Happy 1st Day of Spring!

Arbor Garden 3/20/09

Arbor Garden 3/20/09

Well the garden is still a bit muddy from the onslaught of rains we’ve had this past week, but the sun came back out today which was nice.  Unfortunately it wasn’t the warmest day (40’s) but it wasn’t raining and that’s the important thing.  As you can see in the photo above the last bed left to rake out is the Arbor Garden.  Still haven’t gotten to it yet.  Probably this weekend once it dries up a bit more.  Plus the grass needs a good mowing, it really leaped with all this extra moisture too.   But everything is really starting to pop now.  The Spireas & Hydrangeas are leafing out and there is more signs of green then brown now.   Even the Sweet Autumn Clematis in the corner is starting to fill in after it’s severe late fall haircut.  This area has changed dramatically in just three weeks time.  Spring is here!

Narcissus 'Hawera'

Narcissus 'Hawera'

My favorite little daffodils are blooming right now.  I ordered these from Brent and Becky’s bulbs a few years ago and they are spread throughout all the garden beds.  They have multiple blooms on a single stem and they bloom for a few weeks every spring.  They look great as companions to Muscari or alone.   It’s really hard to photograph them since the flowers hang down and right now they are pretty wet.  Even though I didn’t do much in the garden today other than enjoy it, it was a great first day of Spring!

23 responses to this post.

  1. I love the daffodils!!!(-: I have a couple different varieties and I love each one(-: We need rain here really bad so hopefully that is what we get this weekend. I have had to water flowers and plants this week because it has been very warm here. Guess that is changing tomorrow! Have a great weekend(-:

    Reply

  2. Love the look of moist soil in the garden. Nothing says spring better. P.S. Can you send some rain my way? It missed us. Have fun this weekend. I’ll be in the garden too.

    Reply

  3. Your Arbor garden is really looking nice. Sorry you had rain again I’ll try to send Mr. Sunshine your way.

    Reply

  4. Looking good!

    Reply

  5. Things are really looking up in your gardens — isn’t it exciting to see all that new growth?!

    Reply

  6. I wish I had a fence as a backdrop for my garden. It’ll be fun to watch your garden grow, it already looks inviting to me!

    Reply

  7. I like your limbed-up nandina. It allows you room to plant shallow rooted treasures beneath it. Love the berries.

    Reply

  8. Couldn’t let this glorious day pass without wishing you … Happy Spring! (Muddy or not, your garden beats my thawing one 🙂

    Reply

  9. Hi Racquel, that is so wonderful, more green than brown! Hooray! Hope it warms up for you and dries out enough for clean up. It always feels so good to have that behind us. Just enjoying the day is what we should aim for everyday. 🙂
    Frances

    Reply

  10. I hope you have a wonderful spring in your garden.

    Reply

  11. I’m late to your story because I was outside all day yesterday! I have late-blooming daffs that are timed with the Lady Banksia and Kwansan Cherry, so I have to wait until April for color.

    Cameron

    Reply

  12. Love the daffodils, but don’t recognize what’s in the pot. Is that a type of spirea?

    Do you mean the plants in the red washtub? That would be pansies at the moment. The shrubs to the right of the container are Spireas. They have that hint of bright yellow foliage just starting to emerge on them. 🙂

    Reply

  13. Your garden is off to a great start. I’m still waiting for nice weather to clean up what winter left behind, It’s not very pretty. I thought it was going to be nice enough to get out and get some work done but now I hear we are supposed to get rain almost every day for next week. I’m sure it will be good for my plants but that’s too much rain for me. I can’t wait to see how your garden looks later.

    Reply

  14. Certainly looks much, much more like spring in your garden than in mine, Racquel! Glad that spring is warming up for you. It will here one of these days, but meanwhile visiting yours and others will keep me cheery.

    Reply

  15. Racquel…I love the full page photo of your garden and the daffodil… lovely! I have that same little Hawera daffodil and wish she didn’t droop so; but even then she’s a lovely little flower. I do hope your garden dries just enough! gail

    Reply

  16. Happy belated first day of spring to you, too, Racquel! Your arbor garden already looks beautiful with all the spring blooms. I read your comment in one of your last posts about being dog-tired with raking and garden chores; I’m glad I’m not the only one who has found lots of unused muscles:) We have not had the rain you’ve had, so I’ve spent as much time as possible outside, finally getting all the flowerbeds raked and the perennials cut back, but, boy, do I hurt! I bet you’re enjoying that new mattress to get some much-needed rest.

    Reply

  17. Happy 2nd day of spring;-) Yesterday was the same up here…quite chilly, but very sunny–and the sun just made me feel so wonderful!! It is the same here today-yay! I just wish it would warm up a little…it is cold! Your garden really does look like spring…and it’s exciting isn’t it?! Mine is too…but I have a lot more brown than you, partially because my backyard is just brown to begin with (we have no grass back there, it’s all mulch with a couple of garden ‘areas’). I am trying to do something about that this year and even had a garden designer come in and give me some ideas a week ago. Problem is: It is extremely expensive to do what he suggests!! We’ll try a smaller scale;-) Enjoy your garden!

    Reply

  18. I like the look of your Arbor garden. And the trees in the neighbourhood look lovely too. So do the daffodils. Happy days…!

    Reply

  19. Posted by Racquel on March 21, 2009 at 9:54 pm

    Thanks everyone for stopping by today. I’ve been having problems with my TV/Monitor for the past few days and that’s why I haven’t answered all your lovely comments. I’ve been able to read and visit all your blogs throughout the day while it was working. Have a nice weekend everyone!

    Reply

  20. Racquel your garden is looking lovely. I can’t believe how green things are (including your grass). We haven’t had much moisture here over the winter so everything is brown, brown, brown. Those little daffodils are so cute. I like their hanging heads and all. 🙂

    Reply

  21. Your fence looks neat – very neat. I know you’d turn that muddy spot into a beautiful patch soon. Happy Spring!

    Reply

  22. Hi Racquel, Everything is looking good even if ya are a bit soggy. Your big red tub is just so bright and cheery. You mentioned Spireas. Mine (Little Princess) doesn’t look good and of course I can’t remember when it starts looking alive but it really does look like it didn’t make it. Cross your fingers for me! Linda

    Reply

  23. Hi Racquel,
    I envy your progress in the garden. I hurt my arm and can’t do any gardening right now. Drat!!Doesn’t it make you feel good to have all that work behind you. I know you are tired at night, but it’s a good tired. I love looking at your pictures and imagining what it will look like in a month.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

