Veggie Garden Update

Fresh Produce 1This is what I harvested yesterday in the garden.  While the tomatoes are starting to wind down now, the bell peppers are still going strong.  The plants are full of promise with all the babies forming.  The ‘Kentucky Wonder’ Pole Beans are past their peak, while these purple podded ones just keep producing.  The taste is a bit different, the KW have an almost sweeter taste while these are a bit tart. The Yellow Straightneck Squash has been very prolific this year to the point I’m giving it away, lol.  It’s better to have too much vs. too little.  🙂 

Fresh Produce 2

Here’s what I’ve managed to put away in the freezer for this winter.   The tomatoes (especially the Romas) have been a great crop and I plan on lots of yummy homemade sauce.  I’ve stashed a few Jalapenos, and there is still more to pick.  But I’ve also given 2 gal size storage bags away to my hubby’s coworkers.  Next year I will plant less of these and add a couple other types of peppers instead.   Such as some Sweet Banana Peppers etc..  How has your veggie garden been doing this summer?

9 responses to this post.

  1. Mmmm, yummy! What time’s dinner? (Seriously.)

    Oh around 6 pm, lol! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Very good!! We are getting ready to start a fall garden, hope it does better than our summer garden did!

    Thanks Darla, I plan on starting my fall garden soon too. Good luck! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Yum! Your freezer is so nice and organized!

    Thanks Tina I am a bit OCD when it comes to that stuff, lol. 😉

    Reply

  4. you are one smart girl, freezing all your goodies for later. love what you were able to harvest…it all looks so healthy and good tasting….enjoy.

    Thanks Marmee, it feels so good to harvest from my own yard. 🙂

    Reply

  5. That is a very nice harvest. I’ve been busy saucing up my tomatoes. Now my counter looks so empty.

    Thanks Daphne. I’ve enjoyed picking and doing something with all the wonderful veggies. My counter goes from full to bare several times a week. 🙂

    Reply

  6. That’s amazing! Good for you!

    Thanks Janet, I’m pleased with my first little veggie garden. 🙂

    Reply

  7. I didn’t get as much frozen this year, but still hope to get some done. I love your photos! My yellow summer squash has done well this year, too, but the zucchini planted the same day, nearby, is just starting to produce.

    Thanks Sue. I was very happy with the tomatoes this year. My Squash did well too, and next year I hope to plant some zucchini as well. 🙂

    Reply

  8. looking delicious. congrats on having such a pretty veggie garden.

    Why thank you Muhammad. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Colorful harvest ya got there, Racquel! I picked some green tomatoes too and it’s ripening well on my window sill. Isn’ t it wonderful we can enjoy homegrown in the dead of winter?

    Thanks Lynn. I love the idea of enjoying the ‘fruits of my labor’ this winter. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

