Thanks for the plants Darla!

Walking Iris, Achillea, and Sedum 'Autumn Joy'

Walking Iris, Achillea, and Sedum 'Autumn Joy'

Imagine my delight when the mailman delivered this package today from my good blogging pal Darla @ Family and Flowers.  I had told her how I had never seen a Walking Iris or Neomarica northiana. Of course being the generous gardener that she is she offered to send me a piece and included some yarrow & sedum for good measure.  According to garden lore it’s bad luck to thank the person who passes a plant along to you.  But since I am not superstitious and I was raised to have good manners, I want to thank you Darla for your generosity of sending me these plants.  🙂    As you can see they arrived safe & sound from your doorstep to mine.  Since this Iris is only hardy in zones 8-11 and I’m in zone 7b I’m going to find a pretty pot to put it in that I can bring indoors for the winter.  It’s a tender tropical from Brazil that does best in part shade to shady locations.  My patio will be a nice place for it to spend the summer.  Happy Gardening everyone and have a nice holiday weekend!

16 responses to this post.

  1. Thanks for dropping by! I will be learning much more from you in the days to come! I’m surely glad I found your blog.

    You are quite welcome, I’m glad you enjoy my blog. I look forward to getting to know you & your garden. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Yay, I recently got three (!) packages of plants from blogging friends, too. WIll post soon. 🙂

    How wonderful Monica, can’t wait to see what your blogging friends sent you! 😉

    Reply

  3. You are so sweet to post this. I’m ashamed I didn’t package them nicer though. The Iris looks pretty good after it’s journey to you. I know that you will tend to these plants as I would. You are more than welcome and if there is anything else I may share with you, please let me know.

    Don’t be silly Darla, the packaging isn’t a big deal. The plants themselves look healthy & great, that’s what is important. It really traveled well for such a large plant didn’t it? I promise to take good care of these new additions. Same here, if you see anything of mine you would like let me know, ok? 🙂

    Reply

  4. Well, I’m not surprised. Darla seems like that type of person. She sent you a nice big plant too. That’s not easy to ship in one piece.

    She is a nice person & a generous gardener. And the size of that plant astounded me, it actually has a couple of buds which is great. They say a plant can take a few years to bloom until it becomes pot bound.

    Reply

  5. You are one lucky lady! Pretty nice of Darla to send all that. I have never shipped plants, received, yes, shipped- no.

    Thanks Janet, I do feel quite blessed to have such nice blogging buddies. 🙂 I’ve never shipped plants either. She did a great job of packing them up.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Susie on May 22, 2009 at 10:56 pm

    How nice! That Darla is a sweet girl! I know you will enjoy your plants.

    Have a great weekend!

    Yes she is a real sweetie that’s for sure. I’m going to love watching them grow & bloom! Thanks Susie, you have a nice weekend too. 🙂

    Reply

  7. That’s so nice of Darla. I’m sure this’d find a good place in your garden and settle in well. Have a great weekend, Racquel!

    It really was a nice thing Chandramouli. Thank you and have a great weekend yourself! 🙂

    Reply

  8. How very sweet of Darla! And I’m with you, not superstitious at all-I surely believe in thanking folks. Thanks for taking that stand and have the greatest weekend.

    Thanks Tina, I’m very appreciative of all the generous gifts of seeds & plants that I’ve received due to blogging. Have a nice weekend in the garden! 🙂

    Reply

  9. Racquel~~ I too am the recipient of Darla’s generosity. A few months ago she sent me Celosia seed. Gardeners are the nicest people, don’t you think?

    She is a generous soul! Good luck with your Celosia seed, look forward to watching it grow & prosper in your garden. They really are the nicest people Grace. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Racquel .. I think it is a given to thank Darla ! LOL
    That was so generous of her to send those plants and I know you will have pictures of them during the summer so we can see how beautiful they are girl !
    I guess I already acknowledged it huh Joy, lol. 🙂 I promise to post pictures of them once I get them situated in their new homes.

    Reply

  11. Its always good to go with good manners over superstition. As they say around here, you were raised right, enjoy your new treasures.

    Thanks Les, I am always amazed at the generosity of gardeners. 🙂 But I shouldn’t be huh?

    Reply

  12. How sweet of Darla, but I’m not surprised all gardeners are usually very generous. We learned that first hand after the storm. Is you walking Iris the Blue or Yellow one? I can’t wait to see pictures!

    She is a sweetie that Darla. You are so right Randy, it is part of our nature. A bud is starting to open and it looks yellow to me. The clump she sent me had two buds on them already! 🙂

    Reply

  13. How nice of Darla to send you these! I’ve gotten several starts and lots of seeds from garden blogging friends this past year; they certainly are the most generous people! I’ve never heard of a walking iris before either; I hope it overwinters well for you.

    I just read your last post, which was kind of ironic, because I had just finished reading an earlier post by Tina about viburnum as well. I have been wanting to add a viburnum to my garden, so I’m going to keep on reading everyone’s recommendations before I choose one:)

    It was nice wasn’t it! We are lucky to have so many generous blogging buddies Rose. 🙂 I’m going to bring it either into the house or the garage this winter since I don’t want to take that chance with it. I think me & Tina were on the same wavelength that day about the Viburnums, lol. 😉 That’s a good idea, it’s a good investment if you ask me. I’m in love with the two I purchased last fall.

    Reply

  14. I would thank her too. Gardeners are so generous. Have fun planting your new plants and what a wonderful mail day!

    Thanks Kathleen. I have them all planted and I potted the Iris up in a pretty ceramic container for the patio. It’s going to bloom already!!! 🙂

    Reply

  15. Posted by greenwalks on May 23, 2009 at 11:30 pm

    Never heard that particular superstition – if you thank the person, is the plant supposed to die, or do you just get random bad luck? Nutty! Well, I don’t subscribe to it either. Anyone who gives me free plants, seeds, advice or anything for the garden gets a big giant Thank You! 🙂

    Supposibly it is bad luck for the plant Karen. That’s how I feel too! 🙂

    Reply

  16. Blogging buddies are the best! I am curious about the walking iris! I don’t hold to that thanking superstition…I have to thank people! gail

    They really are the best aren’t they?! Yep the Walking Iris was something new to me too, the blooms form at the tips of the fans and bend over to the ground where they set roots and continue along. Hence “walking”. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

