovery that’s for sure. Yep I always figure out a way to get my priorities completed, lol. This time with alittle help from my hubby. 😉

    Reply

  19. Posted by lynnsgarden on October 19, 2009 at 11:11 am

    Congrats on the new driver…lol! I was extremely nervous too but forced myself to stay so my daughter wouldn’t pick up the vibe! And congrats on the new camera, too! The fun you will have 😉

    Glad you are back, Racquel! And I’m definitely planting pineapple sage next year!

    Thanks Lynn, it is just another stage to get through I guess. That’s why I had my hubby initially take him out driving so that I wouldn’t make him nervous. 🙂

    I miss you guys so it’s good to be back. Glad I could inspire you to add this great plant to your garden. 🙂

    Reply

  20. Posted by lynnsgarden on October 19, 2009 at 11:12 am

    Haha, forgot the word ‘calm’….see, I’m still kinda nervous…

    lol, I knew what you meant Lynn. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

