Sunset Colors

Achillea 'Summer Pastels'

Achillea ‘Summer Pastels’ should be called sunset colors if you ask me.  They start out deep saturated tones of pink, yellow,  and peach.  Over time they gradually fade to washed out versions of their former glory.  I was happily surprised to see the yellow blooms next to this hot pink  yesterday. 

Echinacea 'Sundown'

I took this photo of Echinacea ‘Sundown’ last night in the Arbor Garden.  The sunset colors in the furled petals is striking against the black background.   There are about 3 blooms ready to burst open on this new addition.  Last fall I planted two new coneflowers from the Big Sky Series which also included Echinacea ‘Harvest Moon’.   It is planted out front in the border bed.  Unfortunately it isn’t quite this far along in the bloom stage yet.

When I admire the wonders of a sunset or the beauty of the moon, my soul expands in the worship of the creator. ~Mohandas Gandhi

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by islandgardener on June 7, 2009 at 11:29 am

    Lovely photos!

    Thank you Islandgardener. 🙂

    Reply

  2. It reminds me of a soft sunset what with all those pinks. A lovely sunset, one to relax under.

    Me too Tina. 🙂 Thanks!

    Reply

  3. Very nice photos Racquel.

    Thank you RG! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Hi Racquel~~ At first glace I thought “melanoma, when good moles go bad” was talking about garden moles, you know, those NEVER good moles? LOL Although I suppose they do serve a purpose in the earth’s system of things…

    I’m growing more fond of sunset shades as well. I’m not a huge fan of orange but the peaches and apricots, with a hint of pink or yellow… Yum. Love the Achillea and Echinacea.

    They do list the strangest posts sometimes, lol. Orange has it’s place in the garden too, it looks great combined with purple. Thanks Grace. 😉

    Reply

  5. Your last post had the word “morning” in it and now this one has “sunset” ~ you covered the whole day between the two of them Racquel! These are beauties. I have a sunset echinacea but of course, it’s not as far along as yours!

    LOL, I didn’t even think of that Kathleen. 😉 Thanks, I’m glad I opted for some this new series for the garden last fall. Hope yours starts to bloom soon too!

    Reply

  6. Nice photos Racquel, love the Achillea.

    Thank you Janet! 🙂

    Reply

  7. The yarrow is really pretty Racquel. The last time I tried growing it I didn’t have much luck. Maybe I should try again.

    Thanks Susie, Mine gets mostly morning sun with some filter light in the afternoon. Give it another try, they’ll grow in less than ideal soil from my experience. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

