A gloomy Friday the 13th (SWF)

skywatch-friday-3-13-09-003Yesterday I said it looked like rain and I was right.  The rains started late last night and have been coming on and off today.  This weekend doesn’t show any signs of the sun coming out.  No matter which direction you looked it was gray, dark & gloomy.  I’m appreciative to have the moisture in my garden after doing some much needed division and transplanting on Thursday.  Everything will settle in nicely from the added water and no sunshine means less problems with transplant shock.  This also means there will be no gardening going on for the next few days unless I can catch a break in the weather at some point.  But traipsing through soggy soil doesn’t sound like a good idea to me either.  Well if you are getting some sunshine this weekend send some our way.  🙂  For more Skywatch Friday photos or to join in please visit skyley.

update: I just changed my blog theme today.  Needed a change and I kind of like the simplicity of this wordpress classic layout.  Let me know what you think.
25 responses to this post.

  1. The contrast between the happy flowers of the previous post and the gloomy sky of your Skywatch is pretty amazing.

    Yep like night & day, lol. Thanks DF for stopping by today.

    Reply

  2. ha ha! Yes indeed, gloomy is a good word for it;-) I woke up this morning to SNOW! It literally covered everything. Then, after my son went to school, it rained, and now the snow is gone. But I did get some photos of it covering my daffs and tulips, etc. I don[t know why I just don’t go ahead and post. I guess I feel like I’m supposed to write something ‘great’!! I guess I should just make a simple, basic post, and just go-for-it…yeah, that’s what I’ll do!!! Happy Friday the 13th, from Northern VA~!!

    Yikes, that is not the type of moisture I’m looking for right now Jan. 🙂 Glad you got some photos. Sometimes a simple post is all you need. I look at it as a journal of sorts (my blog). Happy Friday the 13th, leave it to the weather to be scary today. lol

    Reply

  3. Unfortunately I got the saw view you have. But I am glad for the rain, we needed some. I figure after this rain and warm temps coming next week my perennials will be jumping. Yippee!!!

    Yep we did too Susie. Hopefully sunny blue skies are in the horizon though. 🙂 Have a nice weekend!

    Reply

  4. I didn’t even notice it was Friday the 13th until you told me. It has been such a nice day so far. Sunny skies (I’ll think good thoughts about your sky), new pails and I found a new gardening store :>.

    Well I’m glad I was able to remind you Daphne. 😉 Sounds like you are having a nice day so far. Thanks for the good thoughts my way.

    Reply

  5. Gloomy here too. Time to catch up inside I guess.

    I like the change. The writing is a bit easier to read, though I am not sure I would’ve noticed the change had you not said something.

    Yep I need to do some housework myself, but I’m procrastinating again…lol I’m glad you found my new theme easier to read. I’ve had several people mention that the other one was a bit hard on the eyes. I figure the photos in my posts add enough color. 😉 lol, I’m glad I mentioned the change then.

    Reply

  6. Racquel — I think we’re looking at the same sky! Lots of rain today.

    I like the clean, classic look of your new template. Easy to read. I have vision focusing problems and your blog is easy on the eyes. I have trouble reading blogs with a black background.

    Cheers,
    Cameron

    Yep a gloomy day indeed. But I’m sure the garden is loving it right now. 😉 I’m glad you like the new template, and that it is easier on the eyes. I have the same problem with focusing. Thanks for letting me know.

    Reply

  7. Have I mentioned it’s SUNNY here today? And it’s now at least 40!!! 🙂

    Way to rub it in Monica, lol. 😉 Could you send me some sunshine please…

    Reply

  8. Racquel ! the new format is very nice .. I think I have to fix mine again .. that green I have is like pea soup ? Yuck !!
    We finally have some sun and I might just get out tomorrow and start picking up those flyers the paper boy threw .. talk about a mess ; (
    This is quite nice .. simple clean .. keep it for a while and let it settle in ?
    Joy : )

    Thanks Joy, actually I love that shade of green on your blog. Maybe you need a sunny yellow to brighten your mood? 🙂 Glad you are getting some sunshine. I will be keeping this for a while especially since everyone has responded so positively about it. lol

    Reply

  9. Gloomy is definitely the word!
    Your new layout on the other hand is very light and clean looking 🙂
    Always good to have a change.

    Yep it is gray, cloudy & drizzly, YUCK! Thanks EG, I’m glad you like the new layout. It feels crisper somehow going into a new season. All the colorful photos I’ll be posting of blooms should give it just the right amount of color. 🙂

    Reply

  10. That’s one heavy-duty sky!

    Yep not a glimpse of sunlight to be had Sandy. 😦

    Reply

  11. Hi Racquel, I love the new theme. It is perfect, soothing and serene. It’s fun to change things up sometimes. We are having that same no sun weather and while I love a sunny day, it’s good for all the plants that were moved here too. As long as we stay above freezing, I will be happy. Come on, rain!!!
    Frances

    Thank you Frances for the generous input on the new theme. 🙂 I’ve been wanting a change for sometime but couldn’t find what I was looking for until now. Sometimes simple is better. Yep the rain is really making the plants happy right now, but no freezing rain!

    Reply

  12. Since my rain gauge broke on that last freeze we had I can’t say how much rain we have had so far. It is nice that is a light gentle rain. So far I have only a little mud on Skyler.
    Do like the simplicity of the blog. There are some that are so busy that I just don’t read them….can’t find the text amidst the ads.
    Janet

    I know before this rain started we had at least 3″ for the month of March. Yep I like the gentle rains, they don’t beat the plants to death. Being cold is bad enough. I’m glad you like the simplicity of my new format. Thanks for the input! 🙂

    Reply

  13. Racquel, I really like the new format. It is sooo much easier for me to read. For some reason I have trouble with black -couldn’t be old age and bad eyesight, surely! We had a sunny day but cold and way to wet to do anything in the garden. I did take a quick walk around and noticed lots more tulips and daffodils poking through. YEAH!

    Enjoy the break and the moisture. I am sure your newly divided plants will.

    Thanks Beckie, looks like the new theme is a hit so far. 🙂 I’m glad that it is easier for you to read. My eyes are giving me a bit of trouble since I hit the big 40 this past year. Seems to be when everything starts to go, lol. Yay for lots of tulips & daffs poking through the soil, spring will soon be here in your garden too.

    Reply

  14. Hi Racquel,
    I like the change…especially the comment section. It is easy on old eyes. LOL I think the new look will showcase your pretty flowers better.

    Hi Balisha, I knew this new format would be a real hit with you. 😉 I’ve been trying to find something fresher that was easier on the eyes. My eyes have been having problems with the former black background . Thanks!

    Reply

  15. Racquel, It is not only gloomy and wet and miserable…it is cold, gloomy , wet and miserable! But I admit…I am glad it’s raining…We really need this rain here in my newly planted space…saves me dragging the hose around….and, the rain and cold have helped me catch up on reading blogs. I want to change my blog theme, too…I like your new them…It’s very zen-sophistication. Gail

    Thanks Gail, I forgot to add the cold part, lol. I’m glad it’s raining too. It is really benefitting my newly transplanted things & the new Camelia I planted as well. 🙂 Dragging hoses isn’t my favorite part of gardening. So yay for rain! I’m glad you like my new theme. Zen-sophistication? I like it! Thanks!

    Reply

  16. Posted by greenwalks on March 13, 2009 at 8:34 pm

    Wow, those are some ominous clouds! I think we are getting those tomorrow, or at least we’re supposed to. Neat and clean, looks nice. I think white backgrounds are so much easier to read, maybe I should consider a change myself… hm.

    Aren’t they though Karen! Rain is better than snow, right? I’m glad you like the new layout, thanks for the input. I guess I made a good choice. 😉

    Reply

  17. Although it’s stormy weather, this shot is breathtaking.
    Thank you for sharing this photo for Sky Watcher Friday.

    Why thank you Write Girl! I”m glad you enjoyed my photo today! 🙂

    Reply

  18. It was a dreary, cold, wet day here. I will be so glad to see the sun again, but I am so grateful for the rain!
    I love your blog so much…everything you do always looks great!

    I guess a bunch of us got this front that came through Linda. Aw, you are too sweet! Thanks! 🙂

    Reply

  19. We’re just coming off a few sunny days. Rain again tomorrow. At least it will be above freezing. Like your blog design.

    Sounds similar to us Grace. It was just barely above freezing yesterday here. Thanks!

    Reply

  20. I love this shot, Racquel. Reminds me of the cool sky two days ago instead of the near-scorching sun we have outside now.

    Thanks Chandramouli! I’m glad it reminded you of cooler skies. 🙂

    Reply

  21. I am wondering if we prefer gloomy, and above zero temps to sunny and unseasonal freezing weather here. We are supposed to be having gloomy wet, rain, and no more frost, but nature has different ideas obviously.

    Jen

    That is a good question Jen. Nature is unpredictable at best it seems. 🙂

    Reply

  22. Those clouds had a lot to offer, to be sure!

    Yep lots of lovely rain! 🙂

    Reply

  23. I kept forgetting yesterday was Friday the 13th!

    Just wanted to tell you that I like your new theme. I have been drawn to the more cleaner ones myself these days and have been thinking about changing mine….again…that is if I can ever find the time these days!

    Alot of people said that Cynthia. At least nothing weird happened here. I’m glad you like my new simpler theme. It’s easier on the eyes and gives the photos the attention they deserve. 🙂 I hope you get some time soon to work on yours too.

    Reply

  24. Posted by RaiulBaztepo on March 30, 2009 at 5:24 am

    Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language 😉
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

    Reply

  25. Hi !!!! 🙂
    I am Piter Kokoniz. oOnly want to tell, that I like your blog very much!
    And want to ask you: will you continue to post in this blog in future?
    Sorry for my bad english:)
    Thank you:)
    Your Piter

    Thank you Piter! I’m glad you enjoy my blog. Yes I will continue to post in this blog in the future. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

