From the Garden

Here’s a few random photos from the garden I took this morning.  I love the way the early morning light catches on some of the blooms and leaves. 

Hosta, Ajuga, Astilbe & Lirope (variegated)

Hosta, Ajuga, Astilbe & Lirope (variegated)

Tina from In the Garden posted some photos of her favorite foliage combinations.  There are so many to choose from, but at the moment this is on my top ten list.  I love the way the variegated Lirope looks against the lime green foliage of the Hosta as well as picks up on the darker green of the other plants.  And the blue blooms look great against all that pretty foliage too.    😉
 
Dutch Iris 'Blue Pearl'

Dutch Iris 'Blue Pearl'

More of the Dutch Irises are starting to come into bloom now that my beloved white ones have faded.  This one is actually a much deeper purplish blue than my camera could capture.  ‘Blue Pearl’ was planted last fall in the circular bed in the center of the Arbor Garden.  They encircle the birdbath.   In the background you can just make out the Clematis ‘Nelly Moser’  in all her glory. 
Dicentra spectabilis (Bleeding Heart)

Dicentra spectabilis (Bleeding Heart)

Another one of my favorite shade lovers is starting to push out some blooms finally.  These were late risers this spring.  Of course one was composted by mistake as I mentioned in my Take Time to Notice  post on Sunday.  Plus I added a couple more this year to the garden like the white version ‘Alba’ which has just emerged and some more of the pink old fashioned ones to a container.  But that’s another post. 

Iris pallida (Sweet Iris or Dalmation Iris)

Iris pallida (Sweet Iris or Dalmation Iris)

I inherited this Iris with the house when we bought it 12 years ago.  It was one of a few plants that existed in the current Arbor Garden.  It has a sweet scent that reminds me of grape jelly.  I know Frances of the Fairegarden spoke briefly about this particular Iris the other day.  Over the years I had given so much of it away that it had actually disappeared from my garden.  Luckily a generous neighbor gave me a small clump of it last fall before she moved.    Well these were a few random photos from the garden today.  I just love Spring!  Always something new to look forward to at this time of the year.  🙂

18 responses to this post.

  1. That first pictures is brilliant! But that second picture has stolen my heart. I love the way you showcased the iris with the iberis in the background with the light showing the way it did. Spring is great!

    Thanks Tina. I’m glad you enjoyed my photos. 🙂

    Reply

  2. I love the brilliance of that Dutch Iris, but then I love all your garden pics 🙂

    Thanks Mom! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Racquel,
    Dontcha just love a pretty iris! Your ajuga is a little different than mine, I love the little blue flower spikes.

    Hi Randy, I really love these Dutch Irises! What kind of Ajuga do you have, this is just the common one I think. It was a pass-a-long from a friend years ago. Thanks!

    Reply

  4. So lovely! This time of year is so much fun.

    Cameron

    Thanks Cameron, it’s my favorite season of all! 😉

    Reply

  5. Isn’t ajuga pretty when it blooms? Wish it bloomed longer. Love the bleeding heart.
    Marnie

    I really love the sea of blue it creates in the garden. I noticed the more shade it gets, the longer the blooms stick around. Yep that little Bleeding Heart was my first shade perennial I ever purchased. The flowers are just so unique. 🙂

    Reply

  6. I came home from SC to my Irises blooming. What a welcome. I really like your ajuga with the hostas and astilbe and liriope. Nelly Moser is really going to town isn’t she?

    That was a nice welcome home surprise! Thanks Janet, that combination really pleases me. Yep Nelly is on a roll this season so she must love her new location. Last year she was looking a big ragged so I cut here back severly & moved her to a location where she would get only part sun.

    Reply

  7. I post flower-related images each Monday. Yes, I agree with what you say about early morning light!

    I will have to stop by on Mondays to see your flower images David. Thanks for stopping by today! 🙂

    Reply

  8. Your blooms are looking so good! I like all those textures together in the first picture. I love spring too but it seems summer has robbed us of it.

    Thanks Susie! I love combining color & texture for interesting vignettes in the garden. Hopefully spring is coming back soon to your area. The last two days here have been cooler which is more like it. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Posted by greenwalks on April 29, 2009 at 7:48 pm

    Lovely, all! Iris always reminds me of my great-aunts, they really had a million and they were all so different from one another and magnificent.

    Thanks Karen. Yep the Iris is a garden classic. My grandmother & her mother grew them in their gardens for years. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Racquel, the blue does look wonderful against the green foilage and with the different leaf shapes really compliments each one. I have always wanted Dutch iris but never can remember to plant any. They are such bright spot s of color. Glad you go back your ither iris! Nellie is certainly exploding with blooms and the bleeding heart is so dainty. Thanks for sharing your lovley photos.

    Thanks Beckie, I’m glad you enjoyed all the photos today. I am happy with that combination of plants in the first shot. It’s rare as a gardener to look at something & say yep that’s complete. 🙂 You really need to plant some Dutch Iris, you won’t be disappointed. I’m glad I shared so much of that Iris that there was plenty of it in my neighbors’ gardens to share back. Nellie is making up for her poorly performance last spring. She really is pleased with her new location I guess. 🙂

    Reply

  11. I love all the flowers(-: Funny how we give away the whole plant and don’t save some for ourselves! That has happened several times to me(-: Glad you were able to get another start(-:

    Thanks Cindee, yep we are so generous with sharing our garden with others that sometimes we go to far. 🙂 Luckily most of my neighbors have starts from my garden to share back with me! 🙂

    Reply

  12. Hi Racquel, how are you? I see you have been blessed by your beautiful blue blooms. Oh, I love them so much. The blue Iris especially. I adore bleeding hearts. I think this flower is so special. Have a wonderful day and coming weekend 😉

    Hi Stephanie! I’m good, how about you? Yes I just adore the Dutch Iris and haven’t been disappointed by any of the colors I’ve planted. The Bleeding Heart is pretty special, such a uniquely shaped blossom. Have a nice weekend! 🙂

    Reply

  13. I love the random photos! No Iris blooms here, No Nelly Moser here and the bleeding heart is just now peeking out of the ground………It’s so strange at what is blooming where in the world…..

    Thanks Darla. It was a random photo kind of day. 🙂 It is a bit strange how different our zones can be, usually your stuff shows up before mine.

    Reply

  14. I love the first photo with the ajuga, hosta, and lirope. They make a great combo with the different colors, textures, and leaf shapes.

    Jan
    Always Growing

    Thanks Jan, I’m happy with how that area turned out with the combination of colors, textures & shapes as you said. It really is interesting even if there were no blooms to speak of. 🙂

    Reply

  15. Love the first picture–it is sooo pretty!!

    Thank you Linda! 🙂

    Reply

  16. Just beautiful Racquel. We won’t have iris here until the end of May but I noticed a few blooms on my pink bleeding heart so that encourages me!! Even tho we seem way behind you, I have to agree that spring is very exciting.

    Thanks Kathleen. End of May huh? By then my Irises would probably melt in the heat of summer. Glad your Bleeding Heart is blooming, mine is a bit behind this year, but that’s okay. 🙂

    Reply

  17. I love your combination of astilbe, ajuga, hosta, and liriope…I have them all, but not together. I love ajuga…I have pink and purple forms. Bleeding heart is so pretty too.

    Reply

  18. Hi Racquel, thanks for the link love! That is the exact same lighter blue iris I have so much of. So glad you were able to get more of it. If not, I could definitely help you out! It all looks lush and inviting there, shade is a wonderful thing. So is this rain we are having, even if it prevents us from getting out there and working outside. We need every drop. 🙂
    Frances

    Reply

Leave a Reply

