Bloomin Tuesday

(Dutch Iris 'Blue Pearl', Siberian Iris 'New Wine' and Dutch Iris 'Apollo'

(Dutch Iris 'Blue Pearl', Siberian Iris 'New Wine' and Dutch Iris 'Apollo')

Welcome to the first Bloomin’ Tuesday in May.  Iris season has begun in my garden.  The Siberian Irises are doing well after being divided last fall.  This is the first of many blooms to come.   Every year when the Dutch Irises open I make a mental note to add more colors. Hopefully when I make my fall order list I remember.   ‘Apollo’ was the first Dutch Iris I ever planted and it’s two toned look is pretty.  alliums-page1

My favorite spring blooming bulbs are Alliums.  All colors, sizes, shapes are welcome in my garden.  This large white one is Allium mulitbulbosum and it was a impulse buy last fall from Lowe’s.  I will definitely add more this year.  The Drumstick Alliums are starting to bud up too, so in another week or so they’ll be in full glory as well. 

(Peony, Grandma's Miniature Rose, and Rhododendrum)

(Peony, Grandma's Miniature Rose, and Rhododendrum)

My first Peony bloom that I showed starting to open on Sunday is glorious.  Of course the rains came again this evening so I ran out & cut it for a vase.  Here’s a shot of Grandma’s miniature Rose that I got her for Mother’s Day.  She picked it out when we went to Wally World on Sunday.  And I had to throw in one more photo of the lavender Rhodie in all it’s glory.  This is the best I’ve ever seen it look since I planted it 5 or 6 years ago.    To see more Bloomin’ Tuesday posts or to join in this week please visit  Jean @ Ms Greenthumb.

31 responses to this post.

  1. All looks great Racquel! I had a few peonies open through the day today, just like your post. This morning they were so tightly closed I didn’t even think about the possibility that they might open later in the day. Stay dry –more rain on the way.

    Thanks Janet. Not the ideal time for them to start opening that’s for sure. Yep it’s another rainy day here, but that’s okay I planted more things including my annual seeds. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Alliums, rhododendrons, iris and peonies all in bloom at the same time! I love seeing what your warmer climate and faster spring brings along, it’s such a contrast to our more sluggish crawl towards summer. Alliums are June flowers here, I think. I always forget where I planted them, since they are so much later than all the other bulbs in my garden! Happy bloom day!

    Isn’t it weird how different our climates are and supposibly you are a zone warmer than us. I know our Drumstick Alliums are later May or early June here. Happy Bloom Day Karen! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Just Beautiful!! I can’t wait for my Irises to bloom. So far, tulips are the main attraction in NY.
    Happy Bloomin Tuesday 🙂

    Thanks Tracey. It won’t be much longer now since the spring bloomers have begun in your area. Happy Bloomin Tuesday! 🙂

    Reply

  4. The miniature pink rose look so sweet. I love it! What a sweet garden you have Racquel. Have a lovely day!

    Thanks Stephanie. Have a nice day! 🙂

    Reply

  5. So pretty. Love the Rhododendrum. My peony won’t be out for several more weeks. Yours is just beautiful!

    Thanks Suzanne. I’m glad you enjoyed my blooms today. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Racquel~~ Beautiful flowers. It’s funny, I’ve got several iris blooming but my peony buds are microscopic. We won’t even discuss roses. 🙂

    Thanks Grace. That’s what makes Bloomin’ Tuesday so much fun, to see what other areas of the country have blooming in their gardens right now. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Lovely blooms!!!! I don’t know what is going on with my alliums. I need to go out and investigate. IT has been raining here so maybe tomorrow I can dig around through the foliage for them(-:
    I can’t grow Rhododendrons. . They get to hot here and die. Azaleas grow well though. Not sure what I do wrong.

    Thanks Cindee. Hope you find out what’s going on with your Alliums. Rhododendrums prefer mostly shade where my Azaleas can handle more sun. Plus Rhodies succumb to root rot very easily.

    Reply

  8. Posted by DP on May 5, 2009 at 1:36 am

    Your blooms are so beautiful. We don’t have any yet in the garden, except for a few of the early blooming fruit. The irises are so gorgeous.

    Thanks DP, it’s good to see you back in the blogging world again. 🙂

    Reply

  9. You do have stunning blooms, Racquel. What a pleasure just to look at your photos!

    Thank you Kanak! I’m glad you enjoyed my photos today! 🙂

    Reply

  10. Do the Alliums have any scent? They are quite pretty!
    Aiyana

    They are ornamental onions so other than the smell of onions from the foliage that is the only scent. They really are a great spring & summer bulb! Thanks Aiyana. 🙂

    Reply

  11. Lovely blooms! I noticed I have some buds on some irises-I guess Dutch or Siberian? No idea. Some are yellow and I’ve never grown these before. I am thinking the Apollo? I am hoping Apollo! They perennialize well? I had some ‘Harmony’ iris and thought that was it, now come more. I am so confused on irises:(

    Thanks Tina. The Dutch has a more grass like foliage while Siberian foliage looks similar to Bearded but smaller. I know the Siberians multiply wonderfully, one small clump grew to 6 in one season. 🙂 I’ve never divided the Dutch though. 🙂

    Reply

  12. Beautiful blooms Racquel–great way to start my Tuesday morning! Thanks!

    Thanks Linda, I’m glad I could brighten your day today! 🙂

    Reply

  13. Racquel,
    I’m SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO jealous you can grow rhododendrums. We just have to much sun and heat. We have one, but it’s been hanging by a thread for two years.

    Sorry Randy, they really are a finicky plant. I planted 3 of these 5 or 6 years ago & this was the only one that survived. It gets mostly filtered sunlight and good drainage. With my clay soil they needed alot of amendments, since they succumb to root rot easily.

    Reply

  14. WOW! your flowers are amazing. I love to see them and know what is coming here soon, Makes my heart happy! Thanks for the share, Paula in Idaho

    Hi Paula, yep it shouldn’t be much longer now and you will be enjoying the same blooms in your garden. 🙂

    Reply

  15. You have tons of color around you, it’s beautiful! don’t you just love to stroll around and stare at your work?

    Thanks Darla, strolling through my garden is one of my favorite pasttimes of all! 🙂

    Reply

  16. Pretty as usual Racquel. I have 3 alliums that are budded out. I’m just waiting for them to open.

    Thank you Susie. Can’t wait to see your Allium blooms, they are definitely in my top 10 favorite spring blooming bulbs. 🙂

    Reply

  17. Your iris age gorgeous. I wish we could grow Dutch iris here. I like my allium more every year as the clumps get larger and fill in. Your white one is pretty, I don’t have white. The peonies will bloom here around Memorial Day. Looking forward to that.
    Marnie

    You can’t grow Dutch Iris in your area Marnie? That is a shame, such a pretty spring bulb. Alliums are great for multiplying, every few years I divide mine and spread them around. 🙂 This white one I found at Lowe’s of all places and it really turned out nice. I’ll look forward to enjoying the Peonies blooming again in a few weeks in your garden!

    Reply

  18. Hey,
    I can send you a walking Iris if you’d like me to!!

    Really? Is that something you can mail? That would be great Darla, I would love to have one. 🙂

    Reply

  19. You have some beautiful flowers at the moment. Paeony flowers are so blowsy and over the top, I love them. I also like the Allium multibulbosum – I haven’t got any white Alliums and yours look very attractive.

    Thanks EG. They really are an over the top kinds of flower, good description. lol 🙂 These white Alliums have become as beloved as their purple companions.

    Reply

  20. Awesome blooms! Love the rhodie 🙂

    Thanks Mom, the Rhodie deserved some extra attention this year. 🙂

    Reply

  21. Lovely blooms you are sharing with us today. The picture looks great I love the special effects.

    Tyra

    Thank you Tyra, I’m glad you enjoyed my blooms today. Thanks for noticing the vignetting filter! 🙂

    Reply

  22. Lovely- every one of them! Happy Bloomin’ Tuesday!

    Thank you Dee & a Happy Bloomin’ Tuesday to you as well! 🙂

    Reply

  23. Love those iris Racquel. What beautiful colors.

    Thanks Balisha. I love the variety of colors they come in now. 🙂

    Reply

  24. Beautiful pictures and beautiful blooms. I like the different iris. I only have some bearded. I have just become interested in allium and yours are lovely even if they do smell like onions. lol Happy Bloomin’ Tuesday! Jean

    Thanks Jean! There are so many kinds of Iris now that I’ve become somewhat obsessed with trying them all. You will love the Alliums and only the foliage smells a bit like onions, lol. Happy Bloomin’ Tuesday Jean & thanks for hosting it as always. 🙂

    Reply

  25. Beautiful irises. I keep meaning to plant a few more. It doesn’t get cold enough for peonies here, but they are beautiful. Thanks for the photos.

    Thanks Laura Z. I know what you mean, this fall I mean to stick by that. 🙂 You are quite welcome.

    Reply

  26. WOW!!! Your garden must be spectacular in person Racquel! You have me so excited for my own Alliums to bloom ~ I just added a bunch last year too and already want more! (and they haven’t even opened ~ how greedy is that?!!)

    Thank you Kathleen, how sweet are you! lol, I know what you mean. My purple sensations are looking so good I definitely will be planting more! 😉

    Reply

  27. I was wandering around the garden thinking that i needed more allium! The white you have in your garden is lovely…must jot that name down for fall orders! Love the peony…they make me smile! I found an iris I didn’t know I had…hmmm…maybe Frances gave it to me! You can’t have enough iris! gail

    There is no such thing as too many allium in the garden that’s for sure. 🙂 You would love this white flowering variety, it gets about 3 ft in height and the flower heads are at least 3″ across. Peonies make me smile too with their generous blooms. I bet Frances did share that Iris with you. Nope never too many Iris in the garden either, lol. 🙂

    Reply

  28. Your flowers are ahead of mine, but I have lots of blooms. I need to decide if I’m going to post or read in the hour I have left before I go to bed.

    Lovely blooms and collages!

    This can be a hard time of the year to keep up with the garden & blogging at the same time. 🙂 So many things to do outside & when the weather is nice I want to be out there not stuck inside. 🙂 Thanks Sue!

    Reply

  29. I always like the iris blooms. The alliums are so fun with their pom-pom tops….They add a nice splash early in the season. Ours are still growing up, no blooms forming yet.

    Alliums are fun plants in the garden. I like their pom-pom tops too. 🙂

    Reply

  30. Hi Raquel,
    I absolutely adore your Iris. all of them. I posted my pass along iris 2 weeks ago. Pass along plants are the best. Besides holding such beauty, they are so much more meaningful. Like you said.

    Happy Gardening!

    Hi Teresa. Thank you, your yellow Iris is striking combined with the red rose. 🙂 They really are a nice way to share a part of your garden with someone else. 🙂

    Reply

  31. It is a blooming Tuesday in your garden. Your Rhodie is just fabulous. It’s funny how it always seems to rain right after the Peonies open.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

