Freshening up the garden

a-fresh-coat-of-paint-pageIsn’t it amazing how a fresh coat of paint can give new life to garden features?  After years of having the swing base a bright white and the swing being a faded shade of brown it was time to freshen it up a bit.  My son’s girlfriend gave me the idea to tie my signature red color into the other side of the garden.  So yesterday I sprayed the old metal base ( a curb rescue from my friend’s house)  a nice shade of brown called ‘Leather Brown’.  I’ve stated many times on here that spray paint is my favorite tool!    Doesn’t this color just pop against the bright green grass & brown mulch in the beds?  The washtub planter & bench got a fresh coat this year too.  It keeps them at their best throughout the seasons.  Hope everyone is having a nice weekend thus far, it’s a beautiful day here!  🙂

16 responses to this post.

  1. I love new paint! Looks great and what a difference it makes!

    Thanks Tina, it really does perk the old faded accessories up! 🙂

    Reply

  2. I was just talking about paint in my talk, Racquel: I told people that using one particular colour as a theme colour really gives the garden a planned look, even when (as in my case) the gardener style is ruthlessly eclectic chaos. My particular colour is periwinkle blue.

    It does unify the garden with these spots of the same color. Red is so brilliant that I only have a little bit of it. I remember the periwinkle blue in your garden, it was on a arch or arbor as a I recall. Great color! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Looks very inviting.

    Thanks Janet, I love sitting on that swing cause I can see most of the garden from it. 🙂

    Reply

  4. I love this .. great job daughter 🙂

    Thanks Mom! I’m glad you love it. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Yes, fresh paint brightens up garden features — and clothes unless one is careful! 🙂

    lol, I’ve had my share of mishaps with paint Monica. I was really careful this time since I tend to be a bit of a clutz, lol. 😉

    Reply

  6. Posted by mothernaturesgarden on April 25, 2009 at 1:54 pm

    I like it.

    Thanks Donna! 🙂

    Reply

  7. it does look good Racquel…It’s the perfect color! gail

    Thank you Gail. 🙂

    Reply

  8. I love that color too(-: Nothing like a fresh coat of paint to liven up the garden(-:

    We have great taste Cindee! 😉 You got it!

    Reply

  9. Everything looks great!

    Thanks Kim! 😉

    Reply

  10. Posted by greenwalks on April 25, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    That’s a great color, we used it as the trim accent on our house when we had it repainted a few years ago. As you say, it’s so great with green.

    Thanks Karen. I bet it makes a great trim color on your house. Our house trim is a deep green, our houses would compliment each other. 🙂

    Reply

  11. I love yard swings! Are you going to grow some of your fabulous clematis up the supports? 🙂

    Cameron

    That’s a great idea Cameron, why didn’t I think of that? 🙂

    Reply

  12. A new coat of paint makes anything look so much better. Love your swing. Glad you had a good day to be out in the yard. We were out all day but at a track meet so no gardening for me today.

    It really does give anything a new lease on life. 🙂 Thanks Susie, I didn’t spend too much time out there this afternoon it was in the upper 80’s today and is going to be in the 90’s Sun & Mon. Hope we’re not skipping spring this year.

    Reply

  13. Hi Raquel~~ The red bench with the barberry is a nice color echo. It brings out the color in both.

    I usually don’t like those stand-alone swings but yours is totally cool.

    And happy weekend wishes to you too.

    Hi Grace~ thanks for noticing the contrast of the barberry with the bench. I moved this tiny shrub over behind the bench last fall, I love the way they look together. 😉 I know what you mean about the stand alone swings, the ones with the padding & overhead awnings don’t really look that great in the garden. I’m glad you like mine though. Have a great rest of your weekend!

    Reply

  14. I really like the red accents, Racquel! Spray paint is one of my best friends, too. I painted an old wicker chair a little darker red or burgundy last year and set it by the back door. What a difference that change in color made!

    Thanks Rose! It really is a cheap & fast solution to any situation huh? That’s a fabulous color for your wicker chair, I bet it really looks great next to the back door. Spray paint can make anything look like new or newer again. 🙂

    Reply

  15. What could be more vivid and happy than the color red? I myself adore the color. And I love what you’ve done with it in your sweet garden.
    Brenda

    It is a happy color. Even in the house I have a bit of a red theme too, the couch is red & a couple of accessories. In your garden I love that cobalt blue birdbath. Thanks Brenda! 🙂

    Reply

  16. What a wonderful pickup of color in your garden! Accessories sure add that extra punch that our gardens need! Wonderful choice of color..great job!!

    Thanks Anna. I love my red accents in the garden, especially in the fall & winter months when the riot of color has disappeared in the garden. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

