Hydrangea ‘Nikko Blue’

Nikko Blue BloomMy Hydrangea macrophylla ‘Nikko Blue’ has the most massive bloom I’ve ever seen.  This deciduous shrub has been in my garden since the fall of 2007 and last spring it produced only one blossom.  However it seems to be making up for lost time with this one huge flowerhead as well as many buds to follow. 

Nikko Blue Bloom 2

The photo above should give you a good idea of the actual dimensions of this single flower.  Of course the others that are forming don’t seem to be anywhere along the size of this beauty. 

Nikko Blue Bloom 3

Here’s the last shot just as the sky really opened up and started pouring glorious rain!  I was trying to get a good shot of the entire shrub, it’s about 2 1/2 – 3 ft now which is pretty good since it dies back to the ground during the winter.  Well I hope it continues to rain cause my rain barrels were getting low and it’s been hot this past week.  Have a nice weekend everyone.  I will be going on a short excursion tomorrow with Janet  which I am looking forward to.  We’re going to try to get out to see Les @ Smithfield Gardens and maybe Brent and Becky’s Bulbs if we have time.

16 responses to this post.

  1. Wow!! Don’t think mine are anywhere that big!

    Isn’t that a strange huge bloom Janet? 😉

    Reply

  2. Your timing is not good : ( I am off on Fridays and starting this week I get my other day off back which is Saturday. Go to Brent and Becky’s and come see me any Sunday through Thursday or go and tell me what you find.

    Aww, that is bad timing on our parts. Well I guess I’ll see what Janet wants to do tomorrow. That just means maybe the possibility of another short road trip in the future for us. 🙂

    Reply

  3. It IS huge! Making up indeed!

    Sure is Tina! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Your hydrangeas are amazing Racquel! I am so glad you are sharing pictures!
    Have fun on your trip!

    Thanks Linda, I’m glad I can share photos of these with you. I had a good time, thanks! 🙂

    Reply

  5. Wow that is a big bloom! Beautiful too!! I love blue hydrangeas!!! I moved mine this Spring so no blooms this year. I hope they will do better in their new location!

    Thanks Cindee. I love Blue Hydrangeas too, even if their pink when I buy them they turn out blue in my garden. Good luck with yours in their new location, hope they do well. 🙂

    Reply

  6. That bloom is IMMENSE! Gorgeous to look at, as it seems as if a “crown” on the whole bush.

    Rain? We’re praying for some over here!

    I know right? 😉 Thanks Rowena, I hope you get some rain soon.

    Reply

  7. Racquel girl !
    That is a massive flower ! I am waiting for my Cityline hydrangea to bloom because it is totally new to me .. no matter what you read or see on the net it is always a thrill to see your own hydrangea flower : )
    We have had rain for days now .. I wish it would clear up and I could get some garden chores done !

    Thanks Joy, it is pretty massive isn’t it! Can’t wait to see your Cityline Hydrangea bloom. It always is a thrill for me too when my own plant blooms for the first time. 🙂 Hopefully Pinky Winky will put on a nice display this year as well. Hope you get some dry days soon so you can get out into the garden again.

    Reply

  8. Wow, that is one huge hydrangea !
    Love blue.

    Thanks Patsi, me too! 😉

    Reply

  9. Wow Racquel that is amazing and beautiful! Enjoy your outing, I too will be away from blogger for awhile. Happy gardening!

    Thanks Susie, I had a great time today with Janet. Hope to put up my post about it soon. 😉

    Reply

  10. Fantastic bloom! Looks so healthy that color of green!!

    Thanks Darla, it really loves the rain too. 🙂

    Reply

  11. I envy you, we can’t grow it here. It is one of the loveliest.
    Marnie

    Thanks Marnie, it doesn’t like the sun here but in dappled shade it does well. 🙂

    Reply

  12. That looks like the size of a basketball! What an amazing bloom!

    Cameron

    Maybe a child’s size basketball, lol. Thanks Cameron. 🙂

    Reply

  13. Fabulous Racquel! I’ve always wanted to have so many hydrangeas that I could cut & dry a huge bunch of the flowers. I don’t. 😦 The few blooms I get on my Oakleaf, I wouldn’t dare cut. Glad you are going to have lots this year, it’s beautiful.

    Thanks Kathleen, that would be something to have that many blooms to be able to create large dried bunches. I could probably do that with Limelight, but the others not so much. 🙂

    Reply

  14. Posted by skeeter on May 29, 2009 at 11:53 am

    What a beauty and so large as well. My snowball bush gets huge blooms as well and remind me of this bloom. Have fun on your visit!

    Thanks Skeeter, the shape is similar to a Snowball bush bloom. I had a good time today! 🙂

    Reply

  15. It’s a beauty, Racquel;-) I just planted 2 hydrangeas,and one is Nikko Blue. It has NO buds or blooms on it yet. A pink one I put in already has some blooms. I would LOVE to have one like yours…what do you feed it? he he.

    Reply

  16. Posted by Marissa on June 25, 2009 at 11:20 am

    I planted two CityLines last year and they didn’t bloom last year and so far no flowers yet. I was told that this is normal. Do you have some tips?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

