Vertical Growing Space

Trellis Project

At one time these 4 ft trellises supported my Clematis ‘Niobe’ in the Rose Bed.   When I moved ‘Niobe’ to the front foundation bed they were assigned to the Veggie Garden.  However after considering how short they were for squash, beans and cukes they were replaced with 6 ft composite ones.  So they were homeless again and I’m a big believer in reusing things in the garden. Last December I received quite a few annual seed vines in the mail during my seed swap with other bloggers.  But I was running out of vertical growing space so it was time to repurpose these again.  They were a bit short so I decided to mount them on the fence at the back of the New Garden bed instead of sticking them into the ground.  My Mom gave me the idea of using cup hooks.  Thanks Mom! 

  Hyacinth Bean Vine

And I have the perfect seeds to grow here.  This garden is shades of purple and yellow so the Hyacinth Bean seeds that Brenda @ View From the Pines sent me will be a great addition. I love how she printed a photo of the vine on this envelope, isn’t that clever?  I’ve never grown this particular climber so it will be fun to watch it scurry up the newly placed supports.  Plus it will disguise a large chunk of that plain wooden privacy fence.  You can never have too much vertical growing space in the garden in my opinion.  🙂

21 responses to this post.

  1. What beautiful trellises!

    Thank you DP, my boys gave me those for Mother’s Day a few years back. 🙂

    Reply

  2. I agree, never too much vertical growing. I’ve started growing vines up everything! Great idea to hang the trellis’ to get additional height from them.

    Yep when you run out of space in the ground, you can always grow up! 🙂 Thanks Catherine, my Mom actually gave me the idea.

    Reply

  3. Hey, I want some of those.

    The Trellises or the Hyacinth Beans??? 🙂

    Reply

  4. Posted by cindeesgarden on May 14, 2009 at 1:06 am

    That is going to be a great climber to grow there!(-: I can’t wait to see them!!!! Love the printed envelope too!!!(-:

    Thanks Cindee, I’m looking forward to them scurrying up the trellises soon. 🙂 That Brenda is one creative gal!

    Reply

  5. Racquel~~ Envy, envy! Really cool trellises. Let us know how the Hyacinth Beans turn out. I’ve tried growing them a few times and failed. 🙂 And yes. I concur. Never miss an opportunity to “grow up.”

    Hi Grace, lol. 🙂 I promise to keep you updated on their progress. Glad I have plenty of extra seed, just in case.

    Reply

  6. The trellises look great! So does the envelope!

    Thank you Kanak! 🙂

    Reply

  7. The trellises are supercool! I looked up Hyacinth Beans and saw that their purple blooms look cute! Good luck with them, Racquel.

    Thanks Chandramouli, glad I introduced you to a new vine. They also get purple pods which are supposibly toxic, but yet I’ve read they eat all parts of this plant in Asia. Interesting huh?

    Reply

  8. Racquel .. pass on my thanks to your mom for that idea of the hooks too ! It is a great one : )
    I am always looking for more vertical interest .. and blocking out the view of the neighbors is a great advantage as well .. I have Niobe with Henrii, on the arbor gate .. hoping they will look wonderful this summer too : )

    I will Joy, actually she commented right after you did. lol 😉 It really was a fairly easy way to mount these to the fence. You will love Niobe (I’ve never grown Henrii but I almost bought it this past week) on your Arbor Gate. She is a prolific rebloomer! 🙂

    Reply

  9. Me like 🙂 I can just see this covered in lovely blooms!

    It was your idea Mom, lol. 🙂

    Reply

  10. You will love hyacinth bean. I always have great luck with them. I planted this year, but I think my seeds were no old, so no plants for me. I’ll enjoy their pretty vine and flowers through your pictures! 🙂
    Have a great day Racquel!

    Thanks Linda. I will have to gather some seed this fall & send you some! 🙂

    Reply

  11. You will love the Hyacinth Bean Vines! Be sure to collect the seeds in the fall. They look like little Oreos!

    Thanks Janet, I’ve never grown it before so it will be fun to see how it does in my garden. I know aren’t the seeds adorable?! I’ll collect some for sure. 🙂

    Reply

  12. I’m all about vertical growth! Jamies says I can’t put up any mroe trellises or arbors right now. 😦 You are going to love the Hyacinth vine! I have plenty of seeds for the white blooms if you would like some. :-)-Randy

    Me too Randy. 🙂 That’s a shame, I don’t think you can ever have too many trellises in the garden. I would love some of the white variety, thanks!!!! 🙂

    Reply

  13. Hi Racquel, I grew Hyacinth beans a couple years ago and really liked them The foliage, flowers and pods are all very decorative. Very easy and carefree plants.
    Marnie

    Thanks for the info Marnie. I’m looking forward to all the assets these vines provide. 🙂

    Reply

  14. Those are almost too cute to cover up! Loving the cup hook idea! You will love these Hy Beans. They will really thrive in a garden loved as yours:)

    They are pretty attractive to look at it with no vines on them. I guess they will provide some interest this winter when they are bare, huh? 😉 Thanks Carla.

    Reply

  15. Very nice trellises. The vines will look great growing there.

    Thanks Dave! These were another well thought out Mother’s Day gift a few years ago 🙂

    Reply

  16. Those are nice trellises Racquel. The hyacinth bean is going to look great creeping up them.

    Thanks Susie, I can’t wait to see it grow! 🙂

    Reply

  17. Great idea to hang the trellises with cup hooks on the fence!

    Aren’t gardening friends wonderful? I received hyacinth bean vine seeds from Patsi at Garden Endeavors and I have a nice seedling already! I’m growing it on the inside of my cottage garden fence so that it will be seen at the end of the gravel path as folks enter the front garden gate. I’m so excited about growing this annual vine!

    Cameron

    Thanks Cameron, the credit all goes to my Mom. 🙂 Yep gardening friends are the best, they are the most generous souls in the world. Can’t wait to see yours growing on your cottage garden fence!

    Reply

  18. You definitely had to repurpose these Racquel ~ they’re so pretty. I bet the hyacinth bean will look great growing up and around them. I like vertical space too but I’m not as good at using it as you. I need to remember it more….

    Thanks Kathleen, my boys did good when they gifted these to me a few years back. 🙂 How sweet are you, I hope start thinking vertically now when you garden. You can do it in a container too!

    Reply

  19. Great idea! I never knew how LARGE the hyacinth bean vine leaves were until mine started growing!

    Thanks Darla, I can’t wait for mine to start growing. 🙂

    Reply

  20. Hi Racquel, what a good idea with the cup hooks! Thanks to your mom from me too, we always need taller stuff for the out of control vines. I have grown this bean and it is truly beautiful, the leaves, the flowers, the beans, all of it. This is going to be a wonderful, lush spot. I also enjoyed your redo of the containers. They seem like a good choice for switching out since they won’t crack in winter. I do love the Elfin Thyme too.
    Frances

    Hi Frances, I will pass on your thanks for the good idea to my Mom! 🙂 I’m looking forward to watching this area of the garden fill in with these beautiful vines as a backdrop. I’m glad you enjoyed my red of the containers for the upcoming season. It’s always nice to get a fresh look for the summer months. The Elfin Thyme is so sweet and makes a nice addition where you can really notice it’s delicate little blooms. 🙂

    Reply

  21. Hyacinth beans are so fun! I don’t think they need watching at all except to enjoy. You’ll love them.

    Sounds like a great plant to me Tina. Thanks! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

