Native Plants

Goatsbeard, Butterflyweed, White False Indigo, Gray Beardtongue, Jacob's Ladder & Trillium 'Wake Robin'

Goatsbeard, Butterflyweed, White False Indigo, Gray Beardtongue, Jacob's Ladder & Trillium 'Wake Robin'

I made my annual spring trek to the Native Plant Sale at the Virginia Living Museum this morning and came home with some real treasures for the garden.  In the above photo you can see all my new babies.  Most of them require Part Shade conditions which is perfect for my yard.   Three of these ( Goatsbeard, Butterflyweed,  & Jacob’s Ladder) I was  pleased to find since my existing plants didn’t emerge this spring.  They had over a 100 plants which included perennials, vines, trees and shrubs.   My hubby was surprised at how many people were waiting for the doors to open when we got there. 

Unknown Native and Skullcap Hyssop

Unknown Native and Skullcap Hyssop

While there I was hoping to identify the one plant that I thought was a Skullcap Hyssop and now I’m really confused.  The plant that I thought was a False Indigo or Baptisia is actually the Skullcap Hyssop. Now that leaves me with an unnamed plant that completely has me baffled.  After doing much searching online it sort of looked like one photo of a Virginia Bluebell I found.  So I sent an email to smartyplants.org with a couple of photos of this beautiful little native’s flowers and foliage.  Hopefully soon I will have the correct name and I will keep you all updated.

14 responses to this post.

  1. Great buys! BTW, I love you new firepit area, great job with the stones/bricks.

    Thanks Mom. I’m glad you love the new firepit area, the boys are really enjoying it this spring. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Looks like you got some neat looking plants there! I look forward to seeing what you find out about the mystery plant.

    Thanks Susie. I’m very excited to have more natives in the garden this year. I’ll keep you all updated on what I find out about my mystery native. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by mothernaturesgarden on April 18, 2009 at 11:02 pm

    Every year I am going to plant Butterfly Weed then never do. I love it when I see it blooming roadside and then forget about it. Thanks for the reminder.
    Donna

    You are quite welcome for the reminder. We need all the butterfly magnets in the garden we can get. 🙂

    Reply

  4. What sweeties you have there! I hope you get your mystery plant identified.

    Thanks Sue! I’ll keep you all updated on the id mystery. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Lucky you to go to a native plant sale! Good buys too. The butterfly is VERY late to emerge-mine haven’t showed up either, but they will and yours will too I bet. Good luck on your plant ID.

    Thanks Tina, I feel very fortunate to have these resources nearby. Thanks also for the tip, I will keep an eye out for them now that you told me they were late risers. I’ll keep everyone updated on the plant id! 🙂

    Reply

  6. Posted by greenwalks on April 19, 2009 at 12:42 am

    So exciting to bring home new babies, and natives at that! Didn’t know about Smartyplants, I will have to try that sometime if ever my usual IDers don’t help me out. 🙂

    It really is nice to add more natives to the garden each spring. Glad I could give you another source for plant ids Karen. I had already posted this plant on here before & noone seemed familiar with it.

    Reply

  7. Nice buys Racquel. How fun to go to a native plant sale. I haven’t seen one of those in my area. I bet they will all do great for you. Your mystery plant does look a bit like a bluebell. Are you going to update when you get an answer back?? There are so many knowledgeable gardeners on the web, if Smartyplants can’t help you, I’m sure someone who reads your blog will know.

    Thanks Kathleen. I’m pleased as punch with my purchases. 🙂 When I went online to plants.usda.gov, out of zillions of photos of the Bluebells only one looked similar to mine. Yep I promise to post an update when I find out the id on this mystery plant. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Yay, native plants!

    Thanks Monica. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Hi Racquel, what a great selection you have bought. They all look so healthy too. We cannot grow the Jacob’s ladder here, not sure why. I always blame the drought, but it could be something else at work. I don’t know your mystery plant, but do know it is not VA bluebells, Mertensia virginica. Maybe Phacelia? of some kind? Not sure of the spelling.
    Frances

    Thanks Frances, I’m happy with the choices I made. They really do take good care of the plants they propogate for this sale. Hmm..hope the Jacob’s Ladder does well in my garden. It’s suppose to be native to this area so we’ll see I guess. Yeah I didn’t think it was Virginia Bluebells either, and thanks for the suggestion of Phacelia. I’ll have to do more digging on my own while I wait I guess. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Racquel .. I am a big supporter of buying natives when ever I can .. we both share a lot of the same ones .. but that problem of identification being screwed up can be very frustrating .. I am so jealous of your great finds girl !! I am looking at my “bomb” site still no deck and rain most of the week .. talk about aaarrrgghhhh ! factor ? LOL

    Hi Joy, thanks for understanding. I think it must of been mislabeled when I purchased it and not just that I lost the tag. 😉 Thanks I am pleased with the finds I got this time. Hope that the deck gets completed soon so you don’t lose it completely. Hang in there Joy, it will be worth all of this suffering when it’s all said & done. Cross my heart!

    Reply

  11. Oh, the sight of new and not yet planted plants! Be still my heart!
    Brenda

    Their all tucked in nicely to their new homes now Brenda. 🙂

    Reply

  12. Your post reminds me…I want to buy Jacob’s Ladder this year! You got lots of great plants Racquel. Can’t wait to see how they do this summer!

    Glad I could remind you Linda. I had planted the variegated one last fall but it hasn’t emerged yet. Thanks I’m pleased with my finds this spring. 🙂 I’ll keep you all updated on their progress.

    Reply

  13. Those should make some nice additions to your garden. I guess others know they are waiting for some good finds – lining up early. Hopefully you can identify your unnamed plant…it’s nice to know what you have.

    Thanks Chris. Yep in years past it wasn’t quite that busy, but they’ve been advertising it in the garden section of the newspaper lately. I hope they are able to help with the id too, it would be nice to have a name for this pretty little native. 🙂

    Reply

  14. I must not have been in blotancal when I first read this. I just “picked” the post. Now that my mystery plants are bigger, I may post them again. I have other posts in the works, too, that I need to find the time to put up.

    Happy gardening!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

