Trying new things…

2009-04-15_1401221

My sons and their friends love to sit outside on cool spring & fall evenings around a toasty fire.  We’ve had a dinky little firepit for years that was on it’s last leg so it was time to upgrade to something better.  In my head I envisioned a brick or paver patio to put under it.  So the other day we went to Lowe’s ( my favorite big box store of all time) and purchased these pavers ( the bricks were already in my garden not being used), some sand and a new king size firepit.  Here in the first photo is the dry fitting we put together to get the dimensions before we dug out the grass & soil.  Misty the beagle is trying it out to see if it’s stable, lol.  The second photo shows us putting down the sand base to keep it from shifting and to make it level.  The final photo is our completed project and I am so proud of me & Hubby for stepping a bit out of our comfort zone & trying new things in our yard.  Next on the list is a couple of benches that my hubby is going to make for us to sit on while we roast our marshmallows.  🙂

27 responses to this post.

  1. I am proud of you too for making it. The sky is the limit for those benches. Maybe a his and hers bench-you make one and he makes one? Should be interesting….The new base looks good and roasted marshmallows-ah summer!

    I will take that as a great compliment from the queen of DIY projects in the garden! 🙂 Hmm..that is an interesting idea but since I am dangerous with sharp objects, lol, I’ll leave the powertools to the hubby. That is his area of expertise. My youngest son will probably jump in to help on this project though since he loves to help Dad makes things. 😉

    Reply

  2. That is VERY cool. You and your hubby should be proud of yourselves. I can almost taste the marshmallows!

    Thanks Grace for the pat on the back! Yep those marshmallows will be even yummier knowing we made this area all by ourselves. 🙂

    Reply

  3. That was very neat, Racquel. The firepit looks cool (Isn’t it supposed to be hot :P) Great Job!

    Thanks Chandramouli & lol yes I guess it is cool project that gets hot fast. 🙂

    Reply

  4. What a fun place to be spending evenings this year! Looks great! 😀

    Thanks Cynthia, it will be fun to spend time with the family here. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Very cool idea! I am sure your family is going to have a lot of fun there. Have blessed day!

    Thanks Stephanie! I think we will be enjoying this area for years to come. 🙂

    Reply

  6. There’s going to be a lot of chatter around that firepit! I love it!!

    Thanks Darla, I’m looking forward to the time we spend here. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Looks very nice Racquel. Enjoy!

    Thank you Janet, we will! 🙂

    Reply

  8. You will love this! Out kids gave us a firepit 2 years ago for Christmas. We love using it. We use pinon wood for the wonderful smell.

    I’m looking forward to breaking it in soon Linda! 🙂 Thanks for the tip on the pinon wood!

    Reply

  9. Wow! That looks great! If I bring my own marshmallows, can I come?

    Thanks Susie, of course you have an open invitation always! 🙂

    Reply

  10. Enjoy those marshmallows. If you roast hot dogs don’t forget to tell Misty they’re not real.

    Thanks Wiseacre! lol If we roast hotdogs we might have to fight Misty for them, afterall she is a hound. 😉

    Reply

  11. It looks great! I was hoping to do something similar. I may just have to copy your design!

    Great minds think alike Dave. 😉 I’m glad you liked the design. Feel free to copy it. I don’t mind since imitation is the finest form of flattery in my opinion.

    Reply

  12. My kids love a bonfire.We have them at my daughter’s house in Wis. This firepit will get a lot of use I’m sure. It’s nice to have things for kids to do with their friends at your home.It keeps them close.

    If we lived on the outskirts of town we could do bonfires, this firepit is our city version. 🙂 I like that my boys stay close to home. Keeps them out of trouble.

    Reply

  13. Very nice Racquel, you and hubby did a great job. It’ll be special on beautiful summer nights.

    Thanks RG! We are really going to enjoy this new area in the garden. 🙂

    Reply

  14. Posted by linda hassler (considerthelilies) on April 16, 2009 at 10:09 am

    Oh, you make this look so ‘doable’….I want to do something like this under a pergola my husband is about to build for me. Love your blog!!! considerthelilies (Linda)

    It is quite doable Linda. I think it would look great under your Pergola that your handy hubby is making for you. Thanks, I’m glad you enjoy my blog & stop by again. 🙂

    Reply

  15. I too love fires but I like the flames to get really high… 😉

    You & my eldest son would get along fine Monica, lol! 😉

    Reply

  16. A very neat effort – I hope Misty will get a bench too – and a comfy cushion 🙂

    Thanks EG, I told hubby about the cushion for Misty & he laughed. 🙂

    Reply

  17. oh, how fun Racquel! I’ve wanted one of these fire pits for a while now too. They look so inviting to me (especially on spring & fall evenings ~ not so much on a hot summer night). Good job stepping out of your comfort zone and great job with the pavers.

    Thanks Kathleen. I think you should make you a firepit area, you already have those great green chairs to cozy up in next to it. 🙂

    Reply

  18. That looks really great. I’m currently doing a similar project in my garden, but I hadn’t thought of paving under where the firepit is going to go. Duhrrr! Now I will. I’m rather jealous of the firepit too… I’ll be back to see how the benches shape up.

    Thanks Victoria. I think you will enjoy your new area and a firepit would be a nice addition to that area. I figure the paving will make it a bit more safe (no burnt grass). 😉 When we get the benches together (hubby is thinking of using the odd scraps of treated lumber we have stored in the shed) I’ll post a pic.

    Reply

  19. Posted by mothernaturesgarden on April 16, 2009 at 1:19 pm

    The firepit area looks really nice. Bravo! I think we go to Lowes everyday.

    Thanks Donna, yep we spend alot of time there ourselves, lol! 😉

    Reply

  20. lovely… an interesting piece to brighten up the garden … cheers! ~ bangchik

    Thank you Bangchik! Cheers to you too! 🙂

    Reply

  21. We want a fire pit too! Sometimes it is nice to sit in the evening around a fire. You project looks successful, and I’m sure you will make much use of it.

    It would make a nice addition your yard as well Chris. It’s a nice way to spend time as a family in the cool spring & fall evenings. Thanks! 🙂

    Reply

  22. Raquel, you made that project look easy! Congratulations! Can’t wait to see the benches. I love the white iris and the collage posts..what great blooms you have going!

    I don’t know about that Lynn, but it wasn’t as difficult as we first imagined. 🙂 Thanks I’m looking forward to the sitting area my hubby will be creating for this area. Isn’t that white iris gorgeous? I’m just loving all the color in my garden this spring.

    Reply

  23. Looks great.

    Thank you Deb! 🙂

    Reply

  24. I’ve been looking at those outdoor fireplaces for two years. Maybe this will be the year I actually get one. I like the paved area, it look really nice and I can imagine the benches.
    Marnie

    They really are a nice addition to the garden. My boys love a good fire in the pit. Thanks Marnie! 🙂

    Reply

  25. I’ve been trying to think of a floor for a seating area. I really like yours! I may try this in my yard.
    Brenda

    This would be great for a seating area too Brenda. 🙂

    Reply

  26. That is great! I’m inspired and I appreciate the photo step by step!
    –GartenGrl

    Glad I could inspire you Gartengirl. 🙂

    Reply

  27. You did a great job, Racquel! There’s something about a fire on a cool evening–I bet your family will get a lot of enjoyment out of this.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

