It wouldn’t be summer without…

Crepe Myrtle2

Crepe Myrtle

The big cotton candy clouds of Crepe Myrtle blooms.  My city at this time of the year had glorious displays in colors ranging from deep reds, lavender, white and the hot pink such as mine.  Everywhere you look from street corners to private yards you’ll find these wonderful ornamental trees.  And as they mature you can enjoy their mottled trunks that are smooth after their bark exfoliates.  This gives some winter interest after the foliage & blooms are long gone.  Unfortunately I only have one of these beauties in my own garden, but I hope to add more in the future.  Come fall the leaves will turn into brilliant shades of crimson, yellow and orange.  So really it’s a tree for all seasons.  🙂  

25 responses to this post.

  1. Sure wish we could grow crepe myrtle here, Racquel. Thanks for sharing the great recipe … a favorite of mine (My home town was the site of the National Pickle Festival) .

    Reply

  2. Hi Racquel, I find it interesting how much farther along your plants are than mine. Mid to late August is when my Crape Myrtles strut their stuff. I’ve got two plants, a medium sizedl shrub and a small tree. You’re so right about the peeling bark and the fall colors. Given that the flowering period is relatively short, [here anyway] I like the fact that the plants have other visual attributes. I can imagine how beautiful your surroundings look right now.

    Reply

  3. I love the Crape Myrtles! My deep red one, Dynomite is just now starting to open. It is always later than the others.

    Reply

  4. I agree Racquel–it wouldn’t be summer without these beauties!

    Reply

  5. I don’t have this one Rcquel … and before I got down the rest of the picture … I thought for a moment you had Joe Pye blooming there girl ! .. These are very pretty indeed : )

    Reply

  6. You are so right. They are beautiful! And I think your city has the prettiest I’ve seen.

    Reply

  7. LOVELY! They really brighten up the middle of summer, don’t they?

    My crepes are slow to bloom this year. Last year this time, they had bowling ball size blooms. Grumpy was here last Thursday and was disappointed that my crepe blooms were so sparse.

    Have a nice day!
    Cameron

    Reply

  8. Racquel you are so right! Summer would not be the same with out them.

    Reply

  9. I noticed on this morning’s walk that crape myrtle is in bloom…lots of watermelon pink . There are some exciting new cultivars being offered. gail

    Reply

  10. You should have some volunteers coming up around the main tree, scoop them up and viola! more trees. Mine are just about finished blooming. Our town is smothered in these too.

    Reply

  11. Around here you see this tree everywhere too! I had dug up 4 from my mother-in-laws home and 2 lived. They are too young to bloom this year so it will be interesting to see what color they will be next year.

    Reply

  12. LOL, it’s actually summer here each year without them, but I know what you mean! 😉 I hadn’t seen them before, I interpret them as a cross between lilac and hydrangea!

    Reply

  13. I used to have a pair in my yard exactly the color of ripe watermelon. I miss growing them but they aren’t hardy in northern Illinois. Enjoyed seeing yours.
    Marnie

    Reply

  14. Awesome plant to have in the garden for year round delight!

    Reply

  15. Posted by greenwalks on July 21, 2009 at 11:31 am

    So lovely – I think of this tree as a Southern thing but maybe we can grow it here? I keep meaning to look that up! Hope you’re having a fun summer, sorry I haven’t been “around” too much lately!

    Reply

  16. Lovely your myrtle, Racquel! I lost Tonto from a hard winter and only have a white one now. Always make me think of Disney as they are everywhere down there 🙂

    Reply

  17. Beautiful tree. My daughter used to talk about hers in Texas. I don’t know if they would survive here.

    Reply

  18. Racquel, I have always loved visiting the south in the summer and seeing all these glorious blooms. You may have to suffer heat and humidity, but Crepe Myrtles help make up for it. 🙂

    Reply

  19. Posted by Racquel on July 22, 2009 at 9:17 am

    Thanks everyone for your responses & comments. I’ve been a bit preoccupied with family stuff and haven’t had a chance to be online at all the past day or so.

    Reply

  20. You are so right about Virginia having lots of Crepe Myrtles Racquel. I remember visiting the Norfolk area a lot in summer & they were beautiful. At least you have one, right?!! Your garden is producing some great stuff for you too. That salsa looked wonderful.

    Reply

  21. I agree Racquel, It wouldn’t be summer without them. Lovely!
    H.

    Reply

  22. Wish we could grow these beautiful trees here!

    Reply

  23. They are not hardy here which is a pity as they have beautiful flowers. Attractive bark is definitely a bonus.

    Reply

  24. It just isn’t summer without the crepemyrtles. The rain kind of beat ours up, but they are slowly putting out more flowers.

    Jan
    Always Growing

    Reply

  25. Those clusters are really beautiful! And I love the colour too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

