A cute birdhouse and new blooms

New Stuff pageI’ve added a few new things to the garden this year and its exciting to watch them grow and start blooming.   The Butterfly Weed or Asclepias tuberosa that I picked up at a Native Plant Sale this spring is starting to flower.  After two unsuccessful attempts at growing this butterfly attracting perennial last season I’m thrilled.  It seems to be a case of location, location, location again! Also blooming now is the white flowering Thunbergia alata or White-eyed Susan Vine.  Last summer I had the yellow version and so I had to order the white when I saw it in a seed catalog.  While browsing some shops earlier this week I came across this adorable watering can shaped birdhouse.  Of course it had to come home with me and is currently hanging in the large Nandina tree in the Arbor Garden.  It is such a cute bit of whimsy for the garden.  Hope everyone has a nice weekend!  🙂

17 responses to this post.

  1. That is a cute birdhouse! But now here comes the question: in which part of the garden did you put the butterfly weed compared to last season? Does it prefer a more shady or sunny spot? I’m planning on trying to find a plant next spring as now I know how important it is to never forget the flowers!

    Thanks Rowena. The area where the current plant is located is getting full sun most of the day. Last year it was getting some shade & located near the roots of a large tree. It prefers well drained soil and lots of sunshine to thrive. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Hi Racquel! I have always liked the Black-eyed Susan vine– that white one is pretty. What a cute birdhouse! Anyone take advantage of going in there? Glad to see your Butterfly Weed blooming! Great bright color.

    Hi Janet, yeah it was something new for me last season. I’m really fond of annual vines at the moment. Now I just need more trellises so I can try more things, lol. No signs of occupancy yet in the birdhouse, but I’m sure they’ll find it soon. 🙂 Thanks! I am so glad I finally got one of these to bloom too!

    Reply

  3. I covet your birdhouse!

    lol, thanks Balisha! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Posted by youngwifey on July 18, 2009 at 11:30 am

    That is a cute birdhouse. Did you make it or buy it? I wonder how hard it would be to convert an old watering can into a birdhouse.

    Thanks YW, I bought it at Tuesday Morning. They have closeout type stuff from dept stores. I think it wouldn’t be too hard to convert one into a birdhouse if just for decorative purposes alone. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Cute, cute birdhouse!!! My butterfly weed is blooming now too. If I can just keep the aphids off, the monarch caterpillars will have a feast! 🙂

    Thank you Linda, I knew you would love it too. 🙂 I haven’t seen any aphids on mine yet, but thanks for the heads-up. I will keep an eye on it.

    Reply

  6. Great plant picks for sure…..you’ll have plenty of milkweed seed now. I have the orange and red seeds when it comes time for us flower lovers to seed swap. Adorable birdhouse.

    Thanks Darla. I hope you are right, I wouldn’t mind that at all. I’ll look forward to seedswaps this fall & winter with all of you. 🙂

    Reply

  7. My garden is full of ”whimsy’ I think it ads personality to our gardens.
    I really like the watering can birdhouse.

    I agree completely Jennifer. I’m just never quite sure how much is too much? 😉 Thanks!

    Reply

  8. Nice! Every garden needs a bit [or more!] of whimsy!

    Thank you Grace. Mine was surely lacking but is starting to get there. 😉

    Reply

  9. Cute birdhouse for sure. Congrats on the butterfly weed! Now that you have it established it will get big and really reward pretty quickly.

    Thanks Tina for that great news! I hope it fills in this spot in the new garden beautifully! 🙂

    Reply

  10. that is a really cute birdhouse! So whimsical! 🙂 My milkweed is blooming now. I had to replace so many plants this year because I lost a lot over the winter during those really cold snows that we had.

    Cameron

    Thanks Cameron. 🙂 I didn’t realize that the snow could be so hard on them. I’ll have to keep that in mind for the future. Glad yours is blooming now too.

    Reply

  11. Love the birdhouse, and the white-eyed susan vine, I have never seen one 🙂

    Thanks Mom. I wasn’t familiar with the white one either until I saw it on another blog post last summer. 🙂

    Reply

  12. Love the bird house, it looks like something I may have tried to make had I found the right stuff. New plants are fascinating, aren’t they? We’ll be kicking it into high gear next year. Should be interesting!

    Thanks Cinj, I would of never thought to make a birdhouse out of a watering can. Yes I love seeing new plants bloom, it’s so exciting. 🙂

    Reply

  13. Cute!!! Whimsy in the garden makes me smile. I am always intrigued by the things people put in their gardens. Each gardener seems to have their own styyle. The white Susan is very pretty. Is it doing as well as the yellow? Glad you got the butterfly weed to grow. It took me a couple of years and several different spots before I finally got some to live. They do not like to be moved, I found out. So now I make sure they are where they need to be. Sun is very important. Mine are putting up seed cases this year-a first. Am anxious to see if any caterpillars show up this year.

    Me too, but I’m never sure if I’m going overboard with it or not. 😉 Some gardens are filled with it and it looks great. Actually the white is doing better than the yellow this year. For some reason the yellow is quite stunted, it’s just now starting to climb the trellis. Weird huh? Thanks for the heads up. I will leave this one where it is since it’s obviously happy with the spot. This bed gets full sun and that seems to be helpful as well. Can’t wait to see some caterpillar activity. Haven’t spotted any Monarchs this season which is strange with the Buddleia in full glory and all. 😦

    Reply

  14. Racquel, i’ve never seen that vine in white either! I love the salmony colored ones…I bet the two would look good together! Good find on the birdhouse, definitely whimsical 🙂 Have a great Sunday!
    Lynn

    Oh I bet the Salmony colored ones would be great with the white! Thanks Lynn, hope your weekend is going well. 🙂

    Reply

  15. Racquel I am just catching up on my reading now .. I haven’t posted in a couple of days and I have way too many pictures to comb through ? LOL
    I love that watering can bird house but I have a question .. is it metal or resin ? .. and would it be too hot for the birds if it is metal .. or is it in the shade ? .. I know birds nest in metal areas so it really is an up in the air question ? LOL
    It is so pretty though .. so I really like it !
    Joy

    I had to do that this weekend too Joy, lol. Thanks about the birdhouse, it’s metal but I have hanging in shade. I didn’t even think about the nexting thing, guess I planned that well, lol. 😉

    Reply

  16. It’s always so exciting when something new blooms. And, yes, that *is* a cute birdhouse!

    I agree Monica, it’s a nice surprise. 🙂 Thanks!

    Reply

  17. This is the first year my butterfly weeds are really blooming, too. Besides location, I think the good weather and frequent rain must have something to do with it–even the new plants I put in this year are blooming. Love the new birdhouse!

    I was wondering the same thing Rose, it’s been a better year for rainfall across the country compared to last year. Thanks! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

