Watching the garden evolve

new-things-completed-projects-0071The garden evolves on a daily basis in the spring.  Everyday that I walk out my door there is something new to marvel at so I had to take some pictures of some of the garden beds this year.  For example, the center circle of the Arbor Garden has filled in nicely after all the shifting I did last fall.  I moved the birdbath from the new garden bed over here since it compliments the arch (not shown).   It still needs some tweaking, and mulch of course. Don’t you just love the cute little welcome sign that was made for me by Tina @ In the Garden last season during a giveaway for her Blogaversary.  The Spireas ‘Goldmound’ are wearing their spring coats of bright yellow right now.
new-things-completed-projects-009

The Woodland Garden is filled with Spring bulbs and emerging perennials like Hostas & Ferns.  Yesterday I added more of the Grape Hyacinths that I had moved from another bed.  This bed needs another good weeding & some mulch too. 

new-things-completed-projects-016

The border bed out front is a nice division between me & my neighbor. Little specks of color here & there but mostly shades of green at the moment.  I definitely will have to replace some of the landscape timbers in this bed this year, after 7 years they are showing some signs of decay.  I’m trying to talk hubby into making it a bit longer at the opposite end when we replace the timbers.  Wish me luck! 😉    Off to the right you can see a brief glimpse of what I call the rose bed.  It is has a mixture of hybrids & Knockout roses combined with Phlox, Liatris and Purple Coneflower.  

new-things-completed-projects-012

Last but not least on the tour of the garden beds (and this isn’t all of them)  is the Fountain Bed.  It has been mulched so it looks the neatest at the moment.  Remember those Daffs I divided yesterday?  They found a new home in this bed which desperately needed a punch of spring color.  The Hostas are growing like weeds and the Viburnums are leafing out nicely at the moment.  Soon the Rhododendron in the corner will be pushing out it’s purple blooms.  Have a nice weekend everyone!  🙂

24 responses to this post.

  1. Love your Arbor garden of all, Racquel! And so does the Woodland Garden, but I’m someone who wants color amidst the green. Good luck!

    Thanks Chandramouli, sometimes I find shades of green refreshing in certain areas of the garden. But don’t worry come summer there will major pops of color. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Beautiful gardens Racquel. They all look so nice and colorful. Great job!

    Thanks RG! I’m glad you enjoyed the tour of my gardens this spring. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by mothernaturesgarden on April 4, 2009 at 3:48 am

    Everything looks so tidy and ready for you to enjoy every little change.

    Thanks Donna, I’ve been busy trying to clean it up for the emerging perennials.

    Reply

  4. I like your blues, golds and yellows of the woodland garden. Don’t worry about the weeds for our sake, they don’t show in the picture.

    Thanks Les, I added all that color last fall to perk that garden up a bit for spring! Aren’t you sweet, it’s hard for me to not notice the weeds, lol. 😉

    Reply

  5. Racquel … if you were not such a nice gardener .. I might be disliking you right now girl .. it all looks so beautiful and certainly lush to me looking out at my scary garden right now .. I know .. it will all be worth it in time .. it is the time thing that is getting to me !! LOL
    I really like the birdbath there .. the sun looks beautiful shining in that area : )

    You are such a hoot Joy! LOL 😉 Don’t worry you will have your green & gorgeous garden back soon. Thanks, I’m really happy with the new birdbath arrangement too.

    Reply

  6. It’s all looking great around your place……..We look like we live in a swamp right now. So much rain in a short amount of time, we know more than 6 inches because our gauge was running over……….more tomorrow!!! I was trying to find the link to your older post, trying to catch up!!

    Thanks Darla! If you go down to the bottom of my page you will see a link on the left that says older posts. That is alot of rain! Hope your swamp dries up a bit so you can play in the garden soon. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Thanks for the lovely tour.

    You are quite welcome Daphne! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

    Reply

  8. Looks great Racquel! I hope you’re successful talking your hubby into expanding the bed. This is such an exciting time of year in the garden with new surprises every day. Have a wonderful weekend!

    Thanks Linda and I hope I am successful with the bed expansion too. lol Yep spring is my favorite season for all the new unexpected surprises almost daily. Have a nice weekend!

    Reply

  9. Things are popping to life there! Everything is looking great! Good luck on making that bed longer(-:
    I need to divide daffodils too(-:

    Thanks Cindee, yep the garden is waking up quickly from it’s winter siesta. Have fun dividing your Daffs, this is a good time of the year to do it right after they bloom. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Ooh, very springy! Don’t you just love how the new foliage is kind of paler/more yellow than the mature foliage? I just found some baby sedum (for whom that’s not true, but I just love their little cabbage shapes!).

    Thanks Monica! Yep the new emerging foliage is so young & fresh in the spring. It’s an exciting time in the garden! The baby sedum does look like teeny tiny cabbages as they emerge from the soil. So sweet!

    Reply

  11. Your garden is really starting to respond to spring! It is so exciting to see things start to come back after their winter nap!

    Thanks Linda, I love this time of the year more than any other season. Everything is new & fresh again. 🙂

    Reply

  12. It all looks very good. So succulent and green. I think the composted mulch you added last fall also still looks very very good. So glad you like the sign still! I am probably going to make more this year, but not a guessing contest. Not sure yet. Any suggestions-email me. Thanks for the link.

    Thanks Tina! Yep the compost really made a big difference in all my beds this spring. I love my sign and you are welcome for the link! I’ll try to come up with some ideas for you & email you soon. 🙂

    Reply

  13. Racquel, everything looks so green and lovely! Looks like your have accomplished a lot in the last few days. I didn’t know, either, that you could divide daffodils at this time of year; that’s something I will have to remember. We’re a few weeks behind you in bloom time, but this is making me eager to see what has changed in my garden while I’ve been gone. As you say, every day brings changes.

    Thank you Rose! I’ve been busy, busy, busy for the past week with all the things I want to accomplish this spring in the garen. Yep I find it easier to divide them right after they finish blooming before the foliage is gone. I’m sure your garden will have lots of surprises waiting for you when you get back. Have a fun trip! 🙂

    Reply

  14. Posted by Laura on April 4, 2009 at 10:58 am

    Thank you for the tour- your plants are so much further along than the ones in my yard. I even enjoyed how green your grass looks!

    You are quite welcome Laura, I’m glad you stopped by today! It’s fun to see what others are growing in their own garden right now, even grass can be a nice surprise. 🙂

    Reply

  15. The beds/gardens are looking great Racquel. The last picture looks so warm and springy. I’m getting ready to head out to the flower beds to put down mulch. I almost hate to because Mrs. Bluebird is currently building her nest! Yay!!!! They are so skittish that we will scare them but I have to get some garden chores done. Have a great weekend!

    Thank you Susie! Hope you got your garden chores done without disturbing the Bluebirds too much. I’m glad they decided to move in! 😉

    Reply

  16. I just sighed when I looked at all your garden beds and green grass Racquel. It’s white again here this morning and I’m ready for your look! I really like your fountain bed but they are all looking great.

    Sorry Kathleen, didn’t mean to make you glum. Hope your snow melts fast & spring gets to your garden quickly! Thanks, the fountain bed is my favorite at the moment too. I like the simplicity of it and green is my favorite color. 🙂

    Reply

  17. Things are looking really nice at your house. You are about a couple of weeks or a month ahead of me. I enjoy watching the transformation taking place at your place. Lots of hard work…huh?

    Thank you Balisha. I’m glad you are enjoying watching my garden evolve with me. It is lots of hard work, but I love it! 😉

    Reply

  18. Your garden is looking great! We finally came indoors after a glorious spring day. I did a lot of work in the garden, but we have frost in the forecast for mid-week so I had to cool my jets for annuals. Those are still under the cover of the porch.

    Cameron

    Thanks Cameron! I spent the entire day in the garden too, putting down mulch. Hope we won’t be getting any frost next week too, but I haven’t jumped the gun with annuals yet either.

    Reply

  19. Wow! Compared to you, we’re still in the depths of winter — the last bits of snow are just melting! Everything
    in your garden looks so beautiful, fresh & full of promise!

    Thanks Krys! I think we are ahead of you by at least a month. My crocus are long since spent, but I enjoyed seeing yours. It was like getting a second flush of blooms. 🙂

    Reply

  20. Racquel, lovely tour of your beds…I fall in love with that nandina everytime I see it! We have the same round stepping stones for the path. Can’t wait to see your rose border 🙂
    Lynn

    Thanks Lynn. I’m glad you enjoyed the tour today. Yep the Nandina is the easiest plant in my garden, I have quite a few of them. 🙂

    Reply

  21. nice blog
    thank you for usefull articles.

    Thank you John, I’m glad you enjoyed my blog. 🙂

    Reply

  22. My hostas are finally beginning to show themselves. Thought they weren’t coming back there for awhile. My husband wants nothing to do with the garden. So those decisions are mine. I find myself rethinking what I want to do. Moving plants from one spot to another. Now that spring has reared its head, I’m trying to leave things alone while they bloom!
    Brenda

    Some of mine are just starting to poke through the ground now too Brenda. These Royal Standards are always my first arrivals, they’ve been in the garden a long time. My hubby enjoys building things for me, and has been very helpful in the past. But he is no gardener. 😉 And that’s okay. I like to move things around when it rains, it’s my favorite thing to do. 😉

    Reply

  23. I do like your fountain and it fits really well in the corner. I feel so satisfied when I tidy a border – it’s not going to look neat for long but for that brief period it is sort of “perfect”. Makes this gardener sigh with satisfaction!
    I’m sure your border bed could be a little longer – every border can be a little longer/wider(lol).

    Reply

  24. That was a nice tour of your spring gardens…I am becoming more interested in observing the changes in landscapes at the seasons turn. Preparing to plan some of our spaces better. Your neighbor border is a nice addition, I am scheming to add something in the border between our southern neighbor…more ideas. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

