May Blooms (GBBD)

(From top L-R across & down: Paeonia 'Sarah Bernhardt, Unknown Pink Rose, Rosa 'Peace', Unknown Creamy Pink Rose, Paeonia 'Karl Rosenfeld'?, Unknown Red Rose w/Nelly Moser Clematis)

(From top L-R across & down: Paeonia 'Sarah Bernhardt, Unknown Pink Rose, Rosa 'Peace', Unknown Creamy Pink Rose, Paeonia 'Karl Rosenfeld'?, Unknown Red Rose w/Nelly Moser Clematis)

It’s that time of the month when Garden Bloggers from all over the world get together and share what’s blooming in their gardens.  May is the month for Roses and Peonies.  I have three Peony plants in my garden, 2 of which I’ve identified as ‘Sarah Bernhardt’.  The third looks like ‘Karl Rosenfeld’, but I could be wrong.  Most of my unknown Roses came from Grandma’s former apartment garden before she moved in with us.  The Red Rose I believe was inherited with the house.  It’s been moved a few times over the years.   

(Top L-R across and down: Astilbe, Achillea 'Summer Pastels', Coreopsis 'Jethro Tull' and Grandma's Daisies)

(Top L-R across and down: Astilbe, Achillea 'Summer Pastels', Coreopsis 'Jethro Tull' and Grandma's Daisies)

 This white Astilbe has long since lost it’s id but is the earliest bloomer amongst all the ones I own.  It reminds me of sparklers on the fourth of July.  Achillea or Yarrow is great for filling in the bare spots.  I love the ferny foliage as well as the blooms.  ‘Jethro Tull’ was a new addition last May to the garden.  It is the easiest one I’ve ever grown and the two small plants I purchased were divided into four plants this spring.  Can’t wait to spread it around a bit more.  Grandma’s Daisies are happily blooming at the moment.  This is a early variety and the flowers are much smaller than the typical Shastas. 

(From L-R across & down: Allium mulitbulbosum, Clematis 'Dr Ruppel', Unknown Iris, Clematis 'Niobe', Siberian Iris ' New Wine' and Clematis 'Snow Queen')

(From L-R across & down: Allium mulitbulbosum, Clematis 'Dr Ruppel', Unknown Iris, Clematis 'Niobe', Siberian Iris ' New Wine' and Clematis 'Snow Queen')

Alliums are amongst my favorite perennials for the garden.  This past fall I added this white variety along with Purple Sensation which is still blooming as well.  I couldn’t imagine my garden without the vertical interest that Clematis provide in the spring and fall.  Niobe is my favorite since it repeat blooms right up till frost.  I’ve grown Bearded & Dutch Irises for years, but the Siberian Iris is a new addition.  It was added in the spring of 08′, but this second season it has been more prolific with blooms.  To see what’s blooming in other gardens all over the world or to join in this month please visit our gracious host Carol at May Dreams Gardens.

17 responses to this post.

  1. Roses and peonies, some of my favorites! Beautiful May blooms!

    They are some of May’s most beautiful blossoms! Thanks Robin. Happy Bloom Day! :)

    Reply

  2. Beautiful blooms, Racquel! You are way ahead of us in bloom time, so it’s wonderful to see all those lovely roses in full bloom.

    Thank you Rose. Soon your garden will be showing all the blooms that will be past their prime in my garden. And then I can enjoy a virtual encore performance! :)

    Reply

  3. Lovely to see peonies, and your roses are always spectacular. Very beautiful blooms in your garden.

    Thank you Kanak. I’m glad you enjoyed my blooms today especially the Peonies & Roses. They are at their prime in May. :)

    Reply

  4. Beautiful flowers Racquel…it must be a joy to step into your garden each morning! I know we gardeners never sit down, but I would have to have coffee there every morning….until our mosquitoes showed up! gail

    Thank you Gail. It really is nice to sit out there anytime of day for me. ;) I couldn’t imagine starting my day without a cup of coffee & camera, lol.

    Reply

  5. Awesome peonies! They catch my eye right away. So good to have them from your grandmother and to have her around. My grandparents are who I think of when I think peonies. Have a great day!

    Thanks Tina, they are at their best right now. :) The Peonies, Roses & Irises remind me of my grandmother’s garden when I was growing up. She always planted these three along with Glads.

    Reply

  6. Beautiful! I especially love your Clematis!

    Thank you Meryl. I’m glad you stopped by today & enjoyed my blooms. :)

    Reply

  7. Beautiful May blooms! I really enjoy seeing different blogs for the GBBD, You have lovely clematis.
    Happy GBBD!

    Thanks for stopping by today Cathy to see my blooms! I’m glad you enjoy GBBD. :)

    Reply

  8. Peonies bring back long-ago memories for me. They don’t thrive here.
    Clematis and Roses, the best combo in the garden.

    They really are a nice old fashioned flower and I adore the scent. Thanks Nell!

    Reply

  9. That Clematis ‘Snow Queen’ — wow! I passed it by in the nursery recently, but your picture makes me want to go back and have a second look. Your garden is about a month ahead of us up here in Toronto. Looking forward to the summer. Happy GBBD.

    Thanks Helen. It would look great against a dark background, my white shed isn’t doing much for it at the moment. ;) It seems to be pretty low maintenance too. Isn’t it fun to see the variety of plants that are blooming all over the country on GBBD? Happy Bloom Day!

    Reply

  10. Great blooms! The roses have started to bloom in garden too. It makes me smile. It is officially blooming season now!

    Thanks DP. Yep May is the month for Roses and the garden to shine! :)

    Reply

  11. Oh my, spring is in full swing at your place. What gorgeous blooms and such a wide variety!

    Thank you Darla, it is my favorite month of all. The season of Roses, Peonies & Clematis! ;)

    Reply

  12. Wonderful blooms. I envy your roses and clematis. You’re way ahead of us. Cheers/Yvonne

    Thank you Yvonne. I envy your extended spring. We’ve almost jumped right into summer in the past week or so. :)

    Reply

  13. Hi Racquel, what a bevy of beauties! I love that you not only have your grandmother, but her plants as well. The daisy might be the native Oxeye? Astilbes are wonderful is every way, love your early white. Your Snow Queen Clemmie is gonna be a looker too! Yummy!
    Frances

    Thank you Frances. It is nice to have some of her favorite plants growing in my own garden. She is my mentor afterall. :) Thanks for the possible id on the Daisy, I will let her know. I’m glad you loved my White Astilbe & Snow Queen Clemmie. I love those nice doses of creamy white punctuating the garden.

    Reply

  14. That is an adorable bird house!

    I’ll let Grandma know you think so. Thanks for stopping by Nat. :)

    Reply

  15. Ooh, I love your white astilbe. I didn’t realize it came in white and thought it was goat’s beard I was seeing. Also love the Allium mulitbulbosum–sweet!

    Thanks Monica. I love the White Astilbe the best out of all the colors. It’s quite different than the Goatsbeard, but I have it too. :) That Allium has become my new favorite and the seed heads are cool too! :)

    Reply

  16. How did I miss this post? great blooms! Love that peony!

    I don’t know Janet, there are just so many to blogs to visit on GBBD. Thanks! :)

    Reply

  17. The roses and peonies look yummy to my eyes. Thank you so much. About your tree peony, I’ve never grown them before either, and I received one this year. Let’s hope we are both successful. :) ~~Dee

    I knew you would appreciate the rose blooms Dee. :) You are quite welcome, thank you for stopping by to see them. Good luck with your Tree Peony too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

