Shoulder high before the 4th of July?

0625091950a

My youngest son is currently visiting his grandparents that live out of state.  Here he is posing next to their Silver Queen Corn in the veggie garden which is 16 x 40.  To give you an idea how tall it really is, he’s 6 foot tall.  I wish I had room for this much growing space.  But then again I don’t have 1/2 acre of land to plant either.  🙂

Veggies page

In other news look at all the great stuff growing in my own garden.  I have 7 types of tomatoes and their all fruiting except for ‘Mr Stripey’, but he has several blooms that look promising.  The squash that was earlier this year having a problem with blossom rot is making up for it now.  I guess the unusually wet spring was the culprit afterall.  Even the bell peppers are fruiting at the moment which includes a yellow & green.  It shouldn’t be much longer now until I’m able to harvest a bunch of this stuff.  The one squash is probably ready now.  🙂

20 responses to this post.

  1. Beautiful corn. So green and lush.

    It does look pretty good huh? Thanks Grace. 🙂

    Reply

  2. WOW! Will you look at all those peppers you have growing there … and your maters look promising too. I love your garden Racquel 🙂

    Thanks Mom, I can’t believe how well things are growing now that the spring rains have subsided into a dry spell. I’m thinking the veggies are loving the heat of summer. 🙂

    Reply

  3. I love the serious expression of your son–how old is he? Also love all the growing veggies!

    lol, he’s not that crazy about getting his picture taken. He’s 16. Thanks Monica! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Yum — lots of great veggies in your garden. Have a great weekend! (Your son is a good sport!) 🙂

    Cameron

    Thanks Cameron, I’m pretty siked about all the fresh produce my little squarefoot beds are producing this year. 🙂 Yep he was a good sport since I know he’s not crazy about getting his pic taken, lol. 😉

    Reply

  5. Racquel ! I grew Indian corn one year and it grew to the top railing of the deck from the ground it was AMAZING !
    Hey you have loads of veggies coming from your garden girl ! .. are you going to set up shop and sell them ? LOL

    Wow, I bet that was amazing indeed Joy! Indian corn is so pretty too. 🙂 Nope with all the people I have living in my home we’ll be enjoying the “fruits of my labor”!

    Reply

  6. That corn looks great. Mine is pretty sad. It is so tiny yet it is starting to flower. I think our weather has just been too cold for it.

    Doesn’t it, I couldn’t believe how big it was already. It must love the heat they’ve been getting there I guess.

    Reply

  7. Good morning Racquel, your produce continues to look great. I love fresh corn- I wish I had the space for rows of corn too.

    Good morning Janet. Thanks I’m pleased with the veggie garden this season so far. Yep it would be wonderful to grow fresh corn, just need more space than I have at the moment. 😉

    Reply

  8. My squash has been problematic as well. Try some tums for you squash, I did it last year and it helped some. I’ve been sequentially planting ours to hopefully maintain a crop all summer.

    Thanks for that tip Dave! I’m trying the same thing (sequential planting). 🙂

    Reply

  9. Great veggies Racquel! Your tomatoes looks really nice.

    Greetings from Tyra in Vaxholm

    Thank you Tyra. I’m very pleased with the progress of my newly created veggie plot this year. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Yum! It is amazing how quickly veggies (and children) grow!

    So true Tina, so true! 😉

    Reply

  11. Wonderful corn! I would love to have some! I love fresh corn!!! Yummmm
    It is tall but then corn does grow very tall(-:
    Your veggies look great too. We have peppers and tomatoes setting on now. No cucumbers yet though!

    Me too Cindee, it’s the best tasting stuff in the world! 🙂 My neighbor used to grow some every year & bring us bags of it just picked. Thanks, I’m sure you are looking forward to your harvest too. My cukes are the dwarf ones so I don’t have to wait long for them to get to a mature size, lol.

    Reply

  12. Wow your veggies look great! Isn’t it great to grown your own food!?!?!? Wish mine looked like that. Enjoy some for me.

    Thank you Susie. I’m so pleased with my first year veggie garden. If you were closer I would share some of those yummy veggies with you. 🙂

    Reply

  13. That some corn! It would be nice to have a big garden, but in our heat..I don’t think I could handle one.
    (Very nice looking young man Racquel!!) 🙂

    There are pros & cons to a big garden I agree. Thank you Linda, time sure does fly by fast. My boys are now almost grown. 🙂

    Reply

  14. Your veggies look so healthy. And htat corn is four times hte size of mine at the moment 😀

    Thanks HM, isn’t the size of it amazing? 🙂

    Reply

  15. What a harvest you’ll have !!
    Always wanted to grow corn…but we don’t want to give up the space.
    I know Mr.Stripey we grew that last year.

    It sure looks promising Patsi. 🙂 I don’t have that kind of space either. How did your Mr Stripey do, was it a good producer?

    Reply

  16. Posted by jellyfishbay on June 27, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    Our growing season starts a little later here in Michigan, so I always heard it said “knee-high by the 4th of July.”

    That’s the saying I’ve always heard too, that’s why I was surprised at how tall my in-law’s corn is in Ohio. 🙂

    Reply

  17. That is a serious pose I can remember my brothers perfecting! and some serious corn! Wow. I didn’t think I had room in my little 3’X3′ raised bed for corn but this looks great. I’m just hoping for a fourth of what you already (almost) have!

    Yep he does look pretty serious, lol. Which is not his personality in the least bit, he’s a bit silly for the most part. 😉 I know I don’t have room in my 2×4 beds for corn but it’s nice to see how great it looks growing in the in-law’s garden. I’m sure after you harvest from your squarefoot bed, you’ll be wanting to add more this fall for next season. That’s my plan at least to add 2 more beds. 😉

    Reply

  18. I’ll have to show this picture to my hubby. We go for rides and he has to check the corn. He was worried about the farmers this spring…but the corn around here looks pretty darn good.

    Depending on the area of the country I understand your hubbie’s concern. Some farms have been wiped out due to weather this year.

    Reply

  19. If I could only grow one thing in the vegetable garden it would be tomatoes. I love the variety of colour and shape. Looks like you are going to have a fine selection. I like Mr Stripey’s name 🙂

    Me too EG, well that and beans. 😉 They have so many wonderful selections now it’s hard to choose, lol. I did too and the coloring is interesting, can’t wait to see how it turns out.

    Reply

  20. Posted by greenwalks on June 29, 2009 at 7:19 pm

    Looks like a good corn year for the grandparents! Love their mini farm, your son looks like he had to maybe be coerced a tiny bit to be in the photo though. Not to into gardening at this age? Maybe later. 🙂 Took me until my 30s to catch the bug from my mom. Your harvest season should be coming any day now! So happy to see your first year with a real veggie patch is such a success so far.

    Thanks Karen, my sons were impressed with the size of their grandparents veggie plot. Nope he isn’t a big fan of getting his photo taken, lol. He’s 16 which is a tricky age at best sometimes. However he does love watching stuff grow & is pretty good about helping with weeding, mulching & planting at times. Yep I am so pleased with my first veggie patch. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

