Pleasing combinations

Berberis 'Dwarf Crimson Pygmy' and Narcissus 'Thalia'

Berberis 'Dwarf Crimson Pygmy' and Narcissus 'Thalia'

My favorite little Barberry is leafing out.  I really like the way the deep purple foliage looks with the pure white of the Thalia Daffodils.  This little guy was transplanted last fall from the fountain bed where it was getting partial sun at best to mostly full sun.  According to the research I did it will produce white pendant blossoms if it gets sufficient light in the spring.   I’m very addicted to small ornamental shrubs right now.  This is the first year I’ve planted this Narcissus and I’m pleased with the lovely fragrance and long lasting blooms.   Next year I will be looking to add more varieties of Daffodils to the garden for sure.   I’ve already printed out a wishlist of the ones that caught my eye. 

Spirea 'Goldmound' and Muscari 'Bi-color'

Spirea 'Goldmound' and Muscari 'Bi-color'

Soon the foliage of my Spirea will change to a bright lime green shade.   Mixed with the hot pink blossoms it is  striking combination come early summer.  However, right now the bright yellow (almost neon) blossoms make a nice contrast for my new Muscari.  This two-toned  grape hyacinth has been a great new addition.  I will definitely be ordering more of these next fall.   I’ll be curious to see if they multiply as readily as the common grape hyacinths do in my garden.

14 responses to this post.

  1. Raquel~~ Is that sunshine I see? 🙂 Love your bulb/shrub combos. Just delightful.

    Yes it is Grace, isn’t it glorious? 🙂 Thank you, I’m glad you enjoyed the combos.

    Reply

  2. I like your combos, and am intrigued by the Thalia/barberry one. Such a good idea to have the leaves contrast with the flower, so that you don’t have to fret about whether they will bloom at the same time. I’m a huge Thalia fan and if I had a garden large enough I would have hundreds. Thousands.

    Thanks Pomona, the combination was purely by chance on my part. But I’m pleased with the effect myself. 🙂 I’m loving these Thalias too. They are quite addictive with their pleasant fragrance & long bloom time.

    Reply

  3. I like both. Beautiful. Flowers have been my interest all my life, I guess.

    Thanks Blossom! I like combining them with beautiful foliage from these ornamental shrubs. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Posted by atcps on April 10, 2009 at 12:08 am

    Very nice combos. I even like the orange/yellow of the pansies in the wheelbarrow with the blue of the muscari and chartreuse of the spirea. I can’t help but notice your compost bin. It looks so nice and tidy.

    Thank you Tina. I’m glad you like the various color combinations in my garden. 🙂 Yep that is my first compost bin. It’s a rubbermaid, I tried to get another one but it has been discontinued.

    Reply

  5. Hi Racquel, The muscari colour is very nice. The blue is unique as flowers are usually in warm colours (but not this one!). Cool! Yeah get more next year!

    Thanks Stephanie, I really love the two-toned effect of the Muscari too. Yep it is already on my fall must get list. 🙂

    Reply

  6. I like the violetish foliage too. The combination worked out well, Racquel. [Thumps up]

    Thanks Chandramouli, that is my favorite color for foliage. 🙂

    Reply

  7. These are very pleasing combos Raquel! Can’t decide which I like the best!!!

    Thanks Darla. You don’t have to decide, lol. I like them both myself! 🙂

    Reply

  8. The welcome sign looks so perfect among all your pretty plants! I love the grape hyacinths! They smell so good!

    Thanks Linda, it really is my favorite garden ornament. Bless Tina’s heart! 🙂 These are my favorite grape hyacinths, but I was eyeing some other interesting ones in Breck’s fall catalog today, lol.

    Reply

  9. Great combos of color. I have a lot of purple and yellow bloom contrast. It seems to really make everything pop.

    Thanks Janet, that is my favorite color combination of all (purple & yellow). I have an entire garden bed dedicated to that pallette. 🙂

    Reply

  10. And after the daffs fade, the barverry will hide thier foliage until it dries out enough to remove! I do a similar things with daffs and peonies.

    Yep it makes a great cover for their browning foliage as well as the daylillies I mixed into this area too. 🙂

    Reply

  11. I love the daffodils too. I want to plant more next year also. I have a huge clump I need to separate and re plant. I should do that first! I have never had a barberry plant. I looks really pretty!

    Here’s an opportunity for you to have several smaller clumps of those Daffs! I divided mine this year finally after procrastinating for a couple of years. Next spring they will be glorious I hope. You have to get a barberry, they are fantastic. My next one is going to be the golden one.

    Reply

  12. Lovely combos, love the sun and shadows 🙂

    Thanks Mom, I didn’t even notice the shadows until I uploaded the photos, lol. 🙂

    Reply

  13. Racquel ! I love your combinations girl : )
    I love my gold barberry shrubs .. they look fantastic when they are happy .. all of your plants look very contented : )

    Thank you Joy! Gold Barberry is next on my list to add to the garden, funny you should mention them. 🙂

    Reply

  14. I am like you Racquel ~ so many new bulbs on my list to order this fall. Seeing everybodies favorites sure has slimmed my wallet down! I like your bi-colored grape hyacinths too.

    If I got everything I highlighted in the catalogs I would be broke fast. 😉 Thanks Kathleen!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

