In the limelight again…

Hydrangea 'Limelight'  (July 6, 2009)

Hydrangea 'Limelight' (July 6, 2009)

Last July 7th I did a post about my favorite ornamental shrub, the  Hydrangea ‘Limelight’.  You can read about it here.   Well it’s getting ready to bloom again.  Soon these buds will open into a slightly chartreuse blossom that fades to a creamy white and then a mauve in the fall.  Once it starts it will hold it’s blooms right up until frost when they become a nice tan color.  Last winter I left them on the small tree for some interest.  Then this spring I gave it a good trim by about a 1/3 along with removing some crossing branches and suckers.  It seems that it is a bit behind schedule from last year since some of the small sepal petals were already starting to open up.   However after the nice rainfall we received all day Sunday (alittle over an inch)  it should catch up quickly.  I look forward to the blooms every year and they never disappoint me.  It really is a nice focal point in the garden.  This is one Hydrangea that stands up to drought conditions and full sun.  Mine gets morning sun with maybe a couple of hours later in the day. I know I tend to gush about this fabulous plant, but it really is a great addition to the perennial bed.  You can trim it into a small tree form or leave it as a large bush.  It requires no extra watering during the heat of summer once it’s established and never gets the dreaded droops like the wimpy Mopheads.  Some of you were so impressed you added one to your garden last fall.  Hope to see and hear how your new plants are doing too.  🙂

17 responses to this post.

  1. Looks great!! My Hydrangea Pee Gee is about to bloom as well. Seems like all of a sudden the buds are huge. You are right about them being hardier when it comes to the water issues.

    Pee Gee is another one that is a wonderful cultivar. I think this rain we had over the weekend will help perk things up a bit. The sun finally came out after two days which was nice and it’s still comfortable. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Hi Racquel, how fun to compare bloom times so accurately! Just one more good thing about blogging. Your Limelight is a trooper, glad to hear some pruning has no ill effects. Those darn mopheads with the droops and winter damage of flower buds. The H. paniculata is a much better variety, IMHO.
    Frances

    Hi Frances, it was nice to have something to compare it against. This blog has been very helpful in that aspect. Actually it seems to thrive on the pruning. 🙂 Yep my Lacecap gets winter damage, luckily the mopheads die back to the ground so they are safe. I agree completely, H. paniculata is a stronger & better variety.

    Reply

  3. Looks huge! No I would say pruning did not hurt at all … looking forward to the blooms 🙂

    It did seem to get much taller this year Mom. Must be all that rain we got this spring. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Mine are getting ready to bloom too. I found another Limelight at Rural King marked down to like $2. Of course I couldn’t resist. I do like cutting mine back. It is important too. I figured me telling that rain to head your way would help a bit. Glad it did:<)

    Wow that was a real bargain Tina. I don’t think I would of been able to resist either. 😉 It really does seem to be beneficial to the shrub, the pruning. Thanks for sending me the rain, it helped alot! 😉

    Reply

  5. Unfortunately, my ‘Limelight’ is looking very sad and hopeless. It’s my third year, and it hasn’t bloomed for me once. I’m hanging in, as it’s a challenging spot with lots of root competition. Fingers crossed.

    I wish you the best of luck with your Limelight. That does sound like a challenging spot indeed. Now that I think back I don’t remember if mine bloomed the first couple of years or not. Thanks for stopping by today Helen. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Gosh – is it limelight time again?
    How quickly the year goes, it is a stunning shrub.
    K

    Yep it’s my favorite time of the year Karen. Thanks! 🙂

    Reply

  7. It looks to me like this has really grown. I love it!

    Thanks Balisha, it’s a bit bigger than last year. Everyyear it just gets better & better. 🙂

    Reply

  8. I’m glad to see yours is getting ready to bloom. Mine is no where near that. I’ll be glad when it is really good and established because this heat has really been tough on it.

    Thanks Susie, you know what they say…”The first year they sleep, the second year they creep and the third year they leap”. In time as it gets established it will be more tolerant of the heat of summer. 🙂

    Reply

  9. I remeber your post about Limelight. It is a plant worth gushing about. 🙂 After reading your post I noticed several of them in the yards around town. They are delightful all season long.

    It really is a plant worth gushing about Beckie. I love mine, it’s been a great addition for years in my garden. 🙂

    Reply

  10. It does look quite beautiful. I only have one hydrangea ~ an oakleaf ~ and I had to cut it back quite a bit this year. I’m guessing our dry winter was hard on it? That’s all I can figure. Anyway, it doesn’t have a single bloom on it yet and I’m wondering if it will this year. I’ll just come by and look at yours instead.

    Thanks Kathleen, feel free to enjoy my blooms. That’s a shame about your Oakleaf, hope it bounces back quickly from it’s haircut. 🙂

    Reply

  11. Beautiful! I planted one in March and it is so healthy. Even the first year, it withstands heat amazingly well. When will I get some of those pretty blooms?!

    Glad to hear yours is doing well so far. I’m not sure about the blooms Ginger. If not this season maybe for sure next spring. I’ve had mine for so many years now I can’t recall if it bloomed the first year or not. 😉

    Reply

  12. Thanks for sharing this info again, Racquel. I was one of those who planted a Limelight last fall. It’s looking very healthy but no sign of buds yet; I can’t wait!

    You are quite welcome Rose! I thought you had got one, glad to hear it’s looking very healthy. I hope it blooms for you soon. My Pinky Winky that I planted last fall looks great but no signs of buds yet either. Maybe they bloom their second season? I’ve had my Limelight for so many years now I can’t remember if it bloomed the first year or not. 😉

    Reply

  13. I have been looking for a hydrangea that could tolerate dry conditions. I know they are hardy in my area, I see a lot of them in commercial plantings. I will look into getting a couple of these for a semi shady spot near my house. Thanks
    Marnie

    I don’t think you will be sorry about adding these wonderful cultivars to your garden Marnie. Glad I could be helpful! 🙂

    Reply

  14. I am inspired, so I will be looking for one this year!! Can’t wait to see yours in full bloom.

    You will absolutely adore this beauty! I promise to share lots of photo when it starts blooming. 🙂

    Reply

  15. It’s beautiful! Just checked out the other “Limelight” post. I’d gush about it too~~if I could grow it here!!!

    Thank you Kanak! As you can see I am a bit partial to this plant, lol. 🙂

    Reply

  16. I got in some at work this spring that are perfect little trees, all straight trunks and nice rounded heads. I am sorely tempted to get one, then I look at the price and the little 1 gallons look better.

    I bet they are gorgeous Les, but I don’t blame you. I bought mine as a small transplant and it didn’t take too long for it to take off. 🙂

    Reply

  17. Posted by Johna994 on August 2, 2014 at 1:59 pm

    I think this is among the most significant info for me. And i am glad reading your article. But want to remark on some general things, The website style is wonderful, the articles is really great D. Good job, cheers ckackbfgbkkg

    Reply

Leave a Reply

