I’ve been out in the garden…

look-whats-coming-next-page
I spent the entire day in the garden and it was wonderful!  The weather was in the lower 60’s and cloudy so it was great weather for planting, transplanting etc…Remember those overgrown daffodils from earlier this spring that Frances told me I could divide as they were emerging?  Well I finally got around to dividing them, lol.    Here’s a list of what I accomplished today in the garden and just in time since it started raining: 
  • Divided & transplanted Daffodils into new location
  • Cleaned out and moved around 2 of the birdbaths
  • Repaired some cracks on the concrete birdbath
  • Planted another Euonymous in front foundation bed
  • Weeded &  loosed mulch in  front foundation bed
  • Helped the neighbor decide where to plant his new shrubs
  • Dug up a large patch of Grape Hyacinths that I dispersed into several areas
  • Divided some other perennials like ferns & sedums to relocate to other areas

As you can see from the collage above I also took notice of all the new life emerging on some of my shrubs and perennials.  Starting at the left the deep red shoots of Peony are a welcome sight.  Astilbes are quickly emerging from the soil.  This one is ahead of the others by at least a week.  But the bottom right photo is my favorite plant in the garden for last season.  It is the Hydrangea ‘Limelight”!  I also noticed that his little sister ‘Pinky Winky’ which was planted last fall is getting some leaf buds on it as well.   Yay April! 

18 responses to this post.

  1. Digging into the Dirt – How better can a day be? That reminds me that I should get some birdbaths in my terrace too, what with the heat of the Spring, the poor birds must be thirsty! I love Hydrangeas – Good luck with others – Happy Spring!

    No better day for me than digging in the dirt Chandramouli! 🙂 Good idea, the birds will thank you for the water. Happy Spring!

    Reply

  2. Racquel~~ A few weeks ago I bought Hydrangea p. ‘Pinky Winky.’ It’s still dormant, of course, but I’m looking forward to seeing it in bloom. My garden buddy Carol bought the plant last year and I refuse to be outdone. 🙂 🙂

    Now you are part of the Pinky Winky Club along with me, Joy (Garden Joy 4 Me) and Anna (Flowergardengirl). 🙂

    Reply

  3. It was to windy to play outside today, maybe tomorrow. Glad you had a great gardening day.

    Hope you get some time in the garden today Deb! Thanks! 😉

    Reply

  4. Sounds like quite the productive day. I bet it felt great to get so much done.

    It really was Melanthia! I earned my rest last night, lol. Yes, it felt great but there is always so much more to be done. 😉

    Reply

  5. You must never be idle Racquel! Another day that you accomplished so much. How did you repair the crack in the bird bath?? I need to do that too. It’s wonderful to see all the new growth in your garden. Send some warm weather west!!

    Nope never an idle moment here Kathleen. Today it’s raining so I need to catch up with some errands & housework. 😉 I used Quickrete crack repair. It’s pre-mixed liquid concrete (alot thinner) in a quart sized bottle. Thanks, hope you get some warmer weather soon. I’ll send you good thoughts!

    Reply

  6. Nothing better then being in the garden! Have a great Friday!!!

    Sure isn’t Cindee! Have a nice weekend! 🙂

    Reply

  7. It’s fun isn’t! A hard days work in the garden 🙂 The muscles are aching and at night you fall a sleep very content. Good work Racquel and your picture looks so nice.

    xoxo Tyra

    It is my favorite activity of all Tyra! 😉 I slept like a baby last night, my body was good & tired. Thanks!

    Reply

  8. I am amazed that plants that were just peaking out two days ago are now standing tall…sort of. The peonies in the backyard are about 6 inches taller than the front yard…funny as the backyard ones were transplanted last year to be in more sun and out of the rising tide. So are we getting rain today?

    They are growing like crazy this spring! We got some rain this morning but now the sun is out and shining. It’s going to be a beautiful day. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Racquel ! You go girl ! That must have made you feel wonderful getting all of this done. I noticed when I was at the garden center yesterday they had lots of Pinky Winky out. I would have gotten another one but I am waiting for “Quick Fire” .. this is one that blooms earlier than all the others .. and has wonderful colour .. so I highly recommend it .. I think we might start another club called “The Quick Fire Girls” ? LOL

    Thanks Joy! 😉 Actually I saw that Bluestone Perennials is selling Quick Fire at a discounted price right now & almost ordered it. I need to find a spot first though, lol. If my Nikko Blue doesn’t step up to the plate, he will be losing his spot to Quickfire! 😉 That sounds like a fun club to join Joy, ha!

    Reply

  10. Racquel, can I grow Astilbe in partial shade? I have an area I thought one or two would look good, but it does not get good sun there.
    Glad you had such a good day in the garden! I’m hoping Saturday will be pretty and I can get my seeds in.
    Have a great weekend!

    Hi Linda, I’ve had success with partial shade as long as the sun they get is only in the morning. Have a great weekend in the garden!

    Reply

  11. You had a great day in the garden! Wonderful to see all the new sprouts! 🙂

    Cameron

    Always is a great day when I’m in the garden Cameron! 😉 Thanks!

    Reply

  12. Wow! You have been a busy little bee! Why don’t you bring some of that energy to Alabama, we’ve got plenty of new beds that need to be dug! LOL

    Yes I have Randy! I would love to come to Alabama to give you hand, lol, but I have two new beds to dig out myself. 😉

    Reply

  13. You can divide daffodils in the spring? I ought to do that then. I have some near my transplanted iris and the iris will probably kill them.

    Best time to divide them since the foliage marks their location. Yep those Irises will probably take over and kill them out as you said Daphne.

    Reply

  14. Lucky you to get to work in the garden. I’m hoping to do that tomorrow. 80’s are being called for tomorrow with sunshine. However, next Mon and Tues we are expecting lows in the 30’s. Can you believe it? My Limelight is looking so great. Can’t wait to see it bloom!

    It was a fun day Susie, I hope yours dries out soon so you can get out there & tinker. That is some strange weather coming your way, I hope we aren’t getting that cold front too! You are going to adore Limelight when it blooms, such a great plant!

    Reply

  15. I love how peony looks just coming up. I think of them as tiki torches at a faerie party!

    Me too Monica, they do resemble miniature tiki torches for the fairies! 🙂

    Reply

  16. Hi Racquel, thanks so much for the link love! Glad you got your daffs divided, and it looks like you accomplished so much, wow, and I loved the helping the neighbor bit. HA You are a dynamo!
    Frances

    You are quite welcome Frances, you have been a wealth of information & advice for me. Yep the daffs are loving their new home in the fountain bed which needed some early spring color for sure. The more I do in the garden the more I see that needs to be done, lol. Isn’t that how it always is though? 😉 Thanks it was nice to have someone ask me for my opinion since I don’t consider myself an expert or anything.

    Reply

  17. Racquel,
    It is definitely the time for many hours in the garden and all our lists are getting checked off. I like that you made time for helping your neighbor among your many accomplishments. Getting to visit with the neighbors is part of the fun of being outside in our gardens. You’ve been a busy girl and each week will probably reveal that spring has found you with all the blooms sure to follow. Meems @ Hoe and Shovel

    Hi Meems, the garden beckons to us in the spring like no other season. It was wonderful to be back out doing what I love best! I was quite surprised & pleased when my neighbor asked for my advice. They aren’t really gardeners but he tries to keep his yard nice. Thanks!

    Reply

  18. Every time I go outside, I tell myself I need to take that huge fern out of the pot and divide it. Obviously I haven’t gotten around to it yet!
    Brenda

    I do the same thing Brenda, I finally got around to dividing some of those things that I’ve been putting off. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment