While I was away…

while-i-was-away-018

Yes I know that I’ve been missing from the blogging community for a few days now.  But I’ve been busy working on some projects like the one above which just happens to be just one of the raised beds for my vegetable garden.   I am the planner and hubby makes them come to life right before my eyes.  He built me three 2×4 boxes for my square foot gardening plan.  Next fall I might add more if necessary.  I find it’s better to start my new plans in moderation and build from there. 

while-i-was-away-015

Another task that was completed was these trellises out front.  They were originally mounted directly to the brick wall for climbing roses.  The roses didn’t quite work out so I had hubby put spacers that he cut from 1/2″ pvc pipe to allow for a climber to twine its’ way up the structure.  I’m planning on moving the three existing Clematis ‘Niobe’ ( which you can view a photo of  here) over to this area.  Currently they are in the rose garden bed on smaller trellises, but they need more height and room to grow.   Hopefully they will be happy here, it’s going to rain all week so this is the perfect time to transplant them. 

gardens-blooms-edit-001

The new garden is starting to fill in for the spring.  In the center where I have the red circles is the remains of the Angelonia that I planted last summer.   I’m hoping to plant more of the same annual here since they really did well here and were so low maintenance which is good for this area of the garden.  Unfortunately the seeds I sowed indoors for these did not do well.  They succumbed to dampening off disease which was a shame.   The green circles in the back of the garden mark where the Purple Fountain Grass was planted.  Normally this is also an annual in my area as well so I might be replacing these as well.   So as you see even though I was absent I’ve been busy in the garden preparing.

21 responses to this post.

  1. Great raised bed, you’ve got! Isn’t it great to have a talented and willing husband to help? 🙂 Your trellises are really wonderful. Will your clematis be climbing over the climbing roses?

    Cameron

    Thanks Cameron! Yes it is nice to have a partner in crime when it comes to the projects I have in my head. 😉 Actually the roses are no longer there, but the Clematis should fill in this area pretty nicely on their own.

    Reply

  2. What a sweet hubby! I love the trellis’! Purple Fountain grass is so pretty–I buy it every year, but it is an annual for me too!
    Glad you were out in the dirt Racquel–I was getting a little worried that something might be wrong. Happy to see your post! 🙂

    Thanks Linda. It is a great plant, it grows very quickly in one season and looks great in the summer & fall. Sorry that I worried you, but yep I was just out being busy in the garden. 🙂

    Reply

  3. I like the Square Foot concept..it seems to make sense in a limited space like some of us folks with shade garden. The trellises are quite fine and will be great with vines on them…good idea with the spacers I was wondering what to use. Thanks and thanks to your sweet husband for the help! Gail

    It really is a great way to get a nice crop in a small space. Yep that was another brilliant idea of Hubby’s too (the spacers). And since pvc is white they just blend right in with the entire structure. Clever man! 😉

    Reply

  4. The raised bed garden will be really nice. Super that your husband built them for you. And you haven’t been missing, missed – yes, but you were gardening!!

    Thanks Janet, I am quite lucky to have such a handy hubby. Aww thanks for that, I missed you guys too! 🙂

    Reply

  5. The planter looks great! So nice of your husband to build those for you(-:
    I love Niobe! That is such a pretty clematis! I am sure it will do great on the trellis too! I had a fountain grass die over the winter one time. I was not sure it would grow here either. Now I am wondering if I didn’t wait long enough for it to start growing again(-:

    Thanks Cindee, I’m quite happy with how well they turned out too! Yep Niobe is one of my favorite Clematis and it should look quite striking on the white trellis & disguise this expanse of brick wall. I’ve always treated them as annuals in my garden since they are fairly easy & cheap to replace each year. But that is a good question about not waiting long enough. I may just leave them be & see what happens. 🙂

    Reply

  6. You were doing what you should be doing-gardening of course. And what a productive break too. I like those new bed frames and the trellis. It will look very nice. I wish you lived close by, I have three snowball bushes I can’t find a spot for-it occurred to me they might look great where your fountain grass was. Can’t wait to see what you come up with in this area. I really like the picture with the circles on it.

    Thanks Tina, I knew you all would understand my absence. 🙂 It is nice to have completed some projects that I’ve been wanting to do. Oh I do too, because Snowball bushes would look great there. My neighbor had one in her backyard and it was very pretty when it bloomed each year. Right now I have two very small Russian Sage plants that should fill in the area with some time.

    Reply

  7. I figured you were possibly sick, on a trip, or what I really thought being busy in the garden. How nice your hubbie does those things for you. Could I borrow him for a bit, my hubbie isn’t real good with hammer and nails(bless his heart). We’ve had rain all day today and more on the way. I hope my onions and peppers I planted don’t float down to the neighbors.

    Yep just busy in the garden. Spring & fall are when I complete alot of projects. I’ll ask hubby if you can possibly borrow him for a bit, lol. I’m lucky he’s so handy, because I really am more of the idea person in this relationship. 😉 Same forecast here too, rain & more rain. Hope your onions & peppers don’t float away too, lol. I’m going to take advantage of this time to relocate some perennials.

    Reply

  8. Posted by greenwalks on March 25, 2009 at 11:56 pm

    Best reason in the world for not blogging about gardening – actual gardening! 🙂 Love that you just say the word and hubby is up to the task. Lucky you! All your plans sound nifty, I can’t wait to see the square foot garden in action. Sorry about your seedlings that died – someone at our recent SAGBUTT meeting talked about a remedy for damping off – was it air circulation (leave a fan on them) or maybe a chamomile dilution tea dilution? Hm, sorry I can’t remember. Bet Matron at Down on the Allotment would know what to do about that, she was full of helpful suggestions for us at the meeting!

    So true Karen, so true. I would rather be in the garden at this time of the year anyhow. It’s raining today so I’m catching up on the blog world again. 🙂 Yep I am a lucky woman to have a handy hubby to make my plans for the garden come to life right before my eyes. I just need to get some good garden soil to mix with my compost and make the grids for the raised beds now. Soon I will be able to plant my seeds & a few transplants. Thanks for the tip about the air circulation, I think I overwatered which is usually the problem I’ve had in the past.

    Reply

  9. Glad to know you are okay, Racquel. I should have figured you were out in the garden. 🙂 Besides the lovely raised beds, I see rain barrels and heather? Looks like more planting is coming. I think the clematis on the trellis will be a much better choice. Roses tend to be very finiky. Your new bed is filling in and will look so great this year. ust don’t work too hard in your gardens, you are starting to make me look bad!

    Thanks Beckie, yep I was just out playing in the garden for a few days. Lots of chores to catch up on & projects to complete. 🙂 My rain barrels are really getting a workout today with the rain and yes I still have some planting to do with the Heathers. I have to dig out the new bed I plan on putting them in. This rain will help with that too. Clematis are much easier to grow than climbing roses and not as troublesome either. I’m very pleased with how the new bed is filling in this season. It should be ever fuller this year than last. Don’t feel bad, I’m just a work-a-holic when it comes to the garden that’s all. lol

    Reply

  10. Love the Trellis – though not fancy, it looks neat. Your new garden looks promising too; good luck with it growing crazily this Spring. Great to hear you’re busy in your garden. As long as you’re happy and great, your absence from blogosphere is justifiable. Only, we’d miss your great posts for few days, but hey! The wait was worth!

    Thanks Chandramouli, it really breaks up the red brick wall and adds another layer of interest for vertical gardening. 🙂 Yep I was busy in the garden these past few days but I missed you all in my absence. Glad it was well worth the wait for you.

    Reply

  11. Great job hubby!! Don’t you just get all excited this time of the year? It’s looking great.

    I’ll pass that on to hubby, thanks Darla! I love this time of the year, it’s a really exciting time for sure. 🙂

    Reply

  12. Oh Racquel, those raised beds!!! That is perfect for the veggies, I am quite envious. Your trellis will be wonderful with the clemmies too, your hubby is a jewel! I loved the circles you drew on the photo, you are so smart. Angelonia is an easy annual, I need to consider it for the containers. The purple fountain grass is annual here too, but worth replacing each year and readily available. For the damping off of seedlings, try sprinkling the seed starting mix with straight vermiculite before sowing if the seeds need light to germinate and over top to the depth of planting instructions. It has a bacteria fighting agent that occurs naturally. I use it after repotting the seedlings too and have had no trouble since doing so.
    Frances

    Thanks Frances, I will let hubby know that you gave a big thumbs up for his raised beds. He really is a jewel! 🙂 Yep I was playing around with the drawing portion in the editing of my photos and theses circles were a fun way to point out some plants. The purple fountain grass is readily available here too and fairly inexpensive to replace as well. Thanks for the tip about the the vermiculite, my indoor sowing experience is minimal at best. You are the queen when it comes to that! 🙂

    Reply

  13. Racquel ! You have been a very busy gardener girl ! It all looks wonderful : ) .. I can’t wait to get into my garden and get things moving along .. at least the old shed is gone now .. I have to phone the deck guys and see what they are up to .. rain is forecasted for quite a few days so that will hold things up too .. the faster I want things to go , the slower they move ? LOL

    Hi Joy, thanks for the compliments! 🙂 Hope all your plans are completed quickly, it’s hard to sit & wait for things to progress at this time of the year. The rain does seem to hold things up a bit doesn’t it? Be patient, take a deep breath and eat some chocolate if all else fails. lol

    Reply

  14. The raised beds look good! Dampening off is a problem I’ve had too. I found that using a insecticidal-fungicidal soap works good to stop it before it advances too far.

    Thanks Dave! I’m pleased with the new raised beds too. 🙂 Thanks for the tip about the fungicidal soap too, I need all the tips I can get when it comes to indoor sowing.

    Reply

  15. Working in the garden is good–no apologies needed! 🙂

    Why thank you Monica, I knew you would understand! 🙂

    Reply

  16. Kudos to hubby for building your planter boxes, can’t wait to see all the yummy veggies you grow 🙂

    Thanks Mom, I will pass the kudos along to hubby for all his hard work! Me too, it’s a whole new adventure! 🙂

    Reply

  17. Anxious to see how these raised beds work out. Is your hubby busy this afternoon? I could use some help too LOL

    Me too Balisha! LOL, I let him know what you said and he smiled. 🙂

    Reply

  18. Totally worth taking time off to get projects like that done Racquel!! I want some of those raised beds! They look great. and that Frances, she has the best advice. I’m following what she told you about preventing dampening off!! Glad you’re back!

    Yes it was Kathleen even if I feel really out of sorts after not blogging for so long. 🙂 They were so easy to build, hubby whipped them up in no time at all. Thanks! Yep Frances is the queen of advice, glad you were able to get something useful out of this post!

    Reply

  19. Great site this perennialgardener.wordpress.com and I am really pleased to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

    Thank you! I’m glad you enjoy my blog and be sure to visit soon. 🙂

    Reply

  20. nice site this perennialgardener.wordpress.com brill to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

    Thank you, I’m glad you enjoyed my blog. 🙂

    Reply

  21. Posted by greenwalks on May 1, 2009 at 1:11 am

    Hi again – did a search and found this one. Can I ask you(r hubby) one more thing – did he use 2 X 6es for the walls of the beds? Can you tell I am scheming to get some into my own garden ASAP?! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

