Ornamental Oregano

Origanum rotundifolium 'Kent Beauty'

Origanum rotundifolium 'Kent Beauty'

This  perennial herb is a wonderful addition to a hanging basket or window box.  It has a lovely aroma but the taste is slightly bitter so it’s main use would be decorative.  The flowers themselves are actually the inconspictuous lavender blooms peeking out of the colorful bracts.  You could use the dried flowers (bracts) to make wreaths.  Initially I thought it was a tender perennial or annual but after some research I’ve found it to be quite hardy. Therefore,  I’ve decided to move it from it’s hanging pot this fall into the ground.  Here’s some more info on this pretty ornamental:

  • Full Sun-Part Sun
  • 6″ -12 ” tall
  • space  9-12″ in a container
  • Herbaceous perennial
  • Flower is pink and fades to purple
  • Blooms Late Spring thru Early Fall
  • Average water needs, do not overwater
  • Propogate through division or layering
  • Hardy in zones 5-10
22 responses to this post.

  1. It really is pretty hanging in the pot Racquel. Looks like you got a winner ground or pot.

    Thanks Susie, I was looking for something for this pretty terracotta pot. This was a nice change from the usual annuals I would of chosen. 😉

    Reply

  2. Looks good in your container!! After I move I think I will be getting one of those!

    Thanks Janet for helping me choose this for my hanging pot. I’m so glad I picked this instead of the lobelia I originally picked up. 🙂

    Reply

  3. That looks really nice hanging there! I have some regular oregano in a shoe. It actually is doing well and you can use it for cooking. It smells so nice!

    Thanks Cindee. You always picked the most charming objects for containers. I bet your shoe of Oregano adds alot of whimsy to the garden. 🙂

    Reply

  4. I have this pretty oregano, too. It’s still in the nursery pot and you’ve given me a good idea on how to plant it up! Thanks! gail

    Glad this post was timely & helpful for you Gail. 😉

    Reply

  5. Those are so pretty and so difficult to find at plant nurseries. I think it’s just a lovely plant and I think it will do well in the garden.

    Cameron

    They really are pretty. I’ve seen them in catalogs, but Smithfield Gardens was the first nursery I saw here who carried it. Thanks Cameron. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Ummmm–this sounds like something I would love!! I am going to put it on the “wish list!”
    Thanks for the information Racquel! 🙂

    Oh I think you would adore this pretty plant Linda. 🙂 You are so welcome.

    Reply

  7. I just saw this and had no idea what it was. Those blooms are really show stoppers. I might have to go back and get one for my garden. Especially an herb.

    Well then this post was timely for you as well Tina. It caught my attention at the Smithfield Gardens Nursery & I had to have it. 🙂 Hope you go back & get one. Don’t think you’ll regret it!

    Reply

  8. It has a bouganvillea (sp) look to it.

    You’re right it really does look similar to Bouganvillea. 🙂

    Reply

  9. I’ve seen this pictured in catalogs but I’ve never found it in any of our local nurseries–it really is an attractive plant. I do hope it over-winters for you.

    Just saw your last post–that sweet corn is looking good! My grandfather always repeated this saying, referring to his field corn. But modern hybridization has made it a thing of the past; most farmers’ corn is shoulder high, if not taller by July. But for sweet corn it’s probably still a good measure.

    Same here Rose, I’m glad I was lucky to find one at Smithfield Gardens last week. Thanks I hope so too! 😉 Isn’t that corn yummy looking, my FIL has 180 plants!

    Reply

  10. Oh I love that pic!

    Thanks Mom! 🙂

    Reply

  11. It is beautiful. Last year all the retailers in my area sold it, this year–non of them do. Must not be hardy here. For those living in an area where it comes back every spring, you are very lucky.
    Marnie

    I had never seen it before this spring pictured in a catalog & then at the Smithfield Gardens Nursery. I’m hoping it really is hardy in my area like the info I found online stated. 🙂

    Reply

  12. Was wondering if this would do well in the all day full sun we have in zone 5? Looks like one I would enjoy growing.

    It loves full sun Stella. And supposibly thrives on neglect. 😉

    Reply

  13. Hi Racquel…I think that is so pretty in the pot. So delicate looking.

    Hi Balisha, it really is a pretty cascading plant. 🙂

    Reply

  14. Hi Racquel~~ Yes indeed. This is a beaut. It’s only one of several ornamental oreganos I grow. They’re amazingly low maintenance and the more I neglect them the more they seem to thrive.

    Hi Grace, thanks for the info. I’ll have to keep my eye out for some of the others. You can’t beat a plant that thrives on neglect. 😉

    Reply

  15. Posted by greenwalks on June 29, 2009 at 7:21 pm

    I have seen this at nurseries but always skipped it since I prefer all my herbs to be edible. But it’s tempting… maybe next time I see it, especially since it’s hardy down to zone 5! Super cute.

    That’s understandable Karen, but even the edibles look great in the ornamental garden. It’s nice to try new things especially ones that look great in containers. 🙂

    Reply

  16. Racquel, I saw this last year in a planter box at the Idea Garden but there was no tag. It looked great vining over the edge. Now, thanks to you, I know I can find it at the garden center, plant it and it should survive our zone 5. Maybe over the edge of the raised bed area?? Thanks!

    Well than this post was timely for you Beckie. 🙂 Ooh, cascading over the edge of a raised bed sounds pretty too.

    Reply

  17. I think I like it in the container too Racquel. Are you sure you want to put it in the ground?? I haven’t ever grown it but I like its form.

    The only reason I concidered moving it into the garden was because it wouldn’t overwinter in this pot I was thinking. Maybe I’ll try taking a cutting to experiment. Thanks Kathleen. 🙂

    Reply

  18. i like growing herbs just for their beauty too and if you get to use them that is a bonus…love your oregano!

    That’s a bonus plant, ornamental & edible! Thanks Marmee. 🙂

    Reply

  19. Racquel;
    It truly is a wonderful and gorgeous plant. Here in Zone 5 I lost it the first year I planted it, but it does want a lean, gritty, well draining soil. Last summer, a pot with said substrate and it over-wintered just fine. The bracts are a garden photographer magnet…… try to take just one photo. Thanks for reminding me of this one’s beguiling charms!

    Thanks for the info Teza. I’m glad I could remind you of the charm of this ornamental. 🙂

    Reply

  20. I’ve never seen this before. It’s looks so nice hanging in the pot! -Jackie

    I’m glad I could introduce you this pretty plant Jackie. 🙂

    Reply

  21. Racquel girl … I have never seen this one before ! .. now you have placed a bee in my bonnet ? with it and I will have it on my list for next year’s hunt. Thank you !
    Joy : )
    Perfect picture too girl !

    Glad I could add to your wish list Joy. So far I am very happy with this cascading beauty. 🙂

    Reply

  22. Posted by Linda on September 9, 2010 at 8:42 pm

    Hello, was wondering if the knight beauty ornamental oregano can be kept in the house each winter in it’s hanging basket. I’m in love!!! Linda

    Reply

Leave a Reply

