Hurry up and bloom!

(From upper left across & down: Deutschland Astilbe, Allium Multibulbosum, Siberian Iris 'New Wine' and Coreopsis 'Jethro Tull'

(From upper left across & down: Deutschland Astilbe, Allium Multibulbosum, Siberian Iris 'New Wine' and Coreopsis 'Jethro Tull'

The garden is full of plants that will be coming into bloom very soon.  Roses, perennials, ornamental shrubs, bulbs & vines are ready to put on their finest display for late spring.  At this point I’m just waiting in anticipation for the things that seem to take their time opening up.  The Astilbes are doing pretty well this year since we had a nice wet spring which they favor.  Here’s just a few buds that are teasing me at the moment in the garden.  Hope everyone has a nice weekend.  I will be meeting up with Janet from The Queen of Seaford for the Learning Garden Plant Sale tomorrow.  I’ll be there bright & early to find some great plants and meet a fellow blogger for the first time. 🙂

12 responses to this post.

  1. You’ll be amazed at how the garden changes even within a few hours. My husband and I walked the garden this morning, then it rained. Then the sun came out. Then we walked the garden again and there are so many more blooms and buds! Just amazing!

    Your garden will be blooming while your gone to the plant sale and surprise you when you get home!

    Have a great weekend!
    Cameron

    It really does after some rain doesn’t it? We’re expecting some this weekend & most of next week. Yay! Actually some more things opened overnight, so exciting. Thanks Cameron, hope you have a nice weekend in the garden! 🙂

    Reply

  2. How wonderful that you and Janet are able to meet, Racquel! Enjoy the day. 🙂

    Thanks Nancy, I had a good day! 🙂

    Reply

  3. come see me straight away, we have a few Yorktown Onions….very few. 🙂

    Thanks Janet! It was so nice meeting you today. I would love come back sometime to explore the gardens further. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Have fun at the plant sale and even more fun meeting Janet!! You two will hit it off right away!

    Thanks Tina, it was fun and she was great! 😉 Stay tuned for more on this…hint hint! lol

    Reply

  5. I know what you mean…hope you find some great plants….and meet wonderful people. Of course it’s fine for your to share the seeds, in my neck of the woods, the more the merrier. Wonder why our green bell peppers did not do right. I have some more that I am going to try…………

    Thanks Darla, it was fun & found some great things for the garden. (stay tuned, lol) I knew you wouldn’t mind me sharing, you were so generous with the amount you sent. Don’t know what happened with the green bell pepper seeds. Good luck with your new batch! 🙂

    Reply

  6. Please don’t rush things. With the weather we have been having, I am afraid everything will be bloomed out by GBBD. Have fun at the plant sale.

    You’re so right I need to bide my time and appreciate the blooms as they come. 🙂 Nope I don’t think we will be out of blooms by GBBD, if we get some rain we will get even more I think. Thanks it was fun to meet up with Janet & I got some goodies too.

    Reply

  7. Now, now, Racquel, I know you’re really a patient gardener! Are you patient now? Now? Ha ha.;-)

    lol Monica, I’m patient to an extent! 😉

    Reply

  8. ‘A watched pot never boils!’ nor does a flower bloom it seems. 🙂 Hope you find many bargans and have a wonderful time with Janet.

    Good advice Beckie. 🙂 I found some great bargains indeed & it was nice meeting Janet. Stay tuned soon…. 🙂

    Reply

  9. They will open soon Racquel! Have fun this weekend–hope you get lots of goodies!

    Thanks Linda, if I’m just a bit more patient they will open in their own time. 🙂 There will be a post soon regarding my plant sale visit. 🙂

    Reply

  10. I’d say patience isn’t an asset we gardeners have. Seems like we are always anxious for those blooms.

    Patience isn’t one of my natural virtures. I’ve learned to be more patient via gardening. 🙂

    Reply

  11. LOL .. “a watched pot never boils” … you will wander into the garden one morning and all will be in bloom. Have fun on your gardening adventure 🙂

    So true Mom, lol. We’re suppose to get some rain today which seems to bring on the blooms too. 😉

    Reply

  12. Faster then a speeding bullet it’s blooming and then over! Is my experience lately. I’ve been known to buy a bloom for the garden–>gorgeous dahlia in the back garden in full bloom! I am hoping that some of the blooms hold off here…for just a bit longer. We are still getting heavy rains, tho they seem to have tapered off for now, and the garden looks like mush! But the grassy areas sure are green. Have a sweet weekend Racquel, happy nursery shopping. gail

    You’re so right Gail, I may need to be be more patient this time of the year. Savor every bloom! Hope we get some of that rain you guys have been getting in Tennessee. Thanks Gail!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

