Bloomin’ Tuesday

(From upper Left across and down: Drumstick Allium, Balloon Flower, Rosa 'Glowing Peace', Soapwort, Salvia 'Mystic Spires, French Marigold, Asiatic Lily, Echinacea 'White Swan, Lantana 'Miss Huff' and Cucumber 'Cucino' x)
(From upper Left across and down: Drumstick Allium, Balloon Flower, Rosa ‘Glowing Peace’, Soapwort, Salvia ‘Mystic Spires, French Marigold, Asiatic Lily, Echinacea ‘White Swan, Lantana ‘Miss Huff’ and Cucumber ‘Cucino’ )

 

It’s time for Bloomin’ Tuesday again.  My garden is full of blooms at the moment including the vegetable garden where the Peppers, Tomatoes, Squash & Cukes are making fruit.   I also planted French Marigolds in the veggie beds to help deter some of the bad pests.  My favorite blooms at this time of the year include the Drumstick Alliums and Salvia ‘Mystic Spires’.   One of the newest additions to my Coneflower collection is ‘White Swan’ and it is really looking great this year.  I’ve tried it in the past with little success, but this plant has really done well this season and is showing promise for tons of blooms to come.  Another new addition last fall was Lantana “Miss Huff’ which is truly winter hardy in my zone 7b garden.  The Soapwort is threatening to take over in the Border Bed this summer, so I will be thinning it out a bit soon.  Most of the roses have finished up their first big flush of blooms from last month, but ‘Glowing Peace’ is still going strong.  It seems to be more prolific this season since I relocated it to a sunnier spot in the Arbor Garden.   To see more posts or to join in this week please visit  Jean @ Ms Greenthumb.

30 responses to this post.

  1. Lovely blooms in your garden Racquel and a great very summer-looking collage.

    Happy blooming Tuesday to you!

    Tyra

    Thank you Tyra. Have a nice week, hope you feel better soon. 😉

    Reply

  2. Wow! What lovely blooms! Echinacea looks lovely and of course the Balloon Flower too. Wonderful collage, Racquel!

    Thanks Chandramouli. I’m glad you enjoyed my collage of blooms today. Haven’t heard from you in awhile. Hope everything is well with you. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Oooh! You really have a lot of blooms in your garden right now, dont you? Even the cucumber is giving you lovely blooms! I really cant decide which one I like best. They’re all so pretty.

    Yep there is lots of things blooming right now. I’m glad you enjoyed them! Thanks Sunita. 🙂

    Reply

  4. That Glowing Peace is just gorgeous!!

    Thanks Janet. It’s one of my favorite roses in the garden. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Hi Racquel,
    Beautiful blooms! I have never seen white Echinacea before. Simply beautiful! Have a great day!

    Sherrie

    Thanks Sherrie. I’m glad you were able to discover something new today. 🙂

    Reply

  6. You sure have lots of blooms Racquel. Your White Swan looks great! My coneflowers are looking pretty good this year, especially the traditional purple. I keep wanting to “Mother” them and give them a drink as they get so droopy in the afternoon–I try and remember what Tina said about that and don’t water…but the nuturing part of me keeps coming out! 🙂

    Thanks Linda, the garden is glorious right now. Isn’t White Swan something? 😉 Yep some of these wonderful summer bloomers like a bit of neglect.

    Reply

  7. Racquel ! … what a beautiful college : )
    White Swan may be an older cultivar but it is a beauty and I have lots .. the scent is amazing too … I also have “Baby Swan” a smaller version .. and it is great for touches of “something” in a smaller area . I have big buds on Angel Face and my Morden roses .. can’t wait to see them bloom !

    Thanks Joy. It really is a tried & true specimen. I’ve never heard of ‘Baby Swan’, I’ll have to check that out. 🙂 Can’t wait to see your Angel Face & Morden Rose blooms.

    Reply

  8. Very pretty! The drumstick allium is so pretty. I was expecting a deeper burgundy color on that variety, so it’s great to see a “catalog” and in a real garden.

    Cameron

    Thanks Cameron. It can be a deeper burgundy shade before it fully opens up. I’m glad you were able to see it in my garden. It’s a great allium. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Just gorgeous, Racquel. Don’t you hate it when that big flush of blooms has come and gone. I wish they could last year round. 🙂

    Thanks Randy. Wouldn’t that be something if the plants just bloomed nonstop all year long? 😉

    Reply

  10. Love the rose!

    Thanks Kara. 🙂

    Reply

  11. I love that white echinacea… I wouldn’t have thought i would, but i do!

    Thanks Monica, I love it too. It looks great combined with the standard purple ones too. 🙂

    Reply

  12. The more I see your collages the more I keep telling myself I simply must learn how to do them, but still I don’t. They are a wonderful way to show all your beautiful blooms.

    They are quite easy to make Tina. I have a program I downloaded from the internet from free that makes the whole process fun. Thanks! 🙂

    Reply

  13. Those drumstick alliums are sure cute. That is another allium I don’t have yet. Glowing Peace is lovely. I had soapwort years ago and I loved it. I’ll have to try to find another because I have a large space to fill and I know they spread out.
    Marnie

    Thanks Marnie. You will love the Drumstick variety, they are easy to find & multiply easily from year to year. Yep Soapwort is a great filler plant. 🙂

    Reply

  14. Stunning as always. I need to get white coneflowers!

    Thanks Darla, they would be a great addition to your garden! 😉

    Reply

  15. Love that white swan — just beautiful! Your mosaic is beautiful!

    Thank you Suzanne, I think ‘White Swan’ is a hit this week. 🙂

    Reply

  16. What a gorgeous riot of color you have going on in your garden 🙂

    Thanks Mom, it definitely is colorful right now. 🙂

    Reply

  17. Love all the variety of flowers you ahve blooming right now. The allium is amazing!Thanks for sharing, Paula from Idaho

    Thank you Paula, I’m glad you enjoyed my blooms today. Alliums are some of my favorite summer bloomers. 🙂

    Reply

  18. Your garden is beautiful! Wish I had more room for veggies in my gardens. I do, however, have some pumpkins planted in containers for the Fall.

    Take care, Sue

    Thanks Sue. I’ve made raised beds for my veggies this spring and now I want more. 🙂

    Reply

  19. What an assortment Racquel! They are all summer bloomers here so I haven’t seen any of them yet. I like the drumstick alliums ~ that’s one I don’t have. I should put it on the list to add this fall.

    Thank you Kathleen. Well then I guess I gave you a sneak preview of what’s still to come in your area. 🙂 You will love the Drumstick Alliums. I’ve had some in my garden for years & they are wonderful.

    Reply

  20. I am so impressed by your display of photos. Wonderful and beautiful to look at.
    Balisha

    What a nice compliment, thank you Balisha! 🙂

    Reply

  21. Lovely blooms Racquel. I like the asiatic lily the best. Too bad they don’t bloom all summer.

    Thank you Susie. That one has been in the garden for years & is such a vibrant color. 🙂

    Reply

  22. Hi Racquel, all lovely, but the drumstick allium is of interest to me because it is a new addition here. It seems the flowers open from the top down. Are they all open at once, or do the top ones brown before the bottom ones open? Sort of a silly question, isn’t it? And hooray for Miss Huff! I tried it a couple of times without success, but we are 7a, I think. Worth another go, though. Your garden must be so abundant now, even with cukes flowering. Absolutely fabulous! 🙂
    Frances

    Thanks Frances, actually they end up being fully open and last for quite awhile before turning brown & drying out. Nope that’s not silly at all, because that happens with lots of blooms like Liatris. Maybe if you try giving Miss Huff alittle winter protection with a layer of leaf mulch? 🙂

    Reply

  23. Such a nice variation and shades of colors of your blooms too.
    Brenda

    Thanks Brenda. 🙂

    Reply

  24. love that white swan! I’m just starting with the echinacea, and like it a lot.

    Well then you will want to add this variety. It’s been around awhile and is quite pretty. Thanks for stopping by today Muum. 🙂

    Reply

  25. All your blooms look beautiful! I just bought my first salvia today. I’ve seen so much of it on Bloomin’ Tuesdays I figured I needed some. Jean

    Thanks Jean. Congrats on getting your first Salvia, it won’t be long and you’ll be hooked! 😉

    Reply

  26. A great variety of bloom. Beautiful! I’d like to get some allium. Love those. ~~Rhonda

    Thanks Rhonda, I think the Alliums would compliment all your gorgeous Daylillies. 🙂

    Reply

  27. Posted by Heather on June 9, 2009 at 11:40 pm

    I love your blooms, especially the echinacea. I’ve always been fond of all of them. Thank you so much for sharing the beauty of your gardens with us! I’m searching rosa ‘Glowing Peace’ right after I submit comment! lol.

    Thanks Heather, it was pleasure to share my blooms with all of you. 🙂 I’m glad I could introduce you to a great Rose. 🙂

    Reply

  28. Racquel, that orange asiatic lily is WOW! My clump is also orange but a lighter shade. I was going to add some white coneflowers last week but there are tons of shasta daisies in my garden, but after seeing yours, I think I will plant some…lol! Great collage!
    Lynn

    Thanks Lynn, it is a vibrant shade of reddish-orange isn’t it! 😉 You will love the addition of the White Coneflowers, their a wonderful perennial and the butterflies adore them.

    Reply

  29. Everything looks amazing!! 🙂

    Thank you Chris & Laurie! 😉

    Reply

  30. Your collage is superb…and of course, the blooms within it are beautiful! I like every one of them!

    Why thank you Jan! I’m glad you enjoyed my collage of blooms. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

