My favorite newcomers

So many new perennials were added to the garden over the past year and below are a few of my favorite newcomers:

Autumn Fern

Autumn Fern

The striking colors of Dryopteris erythrosora make it easy to see why it’s commonly called Autumn Fern.  As the new fronds start to open they are rich shades of red that gradually fade to bronze, gold and finally green. 

Kalimeris incisa 'Shogun' or False Aster

Kalimeris incisa 'Shogun' or False Aster

The variegated foliage of ‘Shogun’ works well in my border garden even before it blooms.  I currently have it combined with the deep purplish blooms of Allium.  Later in the fall it will have tiny aster like lavender flowers. 

Oakleaf Hydrangea 'Little Honey'

Hydrangea quercifolia 'Little Honey'

I’m so excited that my replacement Oakleaf Hydrangea ‘Little Honey’ is doing well.  In fact if you look at the top of each stem you will see new foliage which is a positive sign indeed.  I don’t know if I’ll see any blooms this summer but I’m looking forward to the fall when the leaves deepen to a burgundy red.  What are your favorite newcomers to the garden?  🙂

19 responses to this post.

  1. Brunnera macrophylla ‘Jack Frost’ (a last year plant) hands down, but I’m also feeling the love for my Pinky Winky hydrangea – love those dark stems!

    I added ‘Jack Frost’ this spring to my garden for the first time and yes he is a wonderful plant too. And Pinky was added last fall and those dark burgundy stems are striking, can’t wait to see the blooms. 😉

    Reply

  2. I’d have to agree with Kim–my new Brunnera “Jack Frost” has to be my new favorite. But then since my columbines bloomed for the first time this year, I’m pretty taken with them as well. I do love your autumn fern. And I like all the shade combos from yesterday–I’m going to have to look for the heucheralla “Rosalie,” which definitely would fit in my garden:)

    I do love my new ‘Jack Frost’ that I added this spring too. 🙂 Thanks Rose, I’m glad you enjoyed my shade loving foliage from yesterday’s post. ‘Rosalie’ looks great combined with the Heucera ‘Plum Pudding’ since it has a touch of that deep purplish burgundy on the leaves. 😉

    Reply

  3. Never heard of false aster, that leaf color is wonderful! I always have loved ferns, and hydrangea:)

    I found this last fall at Lowe’s and was immediately in love with the variegated foliage. Ferns & Hydrangeas are some of my favorites too Carla. 🙂

    Reply

  4. That fern is beautiful. I like the garden around the tree. Nice selection of plants.

    Thanks Balisha, that is one of my favorite garden beds at the moment with all that colorful foliage. 🙂

    Reply

  5. That fern is so pretty.

    I really appreciate variegated plants like your Shogun or anything with interesting foliage that contribute to the garden’s appeal even when they aren’t blooming. Hope you post photos when it blooms. I have very few autumn flowering plants.
    Marnie

    Thanks Marnie. I feel the same way about variegated plants that you do. They really do make a nice contribution even without the blooms. I’ll post pics this fall when it blooms. 🙂

    Reply

  6. I love foliage that has multiple colors during different life stages and I love ferns. So sweet!

    Me too Monica. Thanks! 🙂

    Reply

  7. I’ve never heard of ‘shogun’ so it should be something to look for…nice variegated foliage and I love a fall blooming plant! I planted a lot of new perennials this spring; like the others, my brunnera Jack Frost is a winner (I’d never even heard of it until I started this garden-blogging!); I LOVE it’s variegated foliage which is still spreading in my garden! Too bad I can’t add another newcomer that I am amazed by…I sure planted enough of them. I suppose next year they’ll give me a better show (such as hydrangeas, VA bluebells, hellebores, ). OH, I just remembered: My Bleeding Hearts are doing wonderfully too…and growing and spreading. I just added them this spring, as well. Those are wonderful plants for the shade garden!

    I found this last fall at Lowe’s and fell in love instantly with the variegated foliage. And the fall blooming was a nice bonus since I’m always looking for ways to extend my season of interest in the garden. Jack Frost seems to be a popular perennial, several other bloggers named this their favorite too Jan. 😉 I planted my first one this spring and it’s beautiful. The Bleeding Hearts were one of my first shade loving perennials, great choice.

    Reply

  8. I am loving my new Salvia verticulata right now. It’s already showing me glimpses of how glorious it’s going to be when it “grows up!” Interesting new choices Racquel. The foliage colors on the fern seem backwards to me! Your plants always look so healthy and happy ~ I think they love all that good soil amending you do.

    That sounds like a great plant Kathleen. Thanks I’m attracted to the foliage as you can see by my choices in this post. 🙂 It does seem like a backwards way for the fern foliage to change doesn’t it? How sweet are you! I guess they are benefitting from all that wonderful compost I added last fall. 😉

    Reply

  9. Lovely new friends in your garden Racquel, beautiful foliage.
    Have a great weekend in the garden / Tyra

    Thank you Tyra. Have a wonderful weekend in the garden yourself! 🙂

    Reply

  10. Posted by skeeter on June 5, 2009 at 11:16 am

    Looks as though you are having luck with your newcomers! We added a few new ferns this year per my Saints request. I am so glad he is really taking an interest in the garden this year enough so to request things himself! The least he can do since I go fishing and to car shows with him. Tee hee. I will be showing some new things later on with a post so stay tuned for that one. I do hope you have hydrangea booms this year…

    I am really am pleased with some of my new additions. Ferns were a wonderful suggestion, the Saint has good taste. 🙂 It’s nice that’s he taking an interest in the garden. My hubby has shown more over the past couple of years too. It’s a wonderful hobby to share as a couple. Thanks Skeeter!

    Reply

  11. What a cool fern! I’ve never seen one that changes colors like that.

    It’s really a neat fern Randy, I love the colors of fall at this time of the year. 🙂

    Reply

  12. Little Honey is doing well. At first I thought it was the initial one. So nice of them to send you another. I hope it blooms for you. The ‘Autumn fern’ looks great. I picked up three this spring and so far they are doing good. I hope they take as I’ve not had luck with them. Have a great day! Wonderful here! I did give Cameron a hug for you. I had such a great time and will post about it next week.

    I kept the initial one and have been babying it to see if it survives but it’s just a bare twig. 😦 I’m pleased with Bluestone’s replacement policy, this is the first time I’ve had to use it. Thanks Tina I hope it blooms too. Mine have done pretty well in the past year and they seem to tolerate dry shade well. I’m glad you had a great visit with Cameron and thanks for giving her a hug from me. 🙂 Can’t wait to see your post about it.

    Reply

  13. Yeah for the replacement Oakleaf Hydrangea, I love the ones in the front of my building, I really like that fern 🙂

    The ones in the front of your building are gorgeous Mom, wish I had room for those large beauties. 😉 Thanks!

    Reply

  14. Super plants!!! There was a stand of Autumn Fern on my trip that was just amazing….really catches the eye.

    Thanks Janet. They look great in a mass I bet. 🙂

    Reply

  15. A nice selection of plants! The foliage of the false aster is beautiful! I’ll have to look that one up. The mounding shape is so perfect in a garden.

    Cameron

    Thanks Cameron. I’m very pleased with my False Aster, decided I will divide it this fall to spread around some. 🙂

    Reply

  16. Nice newcomers for you. I love all your hydrangeas. And the fern is really pretty too.
    I really like the new coreopsis and coral bells–guess they are my favorites for now.
    Have a great weekend!

    Thanks Linda. Your new Coreopsis is a pretty new addition in your garden. Have a wonderful weekend in the garden! 🙂

    Reply

  17. I hope that ‘Little Honey’ may someday soon be a newcomer to my garden. One of my latest just started blooming this week, Rudbeckia maxima.

    It would be a nice new addition to your garden with all the wonderful Hydrangeas you already have there. 🙂 That is a wonderful Rudbeckia, I had to google it.

    Reply

  18. The newcomers are delightful~~I think Little Honey is a great addition to your garden. Is it situated in the shade? New comers to my garden~~Stachys monnieri ‘Hummelo’ is my newest favorite! I bought 3 plants at a 50% off sale in January and they look wonderful in bloom.

    Thanks Gail, yep Little Honey gets some dappled morning light and that’s it. I’ve had ‘Hummelo’ on my list for sometime too. What a great sale on a nice plant! 🙂

    Reply

  19. Look Into Chips on Hard Drive PCB – DATA RECOVERY SALON I was suggested this blog by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my trouble. Yo7;#821u&re amazing! Thanks! your article about Look Into Chips on Hard Drive PCB – DATA RECOVERY SALONBest Regards Lisa

    Reply

Leave a Reply

