Shade loving foliage combos

Pecan Bed  June 2009

Pecan Bed June 2009

Some of my beds benefitted from a major rework this past fall & spring.  The Pecan Bed was one of them that received some extra attention.  I’m very pleased with the foliage combinations so far.  The textures, shapes, and colors mingle together in harmony and will just keep getting better as this bed matures over the next few years.  Do you see the tomato cages & bamboo sticks, those are my solution to the dogs stepping on small or emerging perennials.  Once the plants get to a decent size I will removed the barriers.  Most of these shade lovers do bloom in some format, but this bed was created around the foliage not the flowers.  Which means it looks great inspite of no blooms at the moment.  Some of new additions this spring were Coleus ‘Henna’, Heucerella x ‘Rosalie’, Toad Lily ‘Purple Beauty’, Pulmonaria ‘Raspberry Splash’,  and Poker Primrose.   Can’t wait to see these plants get fuller and lusher over the new few seasons.  🙂

16 responses to this post.

  1. Looks great! I just put some ‘Henna’ in my parent’s garden. I noticed the pot said that it was full sun, sure seems odd to plant a coleus in full sun!

    Thanks Dave, I saw that post about it in your parent’s garden. It seems odd that it would like full sun too, mine is in filtered morning sun only. But I have another Coleus that gets full morning sun and it does fine.

    Reply

  2. Once upon a time I had shade beds. Hopefully, someday in my near future, I’ll have them again:) I’m drooling over yours!!

    I couldn’t imagine my garden without some spots for shade lovers. Hopefully you’ll have some shady spots again too. Thanks Carla. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Well done Racquel! I can’t wait until we can have more shade lovers!

    Thanks Randy. I hope you won’t have to wait too long for some shade. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Those are great combinations Raquel, quite clever idea to keep the doggies out too.

    Thanks Darla, yep those furry friends of mine make gardening interesting sometimes. lol 🙂

    Reply

  5. Love the foliage contrasts. Looks good.

    Thanks Janet, I’m glad you like my contrasts of foliage in the shade garden. 🙂

    Reply

  6. LOL .. as soon as I saw the “barriers” I knew they were for one little hyper dog 🙂 Love the colors and textures going on in this bed.

    Yep she makes gardening interesting at best sometimes, lol. Thanks Mom! 🙂

    Reply

  7. It looks very nice. I use the tomato cages just like you do. Keeps the dog off areas and protects the plants. I also use cages instead of stakes for tall plants that tend to flop. The foliage covers the wire and you can’t see the cages unless you search for them.
    Marnie

    Thanks Marnie, I figured I wasn’t the only gardener out there with makeshift barriers for their pets. 😉 That’s a good idea of using the tomato cages for taller plants, I’ll keep that in mind.

    Reply

  8. Love the foliage combos! I’m really enjoying the foliage in my main shade bed as well. Like yours, it’s not filled in yet. But it’s fun to imagine what it will look like in a year or two.

    I’m glad you love my foliage combos VW. It is fun to picture how these areas will mature as everything starts to weave together in time. Thanks for stopping by today! 🙂

    Reply

  9. It is a lovely mixture of colours and shapes. Hope everything gets established before any furry feet find them!

    Thank you EG, I hope so too. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Lovely combinations! I like your dog-defense system!

    Tina was here today — she’s so delightful! We had a good time.

    Cameron

    Thanks Cameron, it is fun trying to garden with pets sometimes. 😉 I’m so glad you had a good visit with Tina. Can’t wait to hear more about it.

    Reply

  11. Well, isn’t that pretty. Good Job

    Thanks Deb! 🙂

    Reply

  12. It sure is happy with all your extra work. It looks beautiful Racquel. and you’ve just given me an idea (with the tomato cages) to keep my own dog off my valued little seedlings. His cute self and I have been going round and round for a week or so now. Maybe you’ve solved our problem!

    Thank you Kathleen! I’m glad I was able to help you figure out how to protect your seedlings. Hope it works for you. 🙂

    Reply

  13. What’s the plant up front, that I took to be sweet woodruff?

    Yep that’s Sweet Woodruff. Hope it continues to spread itself around Monica. 🙂

    Reply

  14. Just beautiful Racquel! I am taking note of the plants as I am always looking for something for shade!
    You really do a fantastic job with garden design!
    Have a great weekend!

    Thanks Linda. Hope some of my shade lovers work well in your garden too. How sweet are you, thanks for the compliment! 🙂

    Reply

  15. Lovely foliage combinations….Racquel…I have seen that coleus at the nursery and might have to go back for it…It sure brings adds color. gail

    Thanks Gail. I think you won’t be sorry if you go back to get ‘Henna’, it says it tolerates sun too. 🙂

    Reply

  16. Looking good already. I’m convinced Hakonechloa macra ‘Aureola’ makes other plants around it look better. I like your dog barrier. If only it worked for squirrels…

    Thanks MMD. You have a valid point about the Hakonechloa macra ‘Aureola’. I don’t think my dog barrier would work on Squirrels, they probably would eat the sticks, lol. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

