A Shed Makeover

Before Makeover 9-1-09

Before Makeover 9-1-09

It’s amazing how much you can accomplish in just a few short hours.  As you can see in the photo above,  my garden shed (a prebuilt job from Lowe’s) is a big ugly white box.  The shameful part is how plain vanilla it’s looked for the past 5 years.  Last year I talked about painting it, but never got around to it.  This year after seeing how tired and worn it was looking I decided I had procrastinated long enough.  Yep I almost didn’t get a before shot since hubby already was testing the new color out on the front left side.  🙂 

After Makeover 9-2-09

After Makeover 9-1-09

 Later on that day and my vision is revealed.  The faux terra cotta planters and trellis really pop against this creamy beige (which matches the siding on my house).  Now the garden has an neutral background which is as equally charming as the flowers and plants.   See the empty pots, don’t worry they won’t stay empty long.  Today I’m planning a trip to Lowe’s to look for something to add to all my containers for fall.  I’m thinking I might make these edible selections with some loose leaf lettuce and maybe a Pansy or two for color.  Yes, Spaz ended up in this shot as well, she’s convinced there is something under the shed.  Hopefully she’s wrong this time.  We put the concrete edging and board near the bottom to keep rabbits and such from burrowing under it.  🙂

25 responses to this post.

  1. Wow, that really warmed it up….it looks great!

    Thank you Connie. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Very pretty Racquel, I love the design of your shed, it’s like a small barn.

    Tyra

    Thanks Tyra, that seems to be a common design for sheds around here. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Great makeover. Everything about your garden is so neat…and pretty!

    Thanks Kanak, don’t look too close you’ll see the weeds. lol 🙂

    Reply

  4. How adorable that turned out!!! I’m ready for fall plantings myself!!!

    Why thank you Darla! 🙂 Hint…that’s what I was busy doing today.

    Reply

  5. Racquel girl .. I am going through reno horrors over here with the upstairs toilet that the flooring guy didn’t get on right .. will the madness ever end ? jeez !
    WOW !! I love seeing a shed make over .. and I love planting things around the shed to make it look like it has been there a long time .. I am going to put little window boxes up for next year and have plantings that hang down nicely.
    That is a great colour which keeps it so neutral… hey I don’t blame Spaz for really inspecting the bottom of the shed .. you just never know what can find a home under there no matter how careful we are ? 😉

    You’ve had a horrific day Joy, hope they work out the problems soon. Sounds like you have some great ideas for blending your playhouse in with the garden nicely. I’m loving this color, it works great with the garden & the house. lol, Spaz is a crazy dog, she keeps things interesting! 🙂

    Reply

  6. It looks great Racquel. Almost like a little cottage. I’ll be anxious to see what flowers you find at Lowes. Something tall would be nice with pansies hanging over the sides. Have fun searching shopping!

    Thanks Linda, that’s exactly the look I was going for with this makeover! 🙂 Don’t worry you won’t have to wait too long to see what I picked up today.

    Reply

  7. Nice job! It already had loads of character, from the barn roof to the doors, but the paint just smartens it up a bit. My big ugly white box (garage) has needed painting since we bought the place, but has fallen way down the priority list. Of course, finding a colour that will work with a Holiday Green metal roof is the first step.
    Deborah

    Thanks Deborah. I’m couldn’t get over how great it looked after a nice new paint job. I would go for a neutral tone for your garage to tone down the roof color. 🙂

    Reply

  8. That’s a really nice makeover, Racquel. I’ve been hoping to do a makeover for my balcony garden too…

    http://www.theurbanbalcony.blogspot.com/

    Thanks! Can’t wait to see what ideas you have for the makeover on your balcony garden. 🙂

    Reply

  9. I like the new color! It really dresses up the shed nicely. I hear Lowe’s has their plants come in on Thursday mornings…. inside info? nope— many gardeners in my life will share info. haha
    Give Spaz a pat on the head for me.

    Thanks Janet, I’m very pleased with the color I picked. It is pretty close to the house color too. I didn’t see any new stuff today, but I found some great things anyhow. I’ll have to keep that in mind, maybe they didn’t have they unloaded yet…lol I’ll give Spaz your love! 🙂

    Reply

  10. Amazing what a little paint can do. It looks great Racquel. Hope you find some great plants at Lowes.

    Isn’t it the truth? Such an economical way to spruce things up too. Thanks Susie. Oh I found some great things today…stay tuned! 🙂

    Reply

  11. Very nice! Some dark purple shrubs would look great in front of the new shed color.

    That’s a great idea for the future Dave. Hubby plans on making a ramp for the entrance someday soon then I can blend the garden over here too. 🙂

    Reply

  12. Looks good, Racquel! The color really does provide a neutral background, and I’ve always like the pots and trellis on the shed. I’ve commented on your meme from yesterday.

    Thanks Rose! I’m pleased with how nice the accents pop against this creamy color. I saw your comment to yesterdays post & replied. 🙂

    Reply

  13. It looked pretty good before, but it’s amazing what a difference a bit of color contrast makes!

    Really? I didn’t realize how worn & tired it looked until we painted it. Thanks Monica! 🙂

    Reply

  14. What a difference the new paint job makes! It looks great!

    It really make a big difference didn’t it? Thanks Robin! 🙂

    Reply

  15. I was going to say we hadn’t seen Spaz in a long time. The shed color is wonderful. Nice and warm and much better than white. Great job!

    I’ll be sure to remedy that for you guys & gals. 🙂 She’s always willing to squeeze into any shot, lol. Thanks Tina, I’m very happy with my color choice.

    Reply

  16. Hi Racquel, I’m glad you reminded me. I wanted to plant some more lettuce too. I think I’ll look for some of that pretty kale this fall. I’ve never tried it. And it’s almost time for a pumpkin;)
    Marnie

    Glad I could be a gentle reminder Marnie. 🙂 I saw some gorgeous Kale plants at Lowe’s today too.

    Reply

  17. Posted by mothernaturesgarden on September 3, 2009 at 11:01 am

    Great job! I love your color selection.

    Thanks Donna, I’m very happy with my choice too. 🙂

    Reply

  18. Hi Racquel, I wandered into your blog from elsewhere (but I’m not quite sure where as I’ve lost track!). It was certainly a happy accident as I’ve really enjoyed reading your posts.

    Your newly painted shed looks lovely and contrasts really well with the pots and plants. Good choice!

    Thanks for a lovely blog read! 🙂

    However you found me sounds like a happy accident indeed. 🙂 Glad you enjoyed my blog and my post today. Come back anytime!

    Reply

  19. I like how the white trim pops against the warm color of the siding.

    Me too Karen! Thanks for stopping by today. 🙂

    Reply

  20. I love it! Isn’t it .wonderful that a few cans of paint can such a dramatic difference! What did you get a Lowes! gail

    Thanks Gail, I think me & hubby did a good job. I’m very pleased with the results. 🙂 Stay tuned for what I got at Lowe’s…..;)

    Reply

  21. Oh Racquel, the difference is like night and day! Great color choice. It looks so attractive now.
    PS I haven’t been blog hopping for a while, I saw your comment on my blog that you left me a meme, I’ll have to go back and find it in your posts. Thank you for thinking of me, whatever it is. Have a wonderful Labor Day weekend.

    Thanks Kathleen, I’m very pleased with the results we got too! That’s okay I was not too active in the blogging world last month. With the cooler temps I’m feeling more motivated to get back into the garden and the blogasphere. 🙂 You are quite welcome, it’s the post right before this one, have fun with it!

    Reply

  22. Very nice shed you have there.

    Was it a seld build?

    Thanks! 🙂

    Reply

  23. Sorry for the spelling mistake.

    Was it a self build?

    lol, that’s okay. Actually it was prebuilt one from our local big box store. 🙂

    Reply

  24. The trellis workd really well against the vanilla paint on the shed.

    I think thats a day well spent

    Thanks Steve, me too. 🙂

    Reply

  25. Yeah the last thing you want is a skunk making a home under your shed.

    You know what you should do is make some hypertufa pots to go around your shed. They would look great! Takes a little bit of work to do but plants love them. Just a thought.

    Sincerely,

    Jamie Boyle
    Hypertufa Gardening

    Learn How To Make Hypertufa and Enjoy Gardening This Summer

    Reply

Leave a Reply

