Painted Ladies

I caught a glimpse of the first Painted Ladies  in my garden yesterday.  Of course I was looking out my bedroom window and saw them sitting daintily on the ‘White Swan’ Coneflowers.  So I quickly grabbed my camera & out the door I ran like a crazy woman, lol.  Hubby was a bit confused by my excitement, but was appreciative of the shots I  was able to get.  The nice part was how close I was able to get without startling one of them.  

Painted Ladies 003

Doesn’t he or she look pretty happy balancing on the spiky center of this coneflower? What a cooperative subject, posing so prettily for his or her closeup!  Let’s get a bit closer and zoom in…

Painted Ladies 001

Hope this isn’t too fuzzy.  Don’t know if you can make out the small battered lower wing on the left.  Must of had a run in with a bird or something.  Looks like they will be back with all the promise of more blooms to come.  🙂

36 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by greenwalks on June 16, 2009 at 2:20 am

    Wow, that’s pretty close! Great how you can see the detail, including how the antennae look. No coneflowers here yet but I wonder if we will see butterflies when they open. I seem only to have boring white cabbage moths. Great shots!

    Reply

  2. Good eye! I have been seeing all sorts of butterflies in the last few days. Your White Swan looks very nice.

    Reply

  3. What great pictures those are Racquel! I love to see the butterflies start to land on the flowers. We haven’t had many yet. I like painted ladies and swallowtails. They are such a happy sight!

    Reply

  4. I like how the colors of the butterfly compliment the colors on the cone in the second shot. Did you plan that?

    lol, I didn’t even notice how well they matched Les. 🙂 Nope no plan, lol.

    Reply

  5. And they contrast so well with the white echinacea! 🙂

    Reply

  6. Racquel … I would be doing the same thing ! RUNNING to catch this beauty .. we have to wait a little while longer with coneflowers , but I’m hoping for some butterfly action when they do smile at us !!
    Send them our way please ?? : )

    Reply

  7. You did get close! You must not have created a shadow from your approach. The white swan coneflower looks like a perfect butterfly magnet. I’ve really got to find a place for white in my garden. I’m thinking with my red salvia greggii – does that sound like a good combo?

    Cameron

    That’s what I was thinking too Cameron, but they don’t seem to startle as easily as the larger ones. It actually is a great magnet for butterflies. And yes I think it would be great with your Red Salvia Greggii. 🙂

    Reply

  8. How pretty! We STILL don’t have any butterflies. I hope they get here soon.

    Reply

  9. Thanks for sharing your pic of the painted lady Racquel. We still don’t have much butterfly excitement around here yet.

    Reply

  10. I’d have been running, too. I rarely see these beauties here, although we are in their range. I’ll just enjoy yours, OK?

    Reply

  11. Posted by mothernaturesgarden on June 16, 2009 at 8:58 am

    Thanks for running our and capturing your experience for us. I laugh because I know my neighbors must wonder what I am doing sometime.
    Donna

    YW Donna. Glad to know I’m not the only crazy lady chasing butterflies (sometimes in my robe too). lol 😉

    Reply

  12. What a beautiful picture. Doesn’t God provide us with wonderful things to photograph?

    Reply

  13. Wonderful photos!!!!!

    Reply

  14. How beautiful. I have a nice stand of coneflowers this year. I hope they attract a few painted ladies. Usually I don’t see them in my area.
    Marnie

    Reply

  15. The first butterfly is definitely cause for excitement! I have been wondering where the painted ladies were this year, but maybe it’s too early yet for them in my garden.

    Reply

  16. Very pretty! Such a nice butterfly in the garden.

    Reply

  17. Posted by Racquel on June 16, 2009 at 12:27 pm

    I won’t be able to respond to comments or visit with you all this afternoon. We’ve had a family emergency.

    Reply

  18. Great pictures!!! It is so nice the painted lady sat still for a moment for your photo session(-:

    Reply

  19. Oh Racquel, I’d have done the same. Great shots! They’re so pretty, and your coneflowers are too!

    Reply

  20. We have just started seeing the butterflies coming around our garden in the past few weeks. Great photos of your painted ladies. I love when there is wildlife in a garden.

    Jan
    Always Growing

    Reply

  21. Those photos were definitely meant to be Racquel! I still have yet to sees any butterflies this year sadly. Maybe once my echinacea starts to bloom I will get as lucky as you. 🙂

    Reply

  22. Great photos of such a pretty butterfly.
    I left great wads of cudweed, the host plant for Am. Painted Lady caterpillars in my meadow.

    Reply

  23. Great shots Racquel! I am subject to jumping up without notice and grabbing my camera on the way out too. Everyone in my house is used to it by now ~ I bet they are in yours too. I haven’t seen many butterflies yet this year. Hopefully soon…

    Reply

  24. Wow, that’s wonderful, Racquel! I have never seen this butterfly in my garden, to my knowledge. I will definitely keep an eye out for one around here! Your photo is really clear and your ‘running’ paid off!! It’s a gorgeous butterfly–that’s really exciting!

    Reply

  25. Racquel, I have enjoyed these pictures, the butterfly is lovely, and also the White Swan cone flower. I started some seeds of these last year, it will be a while before they look as lovely as yours.
    K

    Reply

  26. Sorry, but the butterfly took all the attention away from the coneflowers.
    Nice shot !

    Reply

  27. Racquel — Glad you agree! I’ll have to find white swan. I may start some from seeds if I can’t find them locally. This time of year, I don’t mail order due to the heat.

    Thanks!
    Cameron

    Reply

  28. Posted by Jean on June 17, 2009 at 2:37 pm

    Perfect shot! Everything looks so beautiful! I love the night shots. Jean

    Reply

  29. I love painted ladies, thanks for sharing these photos. I’m sorry to see above in the comments you had a family emergency, I hope all is well.

    Reply

  30. You luck dog, Raquel! I love painted ladies, and see them so infrequently in my garden. Nice photo.

    Helen Yoest

    Reply

  31. Posted by Racquel on June 18, 2009 at 11:36 am

    Thanks everyone for your nice comments. I’m glad you enjoyed my Painted Lady photos! Sorry I’ve been a bit distracted with some family stuff for the past couple of days. Hope to catch back up with the blogasphere soon. 🙂

    Reply

  32. Cool shots, Racquel. I’ve started spotting many different butterflies in my neighborhood off late too. Only, it’s so difficult to capture them in my digicam. They’re too flitty!

    Reply

  33. I’m telling ya: you gotta frame that second one!
    Brenda

    Reply

  34. Posted by mothernaturesgarden on June 19, 2009 at 6:04 am

    I forgot to say I like the look of you blog with the green stripes.
    Donna

    Thanks Donna. 🙂

    Reply

  35. Posted by Racquel on June 19, 2009 at 5:23 pm

    Thanks everyone for stopping by to comment on my Painted Ladies. 🙂

    Reply

  36. Wow, how interesting that you are seeing the first PLs now. I got to see part of the west coast population migrating through back at the end of March. It was an amazing sight, butterfly after butterfly all flying in the same direction like a bat out of you-know-what. I wonder how many generations of it took for them to reach you from their east coast overwintering grounds.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

