Morning Light

Skullcap HyssopThe morning light gently illuminates the lavender snapdragon like blooms of  Scutellaria incana (commonly called Hyssop Skullcap).   I’ve left this pretty native perennial to reseed happily in the garden. Said the Spider to the

Spiders are always welcome predators to the garden.  The dew helps makes these delicate strands visible in the early morning. Looks like his meal is already prepared for the day ahead. 

Limelight Aug 09

The light is just starting to shine on the tips of these giant ‘Limelight’ Hydrangea blossoms.  Hence the name I guess with this greenish glow. 

The time just before dawn contains the most energy of all hours of the day.  This has helped me become an early riser and an early doer…. When I wake to see that it’s light out already, I feel like the world has started without me.  ~Adabella Radici

16 responses to this post.

  1. Racquel girl !
    I love the quote because that is how I feel about the morning sunrise too : )
    I was up and out on the deck (in full NEON nightwear too .. LOL) taking pictures of some amazing clouds drifting towards the sunrise .. it was cool .. quiet .. and profound on many levels .. I love those moments !
    I have to go around the garden with a notebook to make sure next year I really “GET ” the changes I have to make from this year’s experience .. every other year I think I will remember .. now how silly is that I ask you ? LOL
    Great pictures in morning glory ? 😉
    Joy

    Isn’t this the best quote, I knew you could relate to the author’s description if anyone could. 😉 I’m sure your neighbors love the built in entertainment with you running around with your camera in your pjs. lol I’ve been making notes on changes in my head, now I just need to get them down on paper before I forget. The best thing about gardening is there is always the promise of a better season ahead. 🙂

    Reply

  2. What a sweet little blue native! I would let it come back and reseed too. Friday night it was raining when we came home so we went in through the garage….I walked through a big spider web. I felt like I was pulling silk threads off for a long time! Those spiders are busy!

    As long as it doesn’t make a thug of itself, but the seedlings are easy to remove so no big deal. We’ve had a few showers here, but nothing substancial. Guess the storm is long gone by now. Thank goodness huh? Eww…that is a creepy feeling when you walk through a web, must of been a big one!

    Reply

  3. Limelight is looking great! I’ve become real fond of it this year.

    Thanks Tina, it’s always at the top of my list. 😉

    Reply

  4. A lovely quote Racquel, and some serene images to match.
    K

    Thanks Karen. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Your quote truly explains why I am a morning person. There is something so peaceful and serene that time of day.

    That’s how I feel about the early morning hours too Linda. I love sitting outside with a cup of coffee while everyone else is asleep. So peaceful. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Lovely photos! I can’t believe how many photos that I’ve taken lately, only to see that there are spider webs attached when I see the enlarged photos after uploading! LOL

    I also love the quote. The morning light is changing right now. Softer.

    Cameron

    Thanks Cameron. I was very pleased to capture this web on camera. It’s not always this easy. This is my favorite time of the year, today it was cool & rainy. Nice way to end August. 🙂

    Reply

  7. I have that sweet little skullcap~~it’s so cute! I am not sure how folks can sleep through those beautiful early hours~~but then i am a morning person. We should all Skype and have coffee some morning! gail

    It is a nice little native isn’t it? You’ll have to share some with Frances. 🙂 I’m a morning person too, I love sneaking outside while my family is sound asleep to enjoy the beginning of a new day. Wouldn’t that be fun, pick a day! 🙂

    Reply

  8. Morning light is the most beautiful, thanks for showing us yours. Scullcap will reseed? I must look into that! I wondered what those blobs were in the spiderwebs, a picnic lunch! 🙂
    Frances

    It really is a lovely time of the day especially with the dew on the grass and light so soft. Looks like your pal Gail has some of this pretty native, maybe she’ll share some with you. 🙂 lol, yep the ugly side of nature was captured in this shot too. 😉

    Reply

  9. I love the subtle morning light. And isn’t Scutellaria a wonderful genus? So much variety!

    It really is a great time of the day & this has become one of my favorite plants. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Hi Racquel, I love your hydrangea. I’ve wanted one but never get around to preparing a spot and then buying the plant. Maybe next year or even this fall if I find a good bargain.
    Marnie

    This fall would be an ideal time to plant one Marnie. Luckily for you they are easy to find now, even in the big box stores. When I bought mine several years ago all you could do was mailorder. 🙂

    Reply

  11. Since my limelight didn’t perform this year do you think next year it will show off? Yours is so lovely.

    I sure hope so Susie, I sent you a comment about this on your blog. Thanks! 🙂

    Reply

  12. Limelight is a lovely colour. Spiders have appeared everywhere over here – inside and out. Webs are across every path. I think they are trying to catch as much prey as possible to fatten up for the winter!

    Thanks EG, it’s my plant of the moment. 🙂 They really are nature’s perfect predator, eating all those bad bugs that chew on our plants.

    Reply

  13. Beautiful photos, Racquel! I love it when I manage to get up early and can enjoy the sunrise; unfortunately, I seem to be a slugabed lately:) Missed your last post–your veggies are looking great, but I am most impressed by that tidy freezer!

    With all the traveling you’ve been doing lately I imagine you have jetlag huh? 🙂 Thanks Rose, I love a tidy freezer, I’m a bit OCD on somethings, lol.

    Reply

  14. I loved the picture of the spidery web! They are always welcome in my garden, too. I found one HUGE spider on my porch. The kids wanted to kill it and I guarded the spider with my life and flicked it back into the garden. I hope the spider appreciated it 🙂

    Thanks Miss Daisy. 🙂 Good for you for saving the poor creature’s life. I’m sure he will appreciate the extra time you bought him to scurry through your garden.

    Reply

  15. Beautiful post, Racquel. Love the quote and the shots. The Hydrangea is spectacular! And the greenish tinge makes it look all the more magical.

    Thanks Kanak. I’m glad you enjoyed the quote. It really spoke to me. That’s exactly how I feel about this time of the morning. Isn’t Limelight gorgeous, it’s my plant of the moment. 🙂

    Reply

  16. I just love Hydrangea , i wish i could grow it somehow in my climate. And the quote is really inspiring.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

