Japanese Golden Sedum

Sedum 'Ogon'

Sedum 'Ogon'

My newest plant in the garden this fall is the Sedum makino ‘Ogon’.  This Japanese cultivar name means “Golden”.  I picked up 3 small pots of it at Home Depot the other day while looking for some fall Pansies.  All three are currently planted in full sun as the tag suggested.  However after some research I might move them to an area that gets some afternoon shade.  Supposibly the color holds up better with some shade during the hottest part of the day.  I hope so because this Chartreuse shade is my favorite color of the moment.  It’s suppose to be a great little groundcover which will help fill in some blank areas at the front of the borders.  Here’s some info on this cute little sedum:

  • Full Sun – Part Sun
  • 6″ high by 12″ wide
  • Hardy in zones 6b-11
  • pale yellow blooms in summer
  • evergreen foliage
  • drought/heat tolerant
  • propogate by stem cuttings or division
  • deer resistant
11 responses to this post.

  1. Hi Racquel…

    Lovely lime-green color. Thanks for sharing…wouldn’t it look wonderful if I team them up with flowers?
    I’m going to look for it here.

    http://theurbanbalcony.blogspot.com/

    It would be great with something bright & colorful like a hot pink bloom. 🙂

    Reply

  2. I like that bright green color too Racquel! Sedum is such a great plant. I have a couple of them and never do anything to them. The only watering they get is when it rains and they do great!

    Me too, it’s my latest favorite color for the garden. 🙂 They really are troupers in the garden especially when it’s hot & dry.

    Reply

  3. HOORAY! My zone is in there!!!!!!

    Hooray indeed! Glad I could introduce you to something cool for your garden Darla. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Love the golden foliage. Contrasty plants look great even when not in bloom. That one also has the cutest little leaves going for it.
    Marnie

    Thanks Marnie, I do too. 🙂 I think this will look great with the purple blooms nearby. I do love the delicate foliage on this variety, even without blooms it looks great.

    Reply

  5. I DO like Ogon! Great in containers as well as for a groundcover.

    I’ll have to give it a try in containers next summer, sounds great! Thanks Janet. 🙂

    Reply

  6. I have that somewhere! I think the jenny may have creeped over it! Ogon is such a pretty yellow (instead of gold) ground cover.

    Cameron

    Oh that creeping Jenny will surely block out it out for sure. Hope you go & rescue it! 😉

    Reply

  7. I love chartreuse too! Anything with ‘Ogon’ in its name should be a pretty color. I hope it spreads and fills in nicely for you.

    Thanks Tina. I hope so too! 🙂

    Reply

  8. It’s a good color and look~How come every one else has a much better big box store near them!? gail

    Thanks Gail and that’s a good question. In the past year or so I’ve been very lucky to find some great plants at mine. 😉

    Reply

  9. A bright lime green is always welcome in my garden—I’ve had this one but it didn’t follow me to the new home. I’ll have to fix that.

    Here too Anna, it’s my latest favorite foliage color. 🙂 Glad I could remind you to add this to the garden again.

    Reply

  10. That is a gorgeous sedum Racquel !
    I would love to have that in my garden too .. I wonder if any thing is left in our garden centers .. I have to go hunting again : )
    Joy

    Thanks Joy, I knew you would love this color. Yep you should go check, you never know what goodies you might come across at this time of the year. 😉

    Reply

  11. This will be a great color in your garden, Racquel! I used to think all sedums looked like “Autum Joy”:) Then I discovered there was a whole other world of them out there. I’ve been avoiding the garden centers this fall, but I feel a shopping trip coming on:)

    Thanks Rose, I’m loving the color combined with the purple blooms in the New Garden bed at the moment. 🙂 I’ve just recently in the past year have gone beyond the traditional ‘Autumn Joy’ stonecrop and explored other varieties myself. Have fun shopping and don’t forget to show us your treasures, lol!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

