Take time to notice…

take-time-to-notice-001

the little things in nature like the ladybug who is happily visiting the roses at the moment

Rhododendrun

Rhododendrun

or the tightly closed buds that  might burst open in a single day to reveal their pretty faces to you

Allium 'Multibulbosum'

Allium 'Multibulbosum'

or how some plants keep the garden from being taken too seriously and make you smile in the process

Dicentra spectabilis

Dicentra spectabilis

or the plants that are growing in your compost pile might be your favorite shade lover you thought had died.  Take time to notice the little things in life, they might surprise you.

31 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by me2watson on April 26, 2009 at 7:54 pm

    Hug a shade lover today!

    Beautiful pics! Glad I took a time-out.
    The Rhododendron is noticeably complex.
    And Dicentra spectabilis is a lovely name.

    Surprise! Uncle Tree

    http://me2watson.wordpress.com/

    Reply

  2. You are so right Racquel. We all need to take time to “smell the roses.” Thanks for the great reminder!

    Reply

    • Posted by Racquel on April 26, 2009 at 10:58 pm

      Glad I could remind you Linda! 😉 At this time of the year we get so busy with the spring tasks that sometimes we forget to sit back & enjoy it.

      Reply

  3. Can’t wait to see the allium bloom.

    Reply

  4. Not sure if I can-pruning, weeding, planting, seeding-urgh! Need to slow down for sure. Thanks for the reminder.

    Reply

    • Posted by Racquel on April 26, 2009 at 11:00 pm

      I know Tina, this is a busy time of the season. Just remember to sit back & enjoy the fruits of your labor. 🙂

      Reply

  5. I couldn’t agree with you more Racquel!

    Reply

  6. That is so true. It is important to see all the little things(-:

    Reply

  7. Very good advice! Lovely pictures.

    Reply

  8. Great flowers and photos! Yes, take time to enjoy all. We had a nice walk at Duke Gardens today in spite of the 90 degree heat. Lots of native azaleas were blooming. Great Blue Heron, ducks and such were having a great time, too.

    Cameron

    Reply

    • Posted by Racquel on April 26, 2009 at 11:17 pm

      Thanks Cameron! 😉 I’m glad you got out & enjoyed nature this weekend. Sounds like there was lots going on at Duke Gardens.

      Reply

  9. Lots to notice in the garden this time of year; things seem to be springing up overnight!

    Reply

  10. True !!!
    There are so many wonderful small things to enjoy in the garden now!
    Lovely!
    Linda

    Reply

  11. Hi Raquel~~ Yes. The little things. I’ve been pulling back mulch, hoping to see little signs of life. What joy when I see telltale specks of green emerging from the winter worn earth.

    Reply

    • Posted by Racquel on April 27, 2009 at 11:32 am

      Hello Grace. You sound like me, I really try to appreciate every little new sign of life in the garden at this time of the year. 🙂

      Reply

  12. I love rhodies, I have three outside my window and can’t wait till they bloom .. great pics daughter 🙂

    Reply

  13. So true!!

    Reply

  14. Very true Racquel. I love it when I find a plant alive that I thought had died. Hurray for the bleeding heart!

    Reply

    • Posted by Racquel on April 27, 2009 at 7:40 pm

      Thanks Kathleen, I was quite amazed to find this tough little plant that I figured sprouted from a tuber that I assumed was dead when I divided them this past fall.

      Reply

  15. Can’t wait to see those allium open. I’ve been adding more allium to my garden. So pretty and so easy to grow.
    Marnie

    Reply

    • Posted by Racquel on April 27, 2009 at 7:35 pm

      Me too Marnie, I have two new varieties this spring that are in full bud just waiting to burst open. 🙂 They really are a easy & long blooming bulb.

      Reply

  16. A good reminder….our garden is often the place to just “be” and observe another world.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

