August Blooms

(From upper L-R across & down: Solidago 'Fireworks', Lantana 'Miss Huff', Rubeckia 'Goldsturm' and a bi-color Zinnia)

(From upper L-R across & down: Solidago 'Fireworks', Lantana 'Miss Huff', Rubeckia 'Goldsturm' and a bi-color Zinnia)

 I couldn’t imagine the garden in August without these fabulous shades of yellow, orange & red.  Miss Huff is has been a great performer in her second season.  She has attracted butterflies, bees and hummingbirds with those vibrant blooms.  We have a few Zinnias blooming right now but the star of the show is this bi-color beauty. 

(from upper L-R across & down: Agastache 'Tutti Fruitti', Sedum 'Autumn Joy', Phlox 'Robert Poore', Lirope 'Variegata' and Chelone 'Hot Lips')

(from upper L-R across & down: Agastache 'Tutti Fruitti', Sedum 'Autumn Joy', Phlox 'Robert Poore', Lirope 'Variegata' and Chelone 'Hot Lips')

Hot pinks and shades of purple are popping right now throughout the garden.  ‘Tutti Fruitti’ was a new selection of Hyssop I planted this summer.  It is a giant selection topping out at 4-6′ in height.  I’ve noticed some hummers buzzing around it since it started blooming last week.   I love the blooms on my variegated Lirope and the behaved clumping habit is a great asset too.

(From upper L-R across & down: Sweet Autumn Clematis, Obedient Plant and Hosta 'Royal Standard')

(From upper L-R across & down: Sweet Autumn Clematis, Obedient Plant and Hosta 'Royal Standard')

For sweet scents in the garden you can’t beat Sweet Autumn Clematis.  The large white blooms on the Hosta ‘Royal Standard’ have a fabulous fragrance as well.  I’ve considered cutting all the long stems to bring indoors.  The Obedient Plant is starting to fade but the bees are getting every bit of pollen & nectar they can before they do. Considering how some things are starting to wind down in the garden there is still quite alot that is just starting to shine in the garden too.

25 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by nancybond on August 21, 2009 at 9:25 am

    Gorgeous blooms for August, or any other month. 🙂

    Thank you Nancy. 🙂

    Reply

  2. You still have lots of beautiful blooms Racquel. Wish I did. I really have been disappointed in my garden this year. At least I have gotten to enjoy yours.

    Thanks Susie. Sorry to hear about your garden this season, it’s been a strange summer that’s for sure. Hope you have better luck next year. 🙂

    Reply

  3. It look as if you did not have to hunt for your Aug. blooms. For my bloom day post, I really had to work to make things look bountiful.

    Guess I’ve been lucky this summer. All that rain we’ve gotten has really helped keep things looking lush instead of the typical tired & dried out look during this month.

    Reply

  4. Great photos. I’ve been looking at the chelone on different blog sites. I’ve never grown in but might try next spring. It’s so pretty. I agree about the autumn clematis. It has a wonderful scent, kind of reminds me of vanilla. Mine haven’t started blooming yet but I look forward to it every year. Hope you have a nice weekend.
    Marnie

    Thanks Marnie. I was fortunate to find the Chelone at Lowe’s last fall. There is also a white variety as well. That’s what it reminds me of too (SAC smelling like vanilla). Such a pleasant scent on a breezy morning. 🙂 Hope you have a nice weekend too!

    Reply

  5. Your Obedient plant looks so healthy and happy! Most pretty in the white color. I love the hosta blooms too. The fragrance is great. I say cut them and bring them in to enjoy. I hope my Miss Huff overwinters-it is stellar here too.

    Thanks Tina, but it’s actually a very pale pink shade. I would love the white ‘Miss Manners’ cultivar though. Supposibly it isn’t invasive like the pink ones. Miss Huff overwintered for me this past year and I was thrilled. Hope yours does the same. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Looks great Racquel!

    Thanks Janet. I meant to give you a call today, but got distracted with errands. I’ll check in with you this weekend. 🙂

    Reply

  7. what wonderfully beautiful flowers…mine are mostly looking tired and hot! Kim

    Typically by this in August mine would be too Kim (and a few are don’t get me wrong). But this year we’ve had an unusually wet summer. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Your garden is still looking great. I have few things blooming. The hostaa. Rebeckia and lirope are still giving me a little color. My mum look like they will pop soon though. Thanks for sharing your garden.

    Thanks Stella. I look forward to the fall season when there will be new things to anticipate and plan for next year. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Great format for the pictures Racquel !
    I keep thinking .. “I must try that out …” and keep forgetting to try it out ? haha
    I’m thankful for Autumn coming SOON !!
    Joy 😉

    Thanks Joy. I love this program, it’s so much fun to play around with all the different combinations. I know you’re looking forward to your favorite fall holiday, huh? 😉

    Reply

  10. Your Obedient Plant is Blooming! Mine’s dying. I think it is stem rot from all the rain. It won’t bloom here until fall. Your displays are grand. Like Joy, I meant to try that.

    Mine is planted in a container so it doesn’t take over the garden. I think that helps with keeping it from getting water bogged. Mine normally blooms in July but it was a bit late this year. Thanks Nell. This program is alot of fun to play around with. 🙂

    Reply

  11. There’s no echo in here. I got a message that my message failed and that I was to type a message in this box. Then they both showed up. Go figure. I have to go look at my Royal Standard Hosta. It may have bloomed and I didn’t notice.

    That’s okay Nell, it happens to be frequently. 🙂

    Reply

  12. Beautiful blooms(-: Not much going on here. A few random blooms here and there and that is about it. Its to hot here still)-:

    Thanks Cindee, I think all the generous rain we’ve had this summer has helped. Normally by this time of the year my garden is way past tired and looking a bit worn. 🙂

    Reply

  13. LOVELY!!!
    I cant be withoute my hemerocallis in August… the are the best!
    Linda

    Thanks Linda. Unfortunately by August my Hemerocallis other than a few random blooms from ‘Stella’ are long gone. 😦

    Reply

  14. Ohhh, not only do I love you blooms, I love the way you posted the photos!!!
    H.

    Thanks Helen, I’m glad you enjoyed my collages of blooms. 🙂

    Reply

  15. Lovely shots and a lovely blog!

    I’m glad you enjoyed them Charlotte. Thanks for stopping by and for your nice comments! 🙂

    Reply

  16. Okay, my ‘Tutti Frutti’ doesn’t look like that! August is such a hard month for me…so much dead-heading and cleanup from ealier bloomers and if I don’t stay ahead…it’s a jungle…as the case right now! Love your white blooms, Racquel..\\makes me feel ‘cool’.
    Have a great sunday!
    Lynn

    I know what you mean Lynn. I’ve been trying to get out there daily and take care of these tasks. Thanks Lynn. 🙂

    Reply

  17. I love how you grouped your photos/flowers in colors Racquel. They make such an impact featured that way. You do have a lot going on in your garden still. ‘Tutti Fruitti’ is one of my favorites too. It’s good to get your update too. All the best…

    Thanks Kathleen, I’m glad you enjoyed the presentation as well as the blooms. I’ve had a great summer this year, plenty of precipitation. I’m loving Tutti Fruitti so far, it was a great bargain that I picked up in late June at Lowes. 🙂

    Reply

  18. I have been thinking of you and pray all is well…..beautiful August color. My liriope has bloomed it’s best this year!

    Thanks Darla for keeping me in your thoughts and prayers. I appreciate it alot. Mine is doing well too, I love the almost irridescent blooms of this variegated type. 🙂

    Reply

  19. Pleasure..coming to see your garden awash with blooms. August is a lean month here:) The zinnias are pretty and your pink/lavender blooms look great!

    I’m glad I could brighten your day with my August blooms. Normally by this time of the year my garden is looking more tired & spent too. But we’ve been blessed with a mild summer with lots of lovely rain. 🙂

    Reply

  20. I found your post through tag surfer at WordPress.
    Wow! What great photo’s. I love, love Sweet Autumn Clematis. I have planted it in every garden that I have had. It just fills the air with that haunting fragrance.

    Well I’m glad you found me & stopped by for a visit. I love the fragrance too, it’s such a sweet vanilla scent. 🙂

    Reply

  21. Yep, it’s getting nigh on fall. Love the white obedient plant; mine’s lilac.

    Thank goodness for that Monica, I’m sick of the heat already. Next thing you know I’ll be complaining about the cold, lol 😉 Thanks but actually it’s a very pale pink shade. Looks almost white doesn’t it? 🙂

    Reply

  22. It all looks wonderful…very delightful for August…My obedient plant isn’t blooming yet…I wonder if the white blooms earlier? gail

    Thanks Gail, actually it’s a pale pink shade but very close to being white. It always blooms this early though. Now it’s long gone. 😦

    Reply

  23. You certainly have lots of beautiful blooms for late August, Racquel! I really am going to have to look for some of that agastache next year. That was one plant I had intended to plant this year, but never did. After being away from home for a week, my garden is looking pretty tired and neglected. Thank goodness, we had lots of rain this past week or everything would have been dead by the time I got home:)

    Glad to see you back posting; I was worried about you, too, but I know that sometimes life can get too stressful and family does come first. Hoping all is well with you.

    I’m glad that Mother Nature stepped in for you while you were gone Rose. You won’t be sorry about adding some Agastache, I’ve become quite addicted to this cultivar and have several varieties now. 🙂

    Thanks I missed all of you while I was gone and I’m still not able to post regularly but at least sometimes.

    Reply

  24. Beautiful job of pulling these photos together. I like the “mosaic” look. You’ve got some great flowers blooming right now…even in this hot month! Lovely garden Racquel.

    Thanks Miss Daisy. I’m glad you enjoyed my mosaic of blooms. 🙂

    Reply

  25. Hi Racquel! Lovely pictures, the hosta plant looks really nice…

    http://theurbanbalcony.blogspot.com/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

