Tour of the garden in September…

September Tour page

The garden beds in September this year are still full of color in some places and going to sleep in others.  I have to say the Shed Garden (top left photo above) and the Rose Garden (shown below) are the most colorful at the moment.  We had an usually wet summer which has been both a blessing and a curse.  Some plants ate up the extra moisture and performed their hearts out while others have sucumbed to some disease.  Until we get our first hard frost alot of the perennials in my garden will keep pushing out blooms randomly.  The beds pictured above from left to right are the Shed Garden, Arbor Garden, Fountain Garden and Border Garden.

September Tour page2

 

The fading blossoms of the Hydrangeas will linger through November when the first killing frost turns them brown.  My Knockout Roses in the Rose Garden kept on blooming through December last year.  Soon I will have to cut back the damaged foliage of these Cannas in the foundation bed.  The cooler nights and long hot summer have done their damage.   Here’s the last of the tour from upper left to right: Hydrangea Garden, part of the Woodland Garden, small Foundation Garden and the Rose Garden.  (Look there’s Mooch the cat sneaking into the photo).  🙂

34 responses to this post.

  1. I just love the long shots of your gardens. They look most mature and colorful and hopefully their color will hold off fall for a while.

    Reply

  2. Racquel, I would like to echo Tina, the long shots actually help give me an idea of how your garden is laid out. I am always interested in the design, sometimes even more than the plants. (hard to believe).

    Reply

  3. I just love your gardens.

    Reply

  4. I like seeing the “big picture” of your different gardens, too. It must be such a joy to take daily strolls through your gardens.

    Cameron

    Reply

  5. Hi Racquel, I love all the bird baths you have scattered thru your gardens…plus a little pond. I’ll bet the birds enjoy your place.

    Beautiful photos and such a charming little garden house.
    Marnie

    Reply

  6. It is looking nice and full and lush! I like the hardscapes you have incorporated into the garden. Nice structure.

    Reply

  7. It looks great! Nice framing on your collages.

    Reply

  8. Nice! I love the sunlight in September, and the cooler temps, too.

    Reply

  9. P.S. Thanks for not having word verification–it makes it so much easier to comment!

    Reply

  10. Beautiful views and your presentation is always so specially done!
    About your question regarding those snails…no I didn’t remove them because the vine has not fared well and the blooms were not followed by fruit…

    Reply

  11. Everything looks so green and lush Racquel! Wish I could take a cup of morning coffee and stroll through your garden!
    Have a great weekend!

    Reply

  12. Hi Racquel, Aren’t we fortunate that our late frosts mean our gardens will keep pushing out blooms. I do like the way you’ve framed your photos…very nice seasonal touch! gail

    Reply

  13. All looks wonderful. Love the water falls/pond.

    Reply

  14. Your gardens are just beautiful. It is evident that you take loving care of them. I enjoyed reading your post.

    Reply

  15. Thanks for the tour. I had taken some photos of my beds for Blooming Friday, and then she asked for wildflowers, so I didn’t use them. Maybe I’ll do a separate post on them. It looks like we both have lots of not so huge flower beds/areas we plant in.

    Reply

  16. I just wanted to say how much I like how you have framed your pictures. Have a great day!

    Reply

  17. I like the long shots, too, Racquel. I often hesitate posting some of mine because I always see some weeds or something else that shouldn’t be in the picture:) But it really does give you a sense of what a garden really looks like. Of course, my eye was drawn to that “Limelight”–can’t wait till mine gets that big!

    Reply

  18. Posted by mothernaturesgarden on September 26, 2009 at 11:10 am

    I love your presentation, Racquel.

    Reply

  19. Makes me want to wander through the garden. What is blooming purple in your shed garden. Lavender or Salvia? Your Knockout roses look like they are beautiful still. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  20. Nice tour…still a lot going on. It must be great to have some things continue right into winter. The garden bed shots are always good.

    Reply

  21. I love the way you did the photos. What a great tour!

    Reply

  22. Hi Racquel: Just stopped by to check out your blog. Looks good, nice job.

    Have a great Day,
    John

    Reply

  23. Belated happy birthday, Racquel. I was away, missed your post. You’ve got the best gift from your family.

    Reply

  24. Hi Racquel. Your garden is looking so pretty. Lucky you that it won’t frost for a while so you’ll be able to continue to enjoy it. We’re predicted to get our first frost Friday morning! As always I’m not ready.

    Reply

  25. What a spectacular display! You have so many lovely gardens. I had to put my garden to sleep because we are having unusually cool and freezing weather that slowly has been killing off my flowers. Sniff. At least I will be able to get my fill by seeing so many of your wonderful gardens.

    Reply

  26. Is anybody in there? I’m thinking of you this morning and pray all is well.

    Reply

  27. Hi Racquel…Just stopping by! gail

    Reply

  28. I am a longtime online friend of your mom’s. I have been following your blog since you started it, I think. You have done a really nice job with it. I have added you to my favorites.

    Reply

  29. Checking in to see if you and family are okay. Getting very concerned.

    Cameron

    Reply

  30. I like your presentation.

    Reply

  31. Hey there Racquel! You’ve been missing for a while…I hope you are ok, and everyone else in your family is too. I don’t remember not seeing a post of yours for this long before, so I just wanted to say I’m thinking of you and hope all is well. Take care, Jan

    Reply

  32. Racquel, where are you? You are being missed out here! Hope all is well!

    Reply

  33. Hi Racquel,
    Checking in to say hello along with the others… hoping all is well. Look forward to hearing from you again.
    Meems @ Hoe and Shovel

    Reply

  34. Posted by Racquel on October 17, 2009 at 3:19 pm

    Hi everyone, thanks for stopping by and your nice comments. Sorry I’ve been AWOL for so long. It’s been one of those months with the weather changing that I’ve been a bit under the weather. Hope to get back up to speed soon and blogging. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

