Peppers and Tomatoes

Green Bell Pepper (1st photo 05-15-09 & 2nd photo 05-16-09) same plant

Green Bell Pepper (1st photo 05-15-09 & 2nd photo 05-16-09) same plant

The veggies are doing well inspite of the wet weather we’ve been having this month.  In fact it has been raining all day today.  I’ve never grown any kind of peppers in my garden so imagine my excitement at all those buds forming and now my first blooms. 

Top : Yellow Bell Pepper & Bottom: Celebrity Hybrid Tomato

Top : Yellow Bell Pepper & Bottom: Celebrity Hybrid Tomato

Even the Yellow Bell Pepper plants which were not as full of buds as the Green ones have their first bloom.  I planted four different Tomatoes and Celebrity is the first one to bud.  It also seems to be doing the best out of all three which includes Roma, Better Boy, & Lemon Boy.  After some research this seems to be the perfect one for my garden since it is most resistant to the typical diseases that inflict tomatoes such as wilt, root knot & Tobacco virus.  The Roma seems to be the slowest growing out of the four plants with Lemon Boy in a close second. 

Jalapeno Peppers in a container

Jalapeno Peppers in a container

I planted several Jalapeno plants, some in the square foot garden beds and a few in containers.  My husband & sons love them so I went a bit overboard on the planting. The ones in the containers seem to be doing the best.  Isn’t that odd?  I also have some ‘Opal’ Basil (purple) and green onions in these pots.  The onions will be replaced either with some flowering annuals like alyssum or marigolds.  Maybe I should add a few marigolds to the beds too.   🙂

23 responses to this post.

  1. We need to get some tomatoes!! Been a crazy spring! So what does your rain gauge say? Mine is at 2.3 inches.

    They had a nice variety still when I was at Lowe’s last week. In fact their veggie & herb section was the best I’ve seen. Yep it’s been a wacky weather kind of spring. My rain gauge broke last fall but my neighbor’s said 2″ this afternoon. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by greenwalks on May 17, 2009 at 5:11 pm

    Looking good! Marigolds are always a plus, since I think they are supposed to repel some pests. Have you tried calendulas? I think they are also called pot marigolds, although they don’t look anything like the true ones. They are so sunny and cute interspersed with veggies. Ditto nasturtiums, which can be a sacrifice plant for aphids if you need one.

    Thanks Karen, that’s what my father-in-law said too. He plants them around the perimeter of his large veggie garden every year. The Pot Marigolds are a good suggestion too. They have the same stinky smell as well I think. Now why didn’t I think of Nasturiums, I wouldn’t mind distracting the pests from my veggies with these edible flowers. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by Susie on May 17, 2009 at 5:39 pm

    Racquel you are going to love those Lemon Boys. I hope I’m not sorry I’m not growing them this year. Instead I have Jubilee. It’s an orange/yellow one. Congrats on your peppers.

    Vegetable growing really is fun isn’t it?!?! I’ve harvested a couple of banana peppers so far. Everything else is pretty slow except I did notice I have 3 yellow squash. Yippee!

    Thanks Susie, I’m glad I planted them this year. I thought it would be fun to have a variety of cultivars this year. Jubilee sounds like a nice one too. Yep I’m enjoying & looking forward to harvesting my own veggies this summer. Wow, you are way ahead of us, no signs of fruit yet. Yay for you!

    Reply

  4. Wonderful peppers! Love ’em!

    Cameron

    Thank you Cameron. 🙂

    Reply

  5. I’d add marigolds! 🙂
    Your veggies look great. I can’t wait until my sweet banana peppers produce. They are so good in summer salads!

    Thanks Linda, I’ll have to go to Lowe’s tomorrow & pick some up before I forget again. 🙂 Oh now I wish I had grown some banana peppers too! Oh well there’s always next year. I’ll need some more raised beds built this fall I see.

    Reply

  6. Racquel,
    Would you believer and can’t grow a tomato? What souther man can’t grow a tomato? Maybe I will give it one more try this year… maybe.

    I have faith in you Randy. Give it another try. Maybe you need to find a nice hardy disease resistant hybrid to build your confidence again. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Congratulations on your blooms! I keep buying and planting more tomatoes and peppers of different kinds in my garden across the street. It’s not time for them to bloom yet, though.

    I wish I had room to plant more veggies this year. Looks like hubby will be building more raised beds this fall, lol. 😉 Thanks Sue!

    Reply

  8. Wow! Your peppers and tomatoes really look great. if you are as wet there as we are here, you’re doing something right to have such healthy looking plants. I did get my one tomato planted in a topsy turvey and it seems to be draining alright. But I am having no luck in getting flowers planted in my containers. They are mud filled. Looking forward to seeing Lemon Boy-that’s a new one to me.

    Reply

  9. My tomatoes are almost over and yours are budding! Everything looks so promising! Hope you have a good crop, of both!

    How different our seasons are, so interesting. Thanks Kanak for the well wishes! 🙂

    Reply

  10. I counted more than thirty little tomatoes on my plants yesterday. I can’t wait until we have some to eat. Good luck with yours.

    Wow that is a fantastic harvest Deb. I’m crossing my fingers that I get a nice crop too. 🙂

    Reply

  11. What a hot blog! All spicy, peppery, and juicy! Yummm! My tomatoes didn’t germinate. I guess may the seeds are old. I should get a fresh one I guess…

    You are loving the peppers I see Chandramouli, lol. 😉 Yep the seed could be old, I try to get fresh seed every year, but the bean seeds were old & they germinated fine.

    Reply

  12. Thanks for posting these photos. I winter-sowed bell peppers for the fisrt time this year and the seedlings up in thier cell packs look like tomatoes to me! And I can see from your photo that they are definitely NOT bell peppers. (I did seed tomatoes next to them and the cell packs are tiny, so…) I’ll need to “spring” sow some more bell peppers, then, as I do want to grow them!!!

    You are welcome Monica. Seedlings really do look all alike unless their a different color (like purple basil vs the green). Good luck with your spring sowing of peppers. We love bell peppers in everything so I’m hoping for a nice crop. Next year I will be planting twice as many if these do well. 🙂

    Reply

  13. WOO HOO! Eating from the garden! Daddy always planted marigolds around our kitchen garden, and I do believe it had something to do with keeping pests away (?) Congrats on your garden 🙂

    Thanks Mom, lol! 😉 My grandparents & in-laws always did the same thing with the marigolds. They do have a stinky smell so maybe the bugs don’t like them huh? 😉

    Reply

  14. Cool! Peppers are one of the easiest plants to grow. If they bell peppers do not get enough water they will taste bitter though. The more sun on the hot peppers, the hotter they will be!!

    Thanks Darla, glad to hear that. I’ve had a bit of problems with tomatoes in the past so I didn’t know if the peppers would be the same. Thanks for the info about the watering & sunlight, good to know! 🙂

    Reply

  15. We had frost here Sat and Sun nites. Not great tomato weather. Every year I get so anxious for my first tomatoes.
    Marnie

    Brrr..nope Tomatoes are very testy about cold weather.

    Reply

  16. Your veggies are looking great, Racquel! I have to wait until at least mid-May to plant tomatoes and peppers because of the chance of frost here. I hope to get them planted this week, though, if the ground ever dries out from all this rain:) By the way, your arbor garden pictured yesterday is looking beautiful! The new peony should fit right in.

    Thanks Rose, I’m very pleased with their progress so far. 🙂 I’m lucky that our last frost is early April, but I waited until about mid April just in case. Hope you get some sunshine soon so you can get all that planting done. Thank you, I’m glad you enjoyed my photo of the Arbor Garden. It’s one of my favorite beds. I hope you’re right about my new Peony fitting in here. 🙂

    Reply

  17. All this rain is SO good. I hope we keep getting it too. You’ll have tons of yummy veggies-soon too!

    Yes it is and I appreciate every drop. 🙂 It also means I don’t have to water but the weeds are growing too which is the only con. Thanks I hope I get tons too Tina!

    Reply

  18. We’ve decided not to grow peppers this year. Last year, we had several plants, but we didn’t have much luck. Good luck with yours this year! The blooms look very healthy!

    Thanks DP, sorry that you had a hard time with yours last year. Maybe you could try them in a new area sometime in the future? 🙂

    Reply

  19. Hi Racquel! I am planting a veggie garden this year too for the first time ~ have I told you already? It’s a 3′ X 3′ raised bed and it’s pretty exciting. So far, I have an artichoke, tomato, green beans & yellow crooked neck squash. That may be it for the first year. I can’t wait to eat some squash cakes like you posted on your blog last summer! Good luck with the peppers & tomatoes in your bed. They are looking so good already.

    Hi Kathleen, no I don’t recall you mentioning the raised veggie bed. Congrats! I think you will enjoy it as much as I have so far this spring. Wow you got some yummy veggies planted in your bed. I’m already thinking of adding one or two more this fall, don’t tell hubby, lol! 😉 Oh you will love those yummy fried squash patties. They are my favorite! Thanks for the well wishes, same to you!!!!

    Reply

  20. Hi Racquel, flowers already! Hooray for food crops. I have read that celebrity is a mix of determinate and indeterminate type tomatoes. I’m not sure what that means, but something about setting a crop all at once and also continuing to grow and make more fruit. It is always for sale here, but I have never tried it. We love peppers of all types and find them very easy to grow with adequate water! We are good with that so far anyway. 🙂
    Frances

    It’s so exciting isn’t it! I think the dainty little flowers on the peppers are kind of pretty too. 😉 Thanks for the info on Celebrity, so far it seems to be way ahead of the others. Today I added two more tomatoes ‘Mr Stripey’ and a Cherry Tomato that I forgot the name of now, lol. Thanks for the tip on keeping the peppers adequately watered, good to know info. Glad my veggie garden is close to the rainbarrels & compost bins.

    Reply

  21. Yiour plants are looking so healthy. Lots of good stuff to eat soon. I’ve not heard of lemon boy and willbe looking for a photo of it and how you think it taste. I did plant one tomato this year in a ‘topsy-turvy’. It’s called “German Queen” and is supposed to produce large uniform tomatoes. We’ll see. 🙂

    Reply

  22. Great looking plants! Good eating coming soon. Be sure to show a picture of lemon boy. That’s a new one to me.

    Reply

  23. We have our tomato seedlings ready to put out…but right now it is the strawberries flowering. Sounds like you will get tomatoes over a period of time if each flowers a bit staggered. It is great when you see your plants flower and getting ready to grow some food.

    Looks like you are right about the tomatoes Chris, Celebrity is flowering & Roma just set buds. The others aren’t quite there yet. Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

