‘Little Honey’ (a new addition)

starting in upper left corner across: Hydrangeas 'Limelight', 'Pinky-Winky' & 'Little Honey'

starting in upper left corner across: Hydrangeas 'Limelight', 'Pinky-Winky' & 'Little Honey'

I received the newest addition to my small (but well loved) Hydrangea collection on Saturday.  Welcome to the family Hydrangea quercifolia  ‘Little Honey’, my first oakleaf variety!  I know he doesn’t look like much now but in a couple of years he should catch up with his older cousins ‘Limelight’ & ‘Pinky-Winky’.   Look how well the latter has done since last fall when she went in the ground.   Soon this little guy will be joined by another new addition HYDRANGEA paniculata ‘The Swan’.    I couldn’t resist ordering it from Bluestone Perennials especially  since they had it marked down 50% off  during their great spring sales.  This is another great selection from Proven Winners.   It can be grown as a large shrub or tree and the blossoms resemble origami swans.   Yes I know I have become quite addicted to these paniculata types, but they are so easy to grow & bloom for a long period.  Who wouldn’t want those features in a plant?  Here’s some info about my newest addition ‘Little Honey’:

  • Grow in full sun-part shade
  • Hardy to -20 degree F (or zone 5)
  • 3-4′ tall x 3′ wide
  • Interest from spring to fall
  • Oakleaf foliage
  • Starts out gold than changes to chartreuse and then red in fall
  • Easy to maintain, prune in fall to maintain shape

Can’t wait to see how much it grows over the next year!  I’ll keep you posted.    He’s found a new home in the hydrangea bed with Nikko Blue, an unknown lacecap & Limelight.  🙂

15 responses to this post.

  1. Sounds like it is going to be beautiful. I love the oakleaf varieties. They are a little tougher for us in our Texas heat.

    Thanks Deb! Me too, their foliage is so fabulous! I heard they were sturdier than the mopheads. 🙂

    Reply

  2. I bet it will do just great in your garden! I have not tried the oakleaf kind! I have heard a lot about them though(-: Can’t wait to see it grow!

    Thanks for the vote of confidence Cindee! I’ve been wanting an oakleaf for ages now. Promise to share it’s progress in the garden! 🙂

    Reply

  3. I am looking forward to seeing this little hydrangea as it grows in your garden, mostly for the chartreuse leaves. You will love the oakleafs, I really think they even surpass the paniculatas and arborescens for ease of growth and rewarding interest. What a good start with such a nice cultivar as Little Honey!

    Thank you Tina! Me too! 😉 That’s what I’ve been reading too, about their ease of growth. I’m pleased with my selection. This little guy was the perfect size for my garden. 🙂

    Reply

  4. You can’t go wrong with an oakleaf hydrangea Racquel. I’m always so glad I have mine. Congrats on your new addition. I think you have a nice collection.

    Thanks Kathleen! I’ve been wanting one for ages, so this is a dream come true. 🙂

    Reply

  5. I didn’t know that oak-leaved hydrangeas existed. I’m *really* looking forward to seeing photos of yours as it grows & blooms!

    Really? They are one of the few Hydrangeas native to the US. I promise to share lots of photos of it’s progress & hopefully blooms!

    Reply

  6. I have been looking at Little Honey! You will have to keep us posted as it grows and gets more of that striking yellow!

    lol, Great minds think alike Janet! He’s a real cutie don’t you think? 🙂 I promise to keep you updated on his progress.

    Reply

  7. I’ve seen the oakleaf hydrangea on “growing by the yard” and fell in love with it but never got one.
    Looking forward to seeing all your hydrangeas.

    Yep they are usually so massive in size that I had given up hope of ever getting one Patsi. But this one is perfect for a smaller setting. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Racquel !!!! I can’t believe you got Little Honey ! .. That was going to be my first hydrangea .. but the company I ordered it from a few years ago had stock failure or crop failure ? … in any case I did not get it and moved on the Little Lamb.
    I’ll be so interested in how this one does for you : )
    My next one is Quick Fire .. should be in the end of next week .. but because of the deck from hell waiting for work .. I’m going to have to wait for work in the garden there … BIG sigh !

    Hi Joy, yep I saw her in the catalog last fall & just knew she has to be mine! 😉 Little Lamb is a nice one too. You will be beating me to quickfire, I could of got her for 50% off the day before I ordered White Swan, oh well. You snooze you lose, lol! Hope your deck gets completed soon so you will be able to plant QF asap.

    Reply

  9. Welcome new little hydrangea! You have quite a collection now Racquel. I cannot wait to see them in bloom. Will this one bloom this year?

    Thanks Linda! I’m quite pleased with my collection this year. 🙂 I don’t know if Little Honey will bloom this year or not. I’ll keep you posted!

    Reply

  10. Racquel — I just love hydrangeas! You’re creating quite the collection. I’ll have to see hydrangeas bloom through your photos since I have too many deer and not enough shade.

    Cameron

    Hi Cameron. Thanks, I’m very pleased with my small collection so far. You can share mine via my blog. 🙂

    Reply

  11. It sounds like a perfect little oakleaf…Being small, it will be a boon to gardeners…with that wonderful color change all season long! Love it! Thjanks for sharing and I can’t wait to see it later in the spring. gail

    Thanks Gail, this made her a perfect fit for my garden. I’ve wanted an oakleaf for sometime but they get so massively big that I had given up hope. She takes some sun too which is a plus. In fact her color is better with some sun. Promise to share her progress this season. 🙂

    Reply

  12. Oakleaf hydrangeas are really neat looking! I know you are going to love this one.

    I think so too Susie, their foliage is beautiful! Thank you! 😉

    Reply

  13. Love the Little Honey’s foliage. Good luck with it growing well in coming years, Racquel.

    Me too Chandramouli, that golden tone is spectacular! Thank you for your good wishes! 🙂

    Reply

  14. Sounds delightful!

    It really is Darla! 🙂

    Reply

  15. ‘Nikko Blue’ Hydrangea sounds like a great companion for ‘Little Honey.’ I planted one last fall and am still waiting for the new leaves to appear. It’s a great little shrub.

    Thanks MMD, it should make for a striking combination when Nikko blooms! Can’t wait to see how yours does this year too! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

