Shades of Lavender

Shades of Lavender pageShades of lavender have a cooling effect on the garden don’t you think?  Some of my favorites include from upper left -right: Agastache ‘Black Adder’ which is smoky and has a gray tone,  Aster ‘Bluebird’ which is blooming now even though I assumed it wouldn’t until early fall,  Ruellia humilis or Wild Petunia which makes a nice creeping groundcover in my garden and the dependable bells of Hosta.  I’ve found you need just the right light, either in the early morning or at dusk,  to capture these subtle shades of purple on camera.  Otherwise the camera almost bleaches them out to a white tone.  What are some of your favorite lavender bloomers? 

 

note: I used a blown up photo of Stella d’ora as a background shot for this collage of  blooms today.  The deep golden yellow really compliments the lavender tones as well as the green foliage.  🙂

17 responses to this post.

  1. Excellent!! I am surprised that the aster is blooming now too. You have a nice variety of Agastache. Really like the yellow background with the Stella d’oro!

    Thanks Janet. I’m wondering if I should snip off the blooms on the Aster like Dave did to keep it from blooming now. I really love Agastache, especially their unique scented foliage.

    Reply

  2. It looks like I am looking out your window! Great job…..

    I didn’t even think of that Darla. Thanks! 😉

    Reply

  3. LOL I was about to say the same thing Darla did! Lovely blooms! The host blooms were throwing me off because of the foliage under them.

    lol, I didn’t even realize how much it looked like a window until Darla mentioned it. 😉 Thanks Randy.

    Reply

  4. Beautiful blooms! Thanks for the hint on photographing purple, I tried my hosta last year….too many times!

    Thanks Dawn. You are quite welcome, I’ve done the same thing myself a million times. 😉

    Reply

  5. Hi Racquel, my bluebird is blooming now as well, what does it mean???? Is the end nigh? Your photos are lovely. My favorite lavender would have to be, the lavender. Oops, too obvious, how about the butterfly bush, Potter’s Purple.
    Frances

    Oh I hope not Frances, even though I’m starting to long for the cooler temps of fall. Thank you, I’m glad you enjoyed the photos today. Lavender would be a great choice, lol, along with Potter’s Purple Buddleia. 😉

    Reply

  6. Purple colors are my favorite shades in the garden. You’re right that it does have a cooling effect. I’m not sure I have a bed without purple colors. Our asters are trying to bloom right now. I trimmed off the heads to hold them off for a couple more weeks.

    Mine too Dave, I couldn’t imagine any of my garden beds without a touch of purple. 🙂 I’ll have to try your tip about trimming off the heads.

    Reply

  7. I was working in the yard this morning and was looking at the really fat buds on my hostas. Their color is usually so subtle…pretty in the garden. Love your collage.

    I love the buds almost as much as the blooms on the Hostas. So pretty & promising. 🙂 Thanks Balisha.

    Reply

  8. I bought agastache ‘Purple Haze’ and ‘Black Adder’ and can’t tell a difference! I’m wondering which one is mislabeled. I think it’s the black adder that is wrong in my garden. Not sure. I’m starting to not want to name plants on my blog! 🙂

    Cameron

    I know what you mean Cameron, last season I had a few mislabeled plants. It’s frustrating when you think you are getting what you want & it’s something entirely different. I’ll have to google Purple Haze, I adore Agastache! 🙂

    Reply

  9. I wish I could say my marguerite daisies, but they stopped blooming for some reason! So…the pinata lavender would be my pick!

    Sorry to hear about the Marguerite Daisies. That’s strange, maybe they don’t like this dry spell we’ve had lately? Lavender is always a great choice! 🙂

    Reply

  10. Great presentation.

    My fav lavender is Lantana monevidensis. It takes turns with yellow lantana providing nectar for butterflies all summer.

    In this hot climate I like darkest purples best, waiting now for purple Daturas to bloom.

    That’s a great choice Nell Jean, my grandmother has that in her garden bed & it’s lovely. The Dark Purples look striking with the hot colors of summers. 🙂

    Reply

  11. Posted by greenwalks on June 30, 2009 at 10:44 pm

    I have a LOT of lavender (the plant, so also the color!) here, although right now with the flowers in bloom it’s a deeper shade than you show, not quite so cool, more of the bright purple of the “PICK” button on Blotanical. 🙂 I also like the little pendant blooms on Parahebe catarachtae (sp?) and any little light-purple violas that show up on their own.

    I planted one lonely Lavender plant this year and I hope it does well. You picked some great choices for this pretty color. 🙂

    Reply

  12. oooh, love that lavender agastache. It’s gorgeous. My favorite lavender right now would have to be the delphiniums. I agree it can be a hard color to photograph. You did well tho.

    Thanks Kathleen. It’s one of my favorite perennials & the foliage has that lovely anise scent too. 🙂 Oh I love Delphiniums, but I always thought they wouldn’t love the heat in my garden.

    Reply

  13. I don’t do enough lavender color in my garden. I love it and your flowers make me want to add it. However, my garden is so hot ,as in hot colors. I’m a little afraid they will just wash out. I guess I can admire them in your garden. H.

    They actually blend well with the hot colors, since they don’t compete with each other. 😉 Thanks Helen.

    Reply

  14. I love lavender, too! Coneflowers are the winniest lavender in my garden right now and Peachies Pick…a Stokesia that I am sure is described as blue! gail

    Great choices Gail. You can’t beat this color in the garden. 🙂

    Reply

  15. That’s really cool how you did that background! The lavenders are nice!

    Thanks Susie, I’m glad you liked my background effect on this collage. 🙂

    Reply

  16. I looked more closely at the background of the collage after you mentioned this; that is really a neat effect! I love lavender in the garden, too, because I like any shade of pastels. My favorite right now is a new daylily that just began to bloom, but when I took a photo of it, it looked purple. There are some colors the camera just can’t capture.

    Thanks Rose, I’m glad you enjoyed the subtle effect of my collage. 🙂 Pastels & Blues are hard for me to capture on camera. Like the deep blue of Salvia Black & Blue is always difficult.

    Reply

  17. Hi Racquel, I have been looking for Bluebird and can’t find it locally. I have heard such good things about it I am determined to find one. I settled for a Jim Crockett boltonia (similar) this year but am still looking for BB. Do you grow your agastache from seed?
    Marnie

    Hi Marnie, I purchased my Bluebird Aster through Bluestone Perennials online. No I’ve never grown my Agastache from seed, just from small transplants.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

