Seas of Purple

Drumstick Alliums

Drumstick Alliums

I love the way these purple balls just seem to float in the air in the border bed out front.  If you want alot of bang for your buck, these are the most economical Alliums for the garden.  They bloom the entire month of June and look great for quite some time after they fade.

Liatris

Liatris

Another budget friendly summer bloomer is Liatris which is also called Gayfeather or Blazing Star.  I have some white ones too, but the purples are my favorites.  The bees and butterflies adore these blossoms.  In addition the Gold Finches are comical bouncing on the long sturdy stems while awaiting their turn at the finch sock feeder. 

Verbena hastata or Blue Vervain

Verbena hastata or Blue Vervain

This Blue Vervain is a native perennial that is both edible & medicinal.  It was added to the garden last summer and has doubled if not tripled in size.  I’m hoping to spread it around a bit since I love the airy branching and purplish blue spikes of color.  In addition it blooms all summer which is a great asset in any plant.   What are some of your favorite purple blooms this time of year?

20 responses to this post.

  1. I love the giant alliums but now I have the drumsticks awaiting their turn.

    Isn’t it nice to have a progression of Allium blooms to anticipate throughout the season? 🙂 Thanks for stopping by today Victoria.

    Reply

  2. Love them all! You have such a nice mass and it looks great. I just peeked at my alliums today and they finally show some color. No liatris here, as too much shade. Love the vervain. Never even heard of it before but will look for it now.

    Thanks Tina. I’m pleased with that mass of Alliums, of course they’ve been there for years & multiplied like bunnies. 😉 I have some Liatris that only get morning sun & they do fine too. The Vervain is great since it will do well in moist or somewhat dry spots as well.

    Reply

  3. I have some lupines that are really pretty. They self seed and multiply. BTW, I did a recent post on the dangers of purple loosestrife.

    Lupines are a wonderful perennial that I’ve tried time after time in my garden with no success. No purple loosestrife in my garden, invasive plants are not easy to get rid of once you introduce them into cultivation.

    Reply

  4. Hi Racquel~~ The drumsticks are also bee magnets. I’ve got the pink flowered Verbena h. I grew it from seed last year and it’s looking mighty healthy this year.

    Thanks for reminding me Grace, I’ve seen them bouncing around on these small globes! 😉 I’ve never seen the pink flowering type, how pretty.

    Reply

  5. Lovely blooms, Racquel. Every time I see your garden, I think about how organized you are…mine’s messy! The same colours planted together look wonderful!

    Thank you Kanak, what a nice compliment! I’m sure you are being way too critical of yourself. 🙂 I do love a large mass of one color, it really stands out huh?

    Reply

  6. Racquel, our climates have me totally confused now: My alliums bloomed over a month ago but my liatris isn’t even thinking of blooming yet (no stalks). ???? Greetings from rainy SE Michigan–it’s the day of the Ann Arbor Garden Walk and it’s POURING. But a) I’m a gardener so I don’t care and b) I’m cheap and already paid for the ticket, so… I”M GOING! 🙂

    Okay now I’m a bit confused too Monica. Strange indeed! Yay for rain and for you determination to do the Garden Walk inspite of the downpour. 😉

    Reply

  7. I did not have luck with my alliums bulbs, not sure if liatris will grow here they sell it so it must. I am enjoying my blue bedder salvia that I started from seed right now. The society garlic is always a great show.

    I think the Liatris would do fine there Darla, it loves full sun & heat! I planted some Society Garlic this spring and it’s only about 6″ tall right now, hope it blooms this summer! 🙂

    Reply

  8. Your Allium look great, as does the Liatris. Very nice together. I have never come across the Blue Vervain, interesting. I will have to read more about it. Have a great weekend.

    Thanks Janet. I actually picked this Vervain up at the Native Plant Sale @ the VLM last spring. It’s a great plant & will tolerate moist or well drained spots in the garden. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Racquel … those allium are such eye candy .. my husband noticed them in a neighbor’s front garden and said they would look great in mine .. I guess that was a HINT ?? LOL
    Your garden is looking beautiful girl !

    That’s a great description Joy! 🙂 Your hubby has great taste if you ask me, lol. That was definitely a hint, get you some this fall and make that man happy. 🙂 Thanks!

    Reply

  10. hi racquel,
    a great post!
    im marvin, im a doctor who recently started gardening. i have been seeing your blog for a long time, and feel that you could help me identify some of the unknown plants that i’ve posted in a garden blog i just started. if it wouldnt take much of your time. please, this is not spam or anything like that. thank you.
    -marvin md

    Hello Marvin, thanks I’m glad you’ve enjoyed my posts. I stopped by and was able to help id a few of your unknown plants. Welcome to Garden Blogging, hope it’s fun for you! 🙂

    Reply

  11. Okay, you enabler! LOL I WANT some of those drumstick allium. What a show! I love that look. I saw a photo of those with yarrow in a combo by White Flower Farm on their website (love to browse, but too $$$ for me).

    It’s been years since I’ve tried liatrus. That vervain is so pretty, but I don’t know where I’d put it at this point. I use agastache, perennial heliotrope, stick verbena and Homestead verbena for purple and I know I’ll have to divide a lot of it next year, so I need to stop buying new plants!

    Cameron

    Ha! I’ve tempted you with some more purple beauties huh? That would be a nice combo, the yarrow & drumstick alliums. I might have to borrow that idea. 😉 I know what you mean, I just window shop at White Flower Farm, their prices are a bit too rich for me. Oh I couldn’t imagine my garden with the Liatris & they are definitely drought tolerant. That Vervain would be great in your rain garden since they tolerate wet feet or dry from my experience. You have great purple choices too!

    Reply

  12. Of course I already said I love purple in a garden, wonder if I could grow the Blue Vervain here in a container ?

    Great minds think alike Mom! 🙂 I don’t know, it’s a tall plant, mine is about 3 1/2 -4 feet tall at the moment.

    Reply

  13. How lovely! Thanks for sharing.

    Thanks AJC, I’m glad you enjoyed my seas of purple. 🙂

    Reply

  14. I love Liatris and have tried growing it in my garden; unfortunately the rabbits love it too! 😦

    I didn’t realize that rabbits loved this plant, thanks for sharing that Laura.

    Reply

  15. Ooooooooooh, everyone has me lusting after there Alliums and your’s are no exception. They are just stunning!

    With all that sun you get Randy, you could definitely grow these in your garden! Am I enabling you, lol? 🙂

    Reply

  16. I love the look of that Liatris. This spring we had the bulbs for a really cheap price and I could kick myself that I didn’t get some. Some customer came in and bought the whole box. Can you believe that?

    I hate when I do that too Susie. Would of, could of, should of! I don’t blame that customer, you can’t have too many in my opinion. 😉

    Reply

  17. I love alliums and liartris too. Purple is a very nice color in the garden(-: Your flowers are beautiful!

    Thanks Cindee, looks like we both have the same taste in colors & plants! 🙂

    Reply

  18. I put in some drumstick alliums last fall, and they are getting ready to bloom – I can’t wait to see them. You are right, they are very economical.

    You will be in love at first sight when they bloom Kim. They are such a great bang for your buck kind of plant. 🙂

    Reply

  19. Beautiful purples Racquel. I love the mass effect too. I have a few liatris but they don’t quite make the same statement. I don’t have those drumstick (??) alliums either. Maybe I should put them on my list! I’m not familiar with the last purple ~ verbena hastata ~ but love the spikes.

    Thanks Kathleen. It really makes a statement when you have a large mass of one color doesn’t it? 🙂 You won’t regret it if you add the Drumstick Alliums to your list that I can guarantee.

    Reply

  20. I’m a shades-of-purple lover, too! Buddleia, salvia, liatris, (a few annuals like petunia, impatience) and some others that escape me right now!

    All beautiful choices Jan! I have a White Buddleia, but I would love a purple blooming one as well. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

