May Roses

(from upper left across & down: Rosa 'Peace', Grandma's unknown Pink Rose, Rosa 'Bonica' and the Knockout Rose)

(from upper left across & down: Rosa 'Peace', Grandma's unknown Pink Rose, Rosa 'Bonica' and the Knockout Rose)

The month of Roses has begun.  Every year I look forward to the major flush of blooms that the Roses in my garden push forth in May.  Here is just a few of the roses that grow in my yard.  I also have a ‘Glowing Peace’, unidentified yellow & red roses, another lighter version of Peace and a new climber called ‘Morning Magic’.  This spring my Grandmother added  a miniature pink rose to her garden bed which she is happy about. We’ve been getting alot of rain this week which makes for some problems with the Hybrid Teas.  They are so susceptible to blackspot.  The Knockouts however are so resistant to disease and just keep on blooming right up to December.  There is something magical about this time of the year when the buds start bursting forth with such enthusiasm.  It’s time for May Roses again…

A profusion of pink roses bending ragged in the rain speaks to me of all gentleness and its enduring.  ~The Collected Later Poems of William Carlos Williams

18 responses to this post.

  1. Beautiful. Our roses will be late this year. After the winter I had to cut them back to the soil line. All their cane was dead. I’ll enjoy your until mine finally start to bloom.
    Marnie

    Thanks Marnie, feel free to enjoy my blooms until yours start! Sorry about the winter damage on yours, hopefully they will bounce back quickly. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Your roses are beautiful, knockout seem to be the only ones that grow for me. Doesn’t stop me from trying though.

    Thanks Darla! The Knockouts are quite easy and I’m sure down south they do stand up better to the heat & humidity. You should look at some of the others the Knockout line has developed like Morning Magic which is a climber. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Hi Racquel, Your roses are beautiful. Have you seen the knockout rose at Ernestine’s ?http://myjourneytomindfulness.blogspot.com/ Go to April 28th post. it’s one of the most beautiful knockouts that i’ve seen. I thought that i’d had a lot of blooms…this one is spectacular…I think she said 100 blooms on hers.

    Thanks Balisha. No I hadn’t seen Ernestine’s post about her Knockouts. 100 blooms? Wow! Thanks for the link, I will check it out. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Your collection of roses is so sweet and May is truly the apex of rose-enjoyment time. Have you looked at any of the David Austin roses? They are beautiful and often fragrant, and a heck of a lot less fussy than hybrid teas (they were originally meant for landscape roses, but to my eye they can be specimen roses as well). You’re reminding me I need to get out and check on the wild roses, too…pity to miss them.

    Thanks Pomona. May is the perfect month for roses in my area, it’s not too hot yet. 🙂 I’ve been thinking of adding a couple of the David Austins to my garden. Thanks for the info.

    Reply

  5. Posted by DP on May 7, 2009 at 2:18 pm

    Your May roses are beautiful. Our roses have not started to bloom yet, so it is delightful to see yours!

    Thanks DP! I’m glad you can enjoy mine while you are waiting for yours to open! 🙂

    Reply

  6. Ahh Roses…Racquel, they deserve a month of celebration! Your roses are lovely…Now did I read here that they have Knockout with fragrance? That’s the one I want…ease, beauty and fragrance! gail

    They really do own the month of May with their blooms! 🙂 Thanks Gail! I hadn’t heard of the Knockout with fragrance, sounds like the perfect new addition to your garden.

    Reply

  7. I love how healthy rose bushes look in the cooler weather! So lush and blooming:)

    They do thrive at this time of the year before the humidity of summer sets in! 🙂

    Reply

  8. My Knock-outs are doing fantastic! I went out and dead headed them yesterday already!

    They really are a nice addition to the homegarden with their endless blooms! 🙂

    Reply

  9. Your rose posts are always very beautiful, Racquel. Rose bushes against that white background look great!

    What a sweet thing to say Kanak! 🙂 Thank you!

    Reply

  10. Racquel, how delightful to see roses in May. Our major bloom is June. Yours are beautiful and I see a definite pink pattern here. 🙂 After saying no more roses for me, I planted 2 new ones this year. Even with their finickness I still love them!

    Isn’t that something how a month can make such a difference in our gardens. Yep I gravitate towards the pink & reds, lol. They are hardier in my opinion. 🙂 Good luck with your new ones!

    Reply

  11. Awesome! Ours are not yet blooming .. you know your grandpa loved his rose garden, he would really have enjoyed seeing yours.

    Thanks Mom, hopefully Grandpa is enjoying the roses in my garden now. 🙂

    Reply

  12. I don’t have any roses so I have to enjoy everyone else’s. Thanks for sharing yours Racquel! They are just beautiful! Have a great weekend!

    Well then I’m glad that I was able to share my roses with you Linda. 🙂 Have a nice weekend!

    Reply

  13. They are so pretty indeed! I hope you are picking big bouguets for inside the house too:))

    Thanks Tina, actually I have cut a few to bring in. I really enjoy having them in the garden so I don’t cut many unless one is going to open before a storm or something. Weird huh? lol 🙂

    Reply

  14. There is nothing quite so beautiful as a rose, Raquel! Yours are looking lovely. It will be a while before we have roses in bloom here, but I’m looking forward to it.

    They really a the loveliest flowers in the garden, just a bit needy. Hope you get to enjoy yours asap. 🙂

    Reply

  15. Posted by kaelovinlife on May 8, 2009 at 12:45 pm

    your roses look amazing. mine have suffered a little bit in the hot weather here in atlanta…as well as with a few critters that i’ve identified. i think i have sawfly larvae on mine. working on finding a cure. if you know of anything, let me know. Thx! kae

    Thanks Kae. I’ve never had problems with that particular pest. Mainly Blackspot & the dreaded Japanese Beetles. Hope you find a solution soon & thanks for stopping by. 🙂

    Reply

  16. Your roses are beautiful Racquel. June is our rose month but it might be the end of June this year before we see blooms. We had a bad winter for them (dry & too much wind) so I lost most of my hybrid teas and the others had to be drastically pruned. At least someone is enjoying them. That’s a good thing!

    Thanks Kathleen. I’m so sorry about your rose losses this past winter. You can enjoy mine for as long as you want! 🙂

    Reply

  17. Aha! Roses! The name itself tingles the happy nerves in our minds and the look of this beauty augments it. Your roses are lovely, Racquel. In Sanskrit it’s called Shatapattra which means hundred petaled and have always amused the Ancient Indian Poets.

    Reply

  18. Oh how I love roses! Mine will be arriving soon, and it seems pretty early to me. But that’s okay by me! It looks like my first arrival will be the deep red climbing Don Juan, but the bright pink Funny Face may just beat him to the punch. We’ll see!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

