The last Bloomin’ Tuesday of March

Iberis 'Snowflake', Alyssum 'Basket of Gold', & Muscari 'Grape Hyacinth'

Iberis 'Snowflake', Alyssum 'Basket of Gold', & Muscari 'Grape Hyacinth'

It’s been a bit since I posted my blooms for Bloomin’ Tuesday.  Tomorrow is the end of March which is exciting don’t you think?  April will bring even more blooms and changes.  Everyday I go out to find more things emerging from the ground or starting to flower.  This perennial Alyssum is a new plant for me this year.  It came to me in the mail already full of buds just waiting to open.   I couldn’t imagine my garden with out the evergreen Candytuff.   ‘Snowflake’ is a bushier variety than the unknown one I’ve had for years.  Don’t ask me how these Grape Hyacinths ended up in the middle of the lawn but they are naturalized in several spots.

Muscari 'Bi-color', Wild violets and Skullcap Hyssop

Muscari 'Bi-color', Wild violets and Skullcap Hyssop

 Muscari Bi-color is a new bulb for me this year.  So far I find the two-toned blues interesting.   Wild violets grow sporatically through my garden beds & lawn.  I realize they can be a bit weedy but some are so pretty I let them stay.  The Skullcap Hyssop is a native plant that I picked up a couple of years ago.  Of course the camera faded it out to blue when the true color is a very pale lavender.  I just love the dainty bells even though they tend to face downwards.

Pink Azalea, Narcissus 'Minnow' and Vinca Major (Periwinkle)

Pink Azalea, Narcissus 'Minnow' and Vinca Major (Periwinkle)

 The Pink Azaleas that I inherited with the house are full of buds and starting to open.  Narcissus ‘Minnow’ which I showed yesterday in my ‘Ode to Daffodils’ post.   I think these are so sweet that I will plant more next fall for sure.  And finally is the beautiful blue blooms of Periwinkle that grows in my hanging planters on the shed wall.  This plant is very invasive but it does well in containers and comes back strong year after year.  I really love the variegated foliage which lasts up till frost.  For more Bloomin’  Tuesday Posts or to join in this week please visit Jean @ Ms Greenthumb.

30 responses to this post.

  1. You have beautiful blooms Racquel! I love the Muscari! Maybe I need to try that one next year. Did you plant it in the fall? It almost looks like a wild geranium. Thanks for sharing all your pretty spring flowers!

    Thanks Linda! Isn’t that a cool looking Muscari, the foliage reminds me a bit of tulips. Yep I planted it last fall, got it from Dutch Bulbs which is a great source for spring bloomers. You are quite welcome, glad you enjoyed my blooms today. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Beautiful blooms. Looks like spring.

    Thanks Deb! Yep spring is definitely here. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Oh you have all kinds of beautiful blooms. I love all the photos. Have a great week.

    Thanks Grammy! I’m glad you enjoyed my blooms this week. Have a nice week yourself. 🙂

    Reply

  4. You have so many blossoms! I think I’m at least a month off from having those same blossoms. Really pretty photos.

    Thanks Suzanne, I’m glad you enjoyed my blooms today. Soon everyone will have spring in their gardens throughout the country & world. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Hi Racquel, Beautiful blooms you have there. I have Alyssum growing like weeds in my yard. They seem to want to take over especially in all the cracks of your walkways and your grass! LOL
    Happy Bloomin’ Tuesday, its good to see you back on Bloomin’ Tueday
    ~Ann

    Thanks Ann! The white version does the same thing here, it reseeds itself freely. But I love the sweet scent so I don’t mind. This perennial version is new to me so I’m curious to observe its’ habits in the garden. It’s good to be back! 🙂

    Reply

  6. The Muscari Bi-color is very interesting. Are all the flowers exactly like this one, or do theshades vary from flower to flower?
    Aiyana

    Thanks Aiyana! As far as I can tell so far all the blooms are the same two shades. I think it is interesting too! 🙂

    Reply

  7. interesting flowers you have! so pretty too! have a good day!

    Thanks Fitty! I’m glad you stopped by today, have a nice one. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Can’t wait for April for more photos from you. These blooms are already so beautiful 🙂

    Thanks Stephanie, there will be more to see in April I can promise you that! 🙂

    Reply

  9. I like when grape hyacinths and other bulbs grow in the lawn. I hope you will leave them.

    I do too Les, these have been there for years and come back every year stronger. 🙂

    Reply

  10. I think my candytuft is winding down here, I love it too and want to buy some more. Is that Vinca Major Variegated? I bought some and it’s divine! The major is not supposed to be an invasive as the minor….What do you think? Lovely blooms going on at your place and yes big changes will happen in April for sure!

    Yours is ahead of mine by at least a month. I plan on dividing some of my larger patches to spread throughout the garden this fall. Yep my VM is variegated, I love the foliage even more than the flowers. It is actually pretty invasive since everywhere a tendril lays it will set root. I had some in the garden years ago & it took me forever to eliminate it completely. Now I just plant it in containers. Thanks Darla!

    Reply

  11. Lovely as always Racquel. My Alyssum isn’t anywhere near ready to bloom. I do have more buds on my Wallflower. Love the muscari.

    Thanks Janet! 🙂 I was so lucky that these came in bud when they were shipped! Oh yesterday at Lowes I noticed they had two colors of Wallflower in stock. (orange & yellow) They were already blooming too!

    Reply

  12. I love violets too even if they are weedy.

    I guess anything can be a weed if it takes over enough, huh? 😉

    Reply

  13. Racquel … I like the fact that we share skullcap ! .. I have a few natives in my garden and that is one of my favorites .. it is an all white flower but the structure is detailed .. a pretty bloom indeed !
    Minnow are so sweet .. they scream gotta’ love ME ! haha

    Great minds think alike Joy! 😉 It is one of my favorites too along with the Baptisia & Milkweed. I bet the white version is spectacular as well. That’s exactly what the Minnows are saying, lol!

    Reply

  14. My comment didn’t show up, so I must not have pressed submit (approaching from Blotanical).

    The alyssum is really nice. I’ve not tried that here, yet. Isn’t spring wonderful?

    Cameron

    That happens to me all the time Cameron. 🙂 I’m curious to see how it does as a front of the border plant. (the Alyssum) Spring is the best!

    Reply

  15. Nice blooms as usual Racquel. Interesting that your grape hyacinths decided to venture out to your lawn.

    Thank you Susie! 🙂 I think some of that got thrown out there by mistake when I was weeding and they made themselves a new home, lol.

    Reply

  16. Love your cheery spring blooms! I am so anxious for thesemyself. Thanks so much for sharing! Paula from Idaho

    Thanks Paula! You are quite welcome, glad to share my spring blooms with you today! Hope you have some signs of spring soon in your neck of the woods. 🙂

    Reply

  17. Love all those blooms! Spring has surely sprung at your home. Hugs, Rosemarie

    Thank you Rosemarie! Happy Spring to you!

    Reply

  18. Racquel,
    I love the wild violets! All we have here are the purple ones.

    Thanks Randy, this is the first white one I’ve seen in my yard too. The others are that deep purple shade like yours. She is a beauty, think I will transplant her from the lawn into the Woodland Garden tonight. 🙂

    Reply

  19. Hi Raquel,
    Your flowers are so pretty. I have the purple wild violets, too. So cute. And I love that muscari. I have got to get some of those. Have a beautiful day.

    Hi Teresa, I’m glad you enjoyed my blooms today. Mostly I get just the purple wild violets in my yard, that’s why this one caught my eye. 🙂 You will love the Muscari, I’m so glad I planted those last fall.

    Reply

  20. Posted by greenwalks on March 31, 2009 at 12:52 pm

    Spring is just the cutest flower season, isn’t it? Everything so small and tidy and bright. Love that your grape hyacinths naturalized in your lawn! I hope mine get going, I’d love to have them everywhere. I have a question for you – out here we call that white-flowered perennial “Candytuft.” Is it a regional thing to call it “Candytuff”? I got one the other week because I always love seeing it in your photos!

    Definitely my favorite season for blooms Karen! 🙂 That’s a good question Karen, I’ve always referred to them as Candytuff, but you may be right about the “t” on the end, lol. You are going to fall in love with this beautiful perennial. It has been one of my favorites for years.

    Reply

  21. Spring has certainly arrived at your home! I love violets too. If they get too bad I just pull them out. All your blues and yellows are lovely! Jean

    It really has arrived kicking & screaming. 🙂 That’s what I do too with the violets. This one is growing in the lawn but I might dig her up & put her in the Woodland Garden. Most of them are deep purple. Thanks Jean!

    Reply

  22. loving that violet! Happy Bloomin’ Tuesday and Last Day of March to you!!

    Isn’t she sweet Carla! Happy Bloomin’ Tuesday & last day of March to you too! 🙂

    Reply

  23. I’m pleased and excited about spring after visiting everyone’s blooming Tuesday!

    Blooms really get me excited at this time of the year too Dawn! 🙂

    Reply

  24. Hi Racquel, what a bunch of sweet spring blooms. I love that little hyssop, I have never seen it before. The bicolor Muscari looks lik M. latifolia with that broad leaf and light over dark blooms. It is interesting. As is the crazy regular grape hyacinths in the lawn. Don’t you just love how they spread all over? We have those violets everywhere. They just cannot be gotten rid of, even though I keep trying in certain places where little babies are planted. They are fine under the larger things and are looking really pretty now. We have that white with purple whiskers and the solid purple too. They are just a little too rampant with those seeds! 🙂
    Frances

    Thanks Frances! I really am fond of that little Hyssop too and the foliage is really nice when it is out of bloom as well. It prefers some shade so it is planted in an area that only gets morning sun and even that is a bit dappled. The foliage on the Muscari ‘Bicolor reminds me a bit of tulips with the broad leaves. I love grape hyacinths, they look great intermingling with the Daffs right now. They even perk up all that green in the lawn. 😉 I know what you mean about the violets, they run rampant here, but some are dug up every year and some remain regardless. I’m too soft-hearted to eliminate them completely, lol.

    Reply

  25. Amazing what all you have blooming already Racquel. I agree the bi-color grape hyacinths are interesting. I’ve never seen them before. I am SO excited that it’s April tomorrow!!!!! Hooray ~ another month closer to warm weather and major gardening. 🙂

    This is when everything starts to pop in my garden Kathleen. An exciting time! I really am glad I planted hose bi-color muscari in the fall, they were well worth the wait. 🙂 Hooray for another month closer to peak season!

    Reply

  26. Blooming Tuesday is lovely over here! Tell me all you can about skullcap…it looks interesting! What is the botanical name…I just put in a sweet ground cover that is minty…Calamintha glabella Glade Savory, delicious when you touch it! I think you would like it…gail

    Thanks Gail, I wish I could give you more information about this lovely little plant. I’m going to our native plant sale on the 18th of April and I’m hoping to get the info again then. That sounds like a wonderful ground cover. Hope you post a photo of it soon. 🙂

    Reply

  27. Happy April, Racquel! Love your Iberis ‘Snowflake’ … looking forward to mine blooming this month.

    Happy April Joey! It really is a great perennial, I look forward to seeing it bloom every spring. 🙂

    Reply

  28. Wonderful spring pictures! I can’t wait to see everything take off with the warm weather!

    Thanks Dee! It won’t be long now. 🙂

    Reply

  29. Beautiful pictures, can’t wait for the Iberis to start blooming here!

    Thanks Cory, it’s always a good sign of spring when the Iberis starts blooming. 🙂

    Reply

  30. I can imagine how cool… I mean warm 😛 this April’s gonna be. March did bring lovely blooms to your garden and I’m sure this month would be colorful! Happy Spring!

    Yep the warm sun of April along with the spring rains will bring lots of lovely blooms to the garden! Thanks Chandramouli, and Happy Spring to you too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

